We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Favorite restaurant in Seward”

Chinooks Waterfront Restaurant
Ranked #2 of 48 Restaurants in Seward
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $45
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Business meetings, Families with children, Scenic view, Kids, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: Chinooks is located right on Seward's waterfront. Serving a Fresh menu of Alasaka's best seafood. Also serving Steaks and options for vegetarians and gluten free options. A new Sushi bar has been placed upstairs near our huge picture windows to enjoy. We have 12 Alaskan brewed beers on tap with a full bar of premium hard to find spirits, and one of the best Scotch selections in Alaska. A worldly, yet well rounded wine selection is also available.
Anchorage, Alaska
Level Contributor
35 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Favorite restaurant in Seward”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 29, 2014

This is our favorite restaurant in Seward. Every time we go, it ends up raining or snowing. We hold up at this cozy, inviting restaurant by the harbor. We look to look out through the windows and watch the boats and birds. The food is creative and tasty. You will always walk away full and happy.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank summers_child13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,419 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    668
    487
    168
    65
    31
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
st paul
Level Contributor
82 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Great view, good food.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 25, 2014

A restaurant overlooking the marina with the bay and mountains in the background. Was pretty crowded on Friday (April) and it seemed like most of the diners were locals.
I had the Halibut cakes appetizer (special for the day) and loved them, my wife had the pecan crusted cod and liked it. The kids menu was okay, definitely lots of food so they were pretty happy.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank j k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Orleans, Louisiana
Level Contributor
30 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Best Halibut in town!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 23, 2014

Chinooks has the best Halibut in Seward. Their menu is varied so everyone can find something they will enjoy. The staff is friendly and the view from the second floor is breathtaking. Every restaurant in Seward seems pricy, but Chinooks is worth every penny.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Foster8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San rafael, California
Level Contributor
62 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Great views ......food not so good”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 3, 2014

We came here because there's nowhere else to eat here this time of year. Place was busy becuase of that.
I came without high expectations and was not disappointed because the food was just fair. I got the pecan crusted
cod in green curry coconut sauce with some veggies and mashed sweet potatoes. The fish was dry and flavorless and the pecan crust coating was soggy and bland. The mashed sweet potatoes were good but that was it. My hubby's fish and chips were fair. The fish batter was soggy but the fish itself was firm and flakey. Good selection of beer to choose from.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank firepois
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
66 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Great views, great wine and cocktail list, good friendly service and food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 27, 2014

Best thing about this place was it was open! We found so much closed in Seward this time of year so there wasn't much choice. Regardless this place was very good and I would make a point of returning even if all else was open for business. The service was efficient and friendly, the atmosphere good, the food n drink selection very good with reasonable prices and the views stunning.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Helen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chinooks Waterfront Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Chinooks Waterfront Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing