We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Crab not fresh - Service just Ok”

Chinooks Waterfront Restaurant
Ranked #2 of 49 Restaurants in Seward
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $45
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Romantic, Local cuisine, Large groups, Special occasions, Families with children, Business meetings
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Reservations
Description: Chinooks is located right on Seward's waterfront. Serving a Fresh menu of Alasaka's best seafood. Also serving Steaks and options for vegetarians and gluten free options. A new Sushi bar has been placed upstairs near our huge picture windows to enjoy. We have 12 Alaskan brewed beers on tap with a full bar of premium hard to find spirits, and one of the best Scotch selections in Alaska. A worldly, yet well rounded wine selection is also available.
Seattle, Wasington
Level 6 Contributor
98 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Crab not fresh - Service just Ok”
Reviewed May 6, 2013

We stopped in for lunch, and found a seat in the bar. (The upstairs was not open for lunch) Our expectations were for fresh seafood, which the waiter assured us was the case. The 1/4 pound King crab - 2 smallish legs,- we each had, was decidedly NOT fresh. When we asked the waiter again he said, well yes, they were frozen, but had once been fresh - DUH! The portions also seemed small for the money, especially since you are at the source. We do definitely recommend the Shrimp Ceviche which was delicious, but again, very small portion for the money. Thumbs down on the service - our waiter was scattered and kept forgetting to bring us things - and his lack of knowledge about the menu - seafood in particular, was just plain dumb.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank RainerRock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dbseward, Owner at Chinooks Waterfront Restaurant, responded to this review, May 7, 2013
Thank you for your recent visit to Chinooks. We regret that you didnt enjoy your experience. WE apologise for our staff not explaining the seafood better. We have at each table a card that explains the seafood and its seasons. Crab is caught almost all at once in winter. it has to be frozen immediatley and in rare cases is seldom fresh. on the night of your visit we did have Troll Caught King Salmon, Halibut and Pacific Cod that were all fresh off the boat and never frozen. again we are sorry that you didnt have the meal you were hoping for. if you are ever in Seward again we hope you will let us give you the experience you deserve.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,522 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    697
    528
    186
    74
    37
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Suffern, New York
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Great fried razorback Alaska clams”
Reviewed May 4, 2013

They are so nice and patient. They do everything to make you happy. The view of the waterfront is wonderful. It can be a little expensive, but that is Alaska. You can''t go wrong in this lovely waterfront restaurant

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Fred S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anchorage, AK
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Lost our order”
Reviewed April 28, 2013

We went there on a Saturday evening around 5:30 PM, on the recommendation of reviews and the desk clerk where we were staying.

We were seated promptly and our beers arrived. Soon folks who had arrived after us were being served - somewhat annoying. Then our waiter told us there had been a problem in the kitchen but was not more descriptive.

When the food arrived, I was surprised. My wife's salad was fine. I ordered the Fisherman's stew which by the menu looked like an Alaska version of cioppino. It was like a thick soup - with no soupspoon, with two shrimp still with legs on and and a 4" piece of king (or snow) crab. There was no appropriate way of eating this meal short of covering oneself with sauce. The crab leg wasn't worth the major effort to get some minor meat portion.

The sauce was delicious, and there was plenty of fish and Yukon Gold potatoes, but I had to ask for bread with which to sop up the sauce. It was just a mediocre event, not living up to my expectations

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank ancsteve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dbseward, Owner at Chinooks Waterfront Restaurant, responded to this review, May 7, 2013
Thank you for your business and giving us a try. We apologize that your experience here with us was less than stellar. your order delay was due to a glass breaking near your prepared food. as a precation we discarded it and started new. We hope you will give us another try if you are ever back in Seward.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chugiak, Alaksa
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Pleasant surprise!”
Reviewed April 27, 2013

We try to visit Seward at least once a year since moving to Alaska 8 years ago, but we had never tried Chinooks until now. We were pleasantly surprised! It is the beginning of the tourist season, but we were seated immediately and had wonderful service. We were with our 2 year old daughter, and it was kid friendly. I would call the atmosphere upscale casual. We got a table right at the window and our daughter enjoyed watching an otter swimming around just outside the window. They have great wine and beer selections. We had the pecan crusted cod and veggie mac and cheese, and we loved our dishes! We also had the southwest ceasar salad, and it was very good. We shared a very delicious goat cheesecake for dessert. We had a wonderful time and a wonderful meal, and would highly recommend Chinooks.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank mart0146
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ocoee, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
216 reviews
104 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
“Food was amazing”
Reviewed April 21, 2013

You might think going to such a small town you might not get quality and gourmet food - you would be wrong. I ate there twice during my stay and it was amazing!

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank NativeDina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chinooks Waterfront Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Chinooks Waterfront Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing