We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not a big fan”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Seward
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Alaska Saltwater Lodge
Ranked #16 of 46 Seward B&B and Inns
Las Vegas
Level Contributor
27 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Not a big fan”
Reviewed June 28, 2014

Ethan (the gentleman who "checked us in") was very personable and helpful. The lodge is just shy of average. The interior of the rooms is sub-par and the bed is extremely soft. There was mold in the bathroom & it wasn't really clean, poor amenities & no curtains. The curtain thing wasn't such a big deal because the view is phenomenal, but blackout curtains would have been a huge perk due to all the sunlight at this time of the year. The other guests were extremely loud and you can hear everything. The view was gorgeous, but there are other places with views just as beautiful and we will be staying at one of those next time. I do not recommend this place.

Unfortunately, we left our charger to our laptop in the room. We were about a mile away checking in for our tour with the same owner that runs the lodge and he approached us with quite a snarky attitude to let us know we had done so and that someone was going out of their way to bring it to us and that we needed to tip them (it was just over a mile away). By all means, we would have tipped anyways (probably more than the $10 we gave the owner of the company) and did, but we really didn't appreciate the crappy attitude and demand. I would have happily drove to the lodging after our tour to pick up our charger and personally thank and tip Ethan, who found it just to avoid the crappy encounter with the owner (Here is a tip - don't demand a tip.)

The tour was great. The Deck Hand and the Captain were awesome. I do recommend the small boat tour the company provides.

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank AdventureSkrVegas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

114 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    64
    30
    18
    1
    1
See reviews for
31
48
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed June 24, 2014

Kathleen met us at the port and gave us a quick tour of the quaint town of Seward. We then boarded a small boat with 8 or 9 other passengers for a breath-taking tour of Kenai Fjords National Park (also booked with saltwater lodge). The captain and her mate were very interesting and knowledgeable young women who went to great lengths to satisfy their crew of wildlife seeking passengers. This day long tour will give you your best pics of Alaska!! The lodge is located on a quiet beach with beautiful views. You won't regret your visit to SWL.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Annawillgo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roseville, California
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed June 19, 2014

My family and I spent two nights here prior to a cruise out of Seward. I hate to bring the rating down, but I feel like I need to knock it down a couple points for what I felt were serious short-comings. Here they are: the rooms did not have black-out curtains. This was especially important since it never really got dark while we were there in early June and my wife is sensitive to light when she sleeps. She was also not too comfortable in the beds, which seemed to need updating. The other problem we had was that we were traveling as a family with 3 adults and 2 teenage kids (the third adult being my mother) and were forced by their policy to get two rooms. We ended up in their biggest suite that had 2 bedrooms and a large living area with space for 2 couches and 2 kitchen tables. We felt this would have been more than large enough for 5 people in a single room. Otherwise, the other reviewers are right on! The views are tremendous, the staff is nice and helpful and the rooms were clean and well appointed.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank krystoff67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington
Level Contributor
394 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 199 helpful votes
Reviewed June 10, 2014 via mobile

We spent 2 nights here after our cruise ship came into port after a week of cruising the Alaska inside. Our room was in the corner on the second floor so we had a view of the entire bay. Gorgeous! !!

The room had 2 queen beds (very comfortable), 2 chairs and a table and a couch. The bathroom was small but adequate for your needs. Remember that it is not common in Alaska to have a telephone or a television in your room. This room did not have either so ask if it's available if that is important to you. It wasn't to us because we came to see Alaska, not to sit in our room watching tv.

There was a continental breakfast in the morning included in your stay. We also booked a combination whale watching/fishing trip with them and we were not disappointed!

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank USN_Seabee_Wife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springfield, Missouri
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed June 9, 2014

We stayed in the second floor (both rooms) the view was spectacular!! The rooms were very clean and the beds were comfortable. We only stayed one night, as we had the glacier/whale tour scheduled for the morning( also with Saltwater Lodge). Wish we could have stayed longer, so very peaceful and right on the beach. The lodge is also just minutes from shopping and restaurants. A must stay!! and the glacier/whale tour was awesome!

Room Tip: second floor view was breath taking!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LandC09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wasilla, Alaska
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 5, 2014

Definitely one of the nicest places I have stayed while traveling Alaska. The staff was very friendly and helpful from time of booking to checking out. My room was comfortable and had a huge window looking out onto the bay. Listening to the waves hitting the shore was extremely peaceful. They have a huge deck to relax on or the beach is just a few steps away. I also booked the small group all day whale tour with them. It is the best I've been on!

Room Tip: Ask for a water view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michelle B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
45 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed December 2, 2013

We stayed here in early June, 2012. We were supposed to rent the house across the street, but somehow the first people to rent if for the season, trashed it. Badly. Since the lodge is pretty small, the owners had to do some shuffling to accommodate us. They were incredibly honest and called us that morning as we were heading down from Whittier and wanted to know there was a “problem” with the house and that it would not be available but that they would figure something out. And this turned out to be a blessing. We spent the first two nights in a two bedroom unit with an incredible view of the water. We could watch otters constantly feasting on abalone and the not-so-occasional bald eagle. What a view! Bedrooms, kitchen and bath were just fine. The kitchen, living room and dining areas were quite spacious. The only complaint is that the master bedroom seemed to be below the kitchen in the upper unit and on our second morning, I don’t know what the person was doing or preparing, but from when I started counting they walked across the floor no less than sixty times! I recommend ear plugs – which I did not have on this trip.

The last night we were moved to end units in the main lodge. We were in the upstairs end unit and our teenagers were below us. Again, incredible views. Just a lovely place. Very well appointed and comfy. If I had to do it all over again, I would rent the two bedroom unit with the incredible view and living room. There were also books and games to play. I don’t recall that there was a TV – but who goes to Alaska to watch TV?

We also booked the day-long boat excursion from them. As there were just four of us in our group, we got to go on our own boat with just the four of us and the captain who was a retired teacher. The boat was small and it was crowded when we all were in the main cabin to keep warm, but the captain took us wherever we wanted. Since the boat was small – we could go fast and chase things that looked like they would be interesting—like an eagle swooping in to take a kitty white out of the air! We saw so many whales! He also took us fairly close to a calving glacier which we watched while we ate our lunches. It was one of the best boat excursions I have ever been on.

There is lots of hiking nearby – some of it through incredible wooded areas that look like forest scenes from Lord of the Rings. Just amazing. We also met the man who lives across the street and had a campfire with him and some friends one night. Alaskan campfires this time of year are really interesting, because it really doesn't get dark and there are these eagles just flying over your head – just an amazing and magical place

Room Tip: If you can, try to stay on an upper floor to avoid overhead noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cj2468
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Seward hotels
2.2 mi away
Hotel Seward
Hotel Seward
#4 of 14 in Seward
534 reviews
3.5 mi away
Harbor 360 Hotel
Harbor 360 Hotel
#1 of 14 in Seward
944 reviews
5.8 mi away
Seward Windsong Lodge
Seward Windsong Lodge
#2 of 14 in Seward
660 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Best Western Plus Edgewater Hotel
0.2 mi away
Angels Rest on Resurrection Bay, LLC
5.9 mi away
Alaska Creekside Cabins
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alaska Saltwater Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alaska Saltwater Lodge

Property: Alaska Saltwater Lodge
Address: Box 695, Seward, AK 99664-0695
Location: United States > Alaska > Seward
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 46 B&Bs / Inns in Seward
Number of rooms: 11
Also Known As:
Alaska Saltwater Hotel Seward

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing