We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Most disappointing Alaskan Halibut ever”

Chinooks Waterfront Restaurant
Ranked #2 of 49 Restaurants in Seward
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $45
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Romantic, Bar scene, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Breakfast, Lunch, Reservations
Description: Chinooks is located right on Seward's waterfront. Serving a Fresh menu of Alasaka's best seafood. Also serving Steaks and options for vegetarians and gluten free options. A new Sushi bar has been placed upstairs near our huge picture windows to enjoy. We have 12 Alaskan brewed beers on tap with a full bar of premium hard to find spirits, and one of the best Scotch selections in Alaska. A worldly, yet well rounded wine selection is also available.
Rochester, MN
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Most disappointing Alaskan Halibut ever”
Reviewed August 6, 2011

The halibut fish and chips were a huge disappointment. The fish was flavorless and had the texture of frozen fish. I have had far tastier fresher AK halibut in the midwest. My husband had mediocre overpriced pasta. This is the epitome of a tourist trap ~ a great view with overpriced mediocre food.

  • Visited August 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank travelbean11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,519 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    697
    528
    184
    73
    37
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Aiken SC
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Lovely dinner on the harbor”
Reviewed August 4, 2011

Good food and service. Nice table on the harbor. Get there early and there is no waiting.

  • Visited July 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank sclizard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Statesboro, Georgia
Level 6 Contributor
138 reviews
86 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“I'd go there again....”
Reviewed August 2, 2011

A "Local" suggested lunch at Chinooks. It was only a parking lot down from the Kenai Fjords Tour office, so we decided to try it. It's located right on the water which is nice for viewing. The service was friendly and the food tasty - I had fish and chips / salad. I'd go there again if I were in the area.

  • Visited July 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Daisies33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elmendorf AFB, AK
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great food, Beautiful views of the Harbor, Friendly service”
Reviewed July 30, 2011

We stopped in for a late lunch and were immediately taken in with the view - The wall of windows is amazing - I recommend the crabcake sandwich. However I did hear at our table that the Rockfish and Chips was equally very very good - The shoestring fries were also very good - We will be back there again no doubt!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank TheMoodyMoose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“We just loved this place!!!”
Reviewed July 10, 2011

When Ray's had a 20 minute wait for dinner we went next door to Chinook's and were seated immediately, and we loved it so much we went again the next night! The food was great and the view was phenomenal. The best part about this place is the wall of huge windows surrounding you on 3 sides overlooking the beautiful harbor. You can watch all the activities in the harbor including boats unloading their day's catches. On the second night we went, there were 2 eagles swooping directly in front of the large windows and everybody in the restaurant was up with their cameras taking pictures. The tables are nicely spaced so you're not crammed against other diners and every table has a great view.
We got signature salads which were excellent, and I tried the halibut cheeks which were tender in a preparation that was not overpowering. A friend had the king crab legs and reported that they were very good. The restaurant has a nice selection of Alaskan beers and this is one of the only places we found that had raspberry beer. The prices were all perfectly reasonable for this type of restaurant. We just loved the atmosphere and we lingered over our dinners as long as we could, taking in the view. This was one of our favorite restaurant experiences ever.

  • Visited June 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank spurvis1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chinooks Waterfront Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Chinooks Waterfront Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing