We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best View in Seward”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Seward
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Alaska Saltwater Lodge
Ranked #15 of 46 Seward B&B and Inns
Reviewed August 8, 2013

The Alaska Saltwater Lodge is located about 10 minutes out of Seward, overlooking Resurrection Bay and it was worth the drive. We had a special room right next to the breakfast room, with a little alcove jutting out which held a table and 2 chairs. It was very enjoyable to sit there and look out at the mountains and glaciers, bird life, sea otters, and kayakers passing by. The breakfast room overlooked the water and the Continental breakfast included a very nice bowl of fresh fruit, yogurt, and a selection of breads and English muffins to toast along with coffee, tea, hot chocolate, and juice to drink. We took their all day excursion into the Kenai Fjord National Park. While we saw glaciers and a variety of sea life from puffins to seals, the highlight was the Humpback whales putting on a spectacular show breaching over and over. We were on a small boat with an excellent crew and lunch was provided. I highly recommend staying here and taking the lodge's boat excursion.

Room Tip: The room next to the breakfast room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank junglejudi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (115)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

24 - 30 of 115 reviews

Reviewed June 30, 2013

I recently attended a wedding in Seward, Alaska and stayed at the Alaska Saltwater Lodge on Lowell Point. My room was attractive, clean and comfortable and had an incredible view of the Bay. I was especially impressed when I was served a nice sized bowl of fresh fruit with my continental breakfast. I'd stay here again for sure!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank VictoriaAZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 30, 2013

From the warm welcome we received upon arrival until our departure after a great breakfast, the Alaska Saltwater Lodge is one of the best places I've stayed in Seward. We watched otters and loons from our bedroom window and kicked back with coffee on the front deck. Very clean, comfortable and most certainly a place we will visit again in the near future. We also took advantage of their small boat trip out to Holgate Glacier and saw so many whales, we stopped counting.

Room Tip: Just ask when you make your reservation and they will assist you finding the best option for your ne...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Alaska T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 28, 2013

A wonderful time with our family. We could not have asked for a better view. Our room hung over the ocean at high tide. A nice balcony for sharing wine at the end of the day. Great mountain and bay views from our bed. The gas grill was great for cooking dinner. Thank you. Nice breakfast. Family friendly.

Room Tip: Ask for the North suite for 2 queen beds or the suite with a Kitchen. Both with great views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank John K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 21, 2013

Twelve of us stayed here for the first three nights of our trip to Alaska. This place was the best way we could begin our trip! Very nice lodging, as our group had the common area with a few bedrooms, as well as other rooms separate from this area, which were ideal for all the couples. Very clean, comfortable and private. The staff were so friendly and knowledgeable providing great advice for the reminder of our travels. The view of Resurrection Bay and it's sea life was better than we could have expected. Seward is a great coastal town that has some great places to eat as well as activities to keep you busy. Overall unforgettable time was spent here.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gypsyg_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 14, 2013

We stayed here 2 nights prior to a cruise out of Whittier and it started off with a bang ... Before we even checked in looking out in the bay 50 feet from shore were some sea otters ... like they were paid entertainment for arriving guests ...
Our room was knotty pine all over - a decor that fit so well with the surroundings - large and comfortable with the view of mountains across the bay ... No TV ... internet slow ... but that nature channel out the front window worked ...
A simple breakfast of fruit/breads/cereals got our day started with some nice conversation ... A family business run by friendly down to earth people ... out in the Lookout Point suburbs of Seward (the big city with 650 people in town) ...

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SNumber6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 9, 2013

We stayed at the Alaska Saltwater Lodge for 3 nights and had an excellent stay. Our room was large with 2 beds, table, loveseat, and a small refrigerator. There are private (outside) entrances to each room, and the rooms overlook the Resurrection Bay. Breakfast in the common room each morning was good with fresh fruit, breads, etc.

The only downsides (knocking off one point rating for us) was that the bathroom was a bit small and the showerhead at chest height for a tall person (I'm 6'3"), and there were no blackout curtains on the windows (when we were there, it only got dark between 2 and 3 in the morning!) As it was a bit warm during our stay and only one window opens, a fan for the room would be nice as well. The room was very comfortable none the less, and none of these bothered us much.
We didn't see any whales out of our window, but we did see several otters floating by, as well as an eagle feeding right on the shorefront outside the window.

We had also booked Jim's glacier/wildlife small boat tour, but unfortunately a surprise coast guard inspection required us to be booked on another company's tour. Our son had taken the Saltwater Lodge glacier/wildlife tour a few days before and he said it was excellent -- seeing 3 kinds of whales as well as MANY other wildlife. Unfortunately we didn't see as much on the other cruise. Perhaps we'll come back sometime when we can go on Jim and Kathleen's boat.

All in all, we'd highly recommend this lodging.

Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Jon&Kathy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Seward hotels
5.9 mi away
Steller Bed and Breakfast
0.2 mi away
Angels Rest on Resurrection Bay, LLC
3.5 mi away
Harbor 360 Hotel
Harbor 360 Hotel
#1 of 13 in Seward
1,123 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Hotel Seward
Hotel Seward
#4 of 13 in Seward
592 reviews
2.2 mi away
Best Western Plus Edgewater Hotel
3.3 mi away
The Breeze Inn
The Breeze Inn
#5 of 13 in Seward
408 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alaska Saltwater Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alaska Saltwater Lodge

Address: Box 695, Seward, AK 99664-0695
Location: United States > Alaska > Seward
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 46 B&Bs / Inns in Seward
Number of rooms: 11
Also Known As:
Alaska Saltwater Hotel Seward

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing