We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“This is an excellent lodge with clean comfortable rooms and located on beautiful Resurrection Bay.”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Seward
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Alaska Saltwater Lodge
Ranked #18 of 44 Seward B&B and Inns
Oviedo,Fl
Level Contributor
137 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“This is an excellent lodge with clean comfortable rooms and located on beautiful Resurrection Bay.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 26, 2011

The Alaska Saltwater Lodge is an excellent choice for tourist visiting the Seward area. It is only 2 miles from the Lodge via an easily traveled gravel road to Seward shopping and excellent restaurants .The rooms are clean, comfortable and well maintained.The owner ,Kathleen Barkley, was very helpful and personable . Each day she prepared an excellent continental breakfast with lots of fresh fruit.This is a small family owned lodge(not a mega chain) and the front desk is only open in the AM with cleaning staff in the afternoon . Our needs were always met and we could not have asked for more. The Lodge will be our choice when we return to the area.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BunsenBurner40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

113 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    63
    30
    18
    1
    1
See reviews for
31
47
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
West Windsor, NJ
Level Contributor
35 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 23, 2010

Compared to the prices in Seward during peak season, the Lodge is a steal. We were in the smallest of all the rooms (F) and it looks out onto a wooded lot... no problem. We were between expeditions so we were glad to have a clean warm place to get dry and change our packs. The walls are a little thin and you can hear people talking, walking etc...

There is a single and a double/queen bed in the room, with a small bathroom, standup shower - a little tight but manageable. No TV in the room, but hey - isn;'t that why you go to Alaska? No soap/shampoo provided.

There is a complementary breakfast: fruit, oatmeal, tea, coffee, toast, orange juice and hot chocolate. The common room has some nice views of Resurrection Bay - you can see the seals, otters and other wildlife if you hang out there. The common room closes around 7/8 pm -

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank N&YinNJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Charles, LA
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2010

The view was the best we've had with the mountains on all sides and the beautiful blue bay at our feet. We saw several bald eagles and otters right from the deck at any time of the day. The owner and staff went out of their way to make us feel right at home and provided a wonderful continental breakfast each morning. They also provided a lot of information about the area, wildlife, things to do and places to see. You don't have to spend a lot of extra money to enjoy a stay here because the wonderful scenery is "free", right off of your deck or out of the windows. I enjoyed relaxing with a good book and a glass of wine while viewing the area off of the deck and my husband enjoyed the great fishing in the area, both off the bank and taking one of the charters. I can say that Seward is the friendliest town we visited in Alaska, from the owner and staff of the Saltwater Lodge to the local merchants. It would be a shame to miss this place if you plan to make a trip to Alaska because the rooms/suites are great with very affordable rates. We were pleasantly surprised at how nice it was for the price. We plan to go back in a couple of years with family and this will on our list of places to stay.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chinook86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Florida, Florida
Level Contributor
133 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2010

This is a beautiful spot away from town right on Resurrection Bay. The lodge main room was beautiful, spacious and clean. Breakfast was mixed fresh fruit, bagels, English muffins, various teas, coffee, hot chocolate and toast. The staff appeared to be college students and we never did meet the owners.. My daughter and I stayed in room F which was back toward the parking lot which was not a problem other than the lodge itself was elevated and when people came in and walked on the ramp in front it was very noisy. There was one group that came in well after 10:00 p.m. and made at least 8 trips back and forth. As stated by other guests there are no amenities in the room other than a small bowl of mints and a few books. No soap, shampoo, etc. We stayed three nights and although we reported problems with the toilet running it was not addressed. The young employees do the best they can but there is not any supervision and as they are there with no transportation they are stuck! They can walk the 2+ miles in to town. There is no TV any place which was okay with us and no internet although we found a nice coffee shop in town with internet. Guess I would not return as there are other places that are more appealing although it is right on the water with a beautiful view.

  • Stayed July 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gringo1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, MD
Level Contributor
32 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 25, 2010

Where else can you gaze out the window at sea otters playing in front of your lodging while you're standing at the sink preparing dinner? This may be one of the most beautiful places you can stay that is accessible to someone without a plane or boat. The rooms are clean, comfortable, and most have good views and are full of light, especially the ones on the top floor of the lodge. Some rooms offer cooking facilities, others don't, but all are fine places to stay. And there is lots to do in Seward so a visit here should be part of any Alaska trip.

  • Stayed June 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AdventuresinGoodComp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, CO
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 9, 2009

This lodge only has about 10 rooms, of all different sizes and amenities, and all very cute and clean. Across the bay side is a wraparound deck, which is great for watching sunsets and wildlife. Most, but not all rooms have windows facing the bay. I highly recommending spending a little more to get one.

Make sure to note, this is NOT in Seward. In fact, it's a rather hair-raising dirt road drive (2 miles?) from town.

One caveat -- if you're the type of traveler who likes to get recommendations or assistance from the staff, this probably isn't the place for you. It's a family-owned/operated place, and while they're very friendly, they're most often out somewhere. In four days, I think we only saw the staff twice.

Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank elaine219
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
38 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 18, 2009

Stayed 3 nights in August, in the room next to the breakfast room with the bay window. Front row sea otter viewing every day! Plus eagles and other birds. Tiny bathroom, but I liked the door that went directly to the break room, convenient for accessing the refrigerator at night. We like this setup better than a true B&B, no fuss, and the fresh fruit at breakfast is my favorite. No noise issues. Wildlife cruise was OK, too crowded on the boat. Close access to hiking trail was great.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wildfelinenv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Seward hotels
2.2 mi away
Hotel Seward
Hotel Seward
#4 of 14 in Seward
4.0 of 5 bubbles 527 reviews
3.5 mi away
Harbor 360 Hotel
Harbor 360 Hotel
#1 of 14 in Seward
4.0 of 5 bubbles 892 reviews
2.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Edgewater Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Harborview Inn
Harborview Inn
#7 of 14 in Seward
3.5 of 5 bubbles 147 reviews
2.3 mi away
Sauerdough Lodging
Sauerdough Lodging
#6 of 14 in Seward
4.5 of 5 bubbles 81 reviews
0.2 mi away
Angels Rest on Resurrection Bay, LLC
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alaska Saltwater Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alaska Saltwater Lodge

Property: Alaska Saltwater Lodge
Address: Box 695, Seward, AK 99664-0695
Location: United States > Alaska > Seward
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 44 B&Bs / Inns in Seward
Number of rooms: 11
Also Known As:
Alaska Saltwater Hotel Seward

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing