We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Absolutely Fabulous!!!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Seward
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Ocean Front Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #36 of 44 Seward B&B and Inns
Steamboat Springs, Colorado
Level Contributor
71 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Absolutely Fabulous!!!”
Reviewed September 2, 2012

We could not have been happier!! We LOVED this place - it was the perfect size for me and my husband! The location is absolutely spectacular! It's just outside of Seward (which we prefer) and right on the water - I cannot say enough about it. The owners were there and we got to visit with them several times (Butch suggested Ray's for dinner one night and if you're in Seward, you MUST go here!!) and they were both great. The room was great with many extra touches to make your stay comfortable and very homey. The views are absolutely to die for - going to sleep and waking up to the water is ideal. Marlie and Jack, their dogs, were a special treat. We enjoyed playing with both of them and Marlie was happy to tag along on my morning walks - Jack was more than happy to play catch on the beach. If you are a couple looking for a fabulous place, on the water, outside of the hustle of the marina area - you cannot go wrong!!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank steamboatskigal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

14 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    6
    3
    1
    4
    0
See reviews for
1
9
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 10, 2012

Although the place was very clean and location wonderful, a few things were a bit off. A nice place for 2 adults, but we were 4 adults and there were 2 beds upstairs in a loft with barely space to crawl. In fact I had to slither on my belly like a snake. If you are claustraphobic? forget aboit it!!! There was a skylight up there with me without a blind. This is a problem in the summer when there is daylight all but a few hours. Some of us are used to sleeping in the dark, and can't sleep well in broad daylight. I they would have a blind or if you come in winter when it is always dark it would be more conducive to sleeping. Also No real breakfast for being a bed AND breakfast. Coffee, Tea and oatmeal packets (mocrwave the water) we could deal with that, but for those used to B&Bs-I wouldn't agree for the breakfast ..I wouldn't recommend ..

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brittenhouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anchorage, Alaska
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed February 12, 2012

We have been coming here for about 4 years now. It is our "great escape". It is very peaceful and quiet, right on the beach at Lowell Pt. Fantastic views. Great hiking nearby. Close to downtown,drive or it is possible to walk. The room is small but very charming and very clean. No kitchen but a microwave & refrigerator. The wrap around deck is like another room. We spend much time relaxing on that. Lovely landscaping and 2 great dogs! There is a firepit also. Gloria & Butch Sears, the owners, are very nice to deal with. The pictures on the website are exactly what you get.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank happypaws_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed September 20, 2010

Stayed two nghts from 8/28 -8/30. Just picture perfect. After a rainy trip down from Anchorage, we came to the B&B to find the rain had stopped and the beauty of the bay was there for our enjoyment. Bald Eagles right next door. The room itself was more than ample and very clean. Please note that breakfast is not served but there is a fridge and we brought our own milk and cereal. The location is great as it gets you away from the crowds and brings you to the open spaces which is why we came to Alaska in the first place. Would love to stay again

Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank I&E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
anchorage
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 7, 2009

My husband and I live in Anchorage, and were looking for a getaway for a night in Seward. Generally, our expectations aren't high; things in Alaska tend to be overpriced and under-serviced. So I was skeptical when I saw photos of Ocean Front (AKA Oceanside Inn). But all of that immediately vanished when I saw house and the attached room. You will absolutely not find a better location in Seward, it is one of the better deals in Alaska. It's right on a lovely beach and a stone's throw from Caines Head trail. The view is one of the most breathtaking ones in Alaska. The deck, adorned with potted flowers, feels like an extension of the room, and you can leave the sliding glass doors open if you want to sleep to the sound of surf. The room itself isn't huge, but it feels bigger than it is because of the high ceilings, white walls, large bathroom and the deck. Also, the bed is ultra comfy and everything is spotless. Although it's attached to the house, it's like its own studio apartment, and we didn't hear a peep from the other side. The hot water was fine, too. You should know that it's not a B&B anymore, but there is some cereal there to eat lots of coffee and a small fridge.
Also, eat at Rays downtown! The best halibut cheeks I've ever had. All it all, we had a great, great time there.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank girlinalaska
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed October 11, 2005

If you are looking for an adorable place to stay right by the water, look no further. My husband and I stayed here because of the view promised...we were not disappointed. We actually saw a sea lion right from the deck while eating breakfast. Our room was very quaint with a nautical theme. The queen bed was very comfortable! This room also had a loft with 2 additional twin beds...great for a couple traveling with kids. Breakfast was simple--cereal, tea/coffee, juice and some sort of bakery item from the local grocery. Everything is already in your room upon arrival. We actually picked up fruit in town ourselves. One word of caution: Their hot water heater was on the smaller side so don't get to carried away or else your spouse will have to wait a little for more hot water! Also, don't expect to channel surf on the TV...they have about 5 stations. There is, however, a video player with several Alaska videos available. Our hostess was very friendly and her 2 dogs (Finn and Marley) may try to engage you in a game of fetch. Overall, a hidden treasure right by the water.

Helpful?
6 Thank livinglarge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midwest
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed October 2, 2005

The view was great, the room comfortable, and the satellite tv was a nice touch. However, the breakfast was very weak and there wasn't enough hot water for one shower, much less two.

And unfortunately there is one important detail which the owners fail to advertise. They have two very big and very loud dogs. These dogs begin barking at 5:30 in the morning and continue barking intermittently for the rest of the morning. Because the owners' living quarters share a wall with the B&B, you can hear the dogs and the owners all too well. After the first morning, we asked if they could quiet the dogs as we were on vacation and would like to sleep past sunrise. They said that there was nothing that they could do to control their dogs?!?!?!? So the next morning, we were again awaken at the crack of dawn.

So if you're looking for a place with a wonderful view but aren't interested in eating a hearty breakfast or showering with hot water or sleeping past 5:30am, then this is the place for you.

Helpful?
8 Thank TheTwoOfUsMidwest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Seward hotels
2.1 mi away
Best Western Plus Edgewater Hotel
0.1 mi away
Angels Rest on Resurrection Bay, LLC
7.8 mi away
Bell in the Woods
Bell in the Woods
#1 of 44 in Seward
5.0 of 5 bubbles 207 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Trailhead Lodging
Trailhead Lodging
#20 of 45 in Seward
4.5 of 5 bubbles 15 reviews
8.1 mi away
Bear Creek Cabins
Bear Creek Cabins
#14 of 45 in Seward
5.0 of 5 bubbles 38 reviews
2.2 mi away
Sea Treasures Inn
Sea Treasures Inn
#19 of 44 in Seward
4.0 of 5 bubbles 67 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ocean Front Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ocean Front Bed and Breakfast

Property: Ocean Front Bed and Breakfast
Address: 14150 beach drive, Seward, AK 99664
Location: United States > Alaska > Seward
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #36 of 44 B&Bs / Inns in Seward
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 1

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing