We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Animal Encounters”

Alaska SeaLife Center
Ranked #3 of 45 things to do in Seward
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: An education and research-focused aquarium offering underwater views of Alaskan marine animals.
Minneapolis
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great Animal Encounters”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 27, 2012

We visited the Alaska SeaLife Center the morning we left Seward. After whale watching and seeing the animals at sea, the SeaLife Center was a great opportunity to see a limited number of animals up close. We were impressed with the puffins, sealions, and other displays, as well as the local artwork and information on Alaskan history. It provided a great departing context to our trip.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank burn0279
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,231 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,276
    718
    205
    22
    10
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rio de Janeiro
Level Contributor
44 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“don´t expect animal show”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 27, 2012

this is a nice small place dedicated to preservation of sea life.we did the marina mammal backstage tour and were marveled by the explanations and sea lion and seal encounter.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Leonardo_Sadcovitz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doylestown, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Very Interesting!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 26, 2012

We spent about 3 hours here on a rainy day in Seward. They had a rescue walrus there and we got to see it being fed and cared for. The center had many interesting displays on the fish of the region. The puffin exhibit is fabulous and it was fun to see the sea lions doing their thing. Don't pass this up -

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank MaryBeth44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flagstaff, AZ
Level Contributor
40 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“One of the highlights of our 3 weeks in Alaska”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2012

We spent a few hours here with our 3 teenage boys. We all enjoyed the place and especially seeing the sea lions working on their tricks. They'll do anything for a piece of fish!

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Flag_AZ_Snow_Country
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
207 reviews
89 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Thumbs up from aquarium visitors”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2012

We have visited many aquariums around the country (Long Beach, Monterey, Baltimore, Chicago), this isn't nearly as big as those, but it has some very nice exhibits. The puffin exhibit is worth the price of admission alone.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank misterjohnny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Alaska SeaLife Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing