We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Special Place”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Angels Rest on Resurrection Bay, LLC
Ranked #5 of 46 Seward B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed July 4, 2013

I am writing this review before we have even finished our stay at Angel's Rest, it's that good!

We are staying in the Wing Cabin with a magnificent view of Resurrection Bay. (July 3-5) This cabin (Wing) was perfect for us (two adults), it is small, quaint, cozy and clean! The flowers and native grasses around the exteriors of the cabins are such a great added benefit. And then there is the view ..... Resurrection Bay and the mountains in the background. Even though we did not see much of the mountains during our stay, due to low cloud cover ... Not Lynda and Paul's fault.

The cabin kitchen is well equipped with a microwave, toaster, coffee pot, small refrigerator, table ware, plates, etc. All you could need. The internet service worked great! No television which we were very happy to not have.

The window blinds closed well enough for us to sleep comfortably even with 20 summer hours of daylight. The shower may be tight for a larger person, that would be the only caution that I would have for guests. (It was fine for us)

We were greeted by a mother Raven protecting her nest that was right in the tree outside the picture windows, as a bird photographer this was special for me. Also had Harlequin ducks, gulls, terns and of course the otters at the beach .... sweet. And the hummingbirds! 8-10 at a time at the feeder right next door, buzzing across our porch and occasionally landing in front of us.

If it were possible to put more than 5 stars as a rating I would do so .... HIGHLY RECOMMEND!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Robert H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AngelsRest, Manager at Angels Rest on Resurrection Bay, LLC, responded to this reviewResponded August 25, 2013

Thank you for these kind words, we're so glad you enjoyed your stay with us! How sweet you felt inclined to put the review up while still at the cabin! :) We appreciate all the details and photos you posted, thank you for doing this, we think other travelers will really appreciate it. We're so grateful to all our guests. Thank you again and we look forward to a return visit!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (229)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

100 - 106 of 229 reviews

Reviewed July 2, 2013

We stayed in View Nest. All the cabins are meticulously built (by Paul), designed and cleaned. It had a great view of Res. Bay from the rocking chairs. Lynda got us waders and gear for fishing (somewhat successful with the fish), stored our frozen halibut catch in her freezer, AND gave us a cooler to transport it back home. Small kitchenette allowed us to cook dinner on the grill; facilities worked well. One unexpected and extremely well-appreciated amenity: the coffee was outstanding, best ever in any kind of hotel, B&B, etc. (and real half/half in the room)! The only regret was not booking early enough to be on the beach; though our unit was great.

Room Tip: go for the beachfront units if you can get one
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Paul N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AngelsRest, Manager at Angels Rest on Resurrection Bay, LLC, responded to this reviewResponded August 25, 2013

Thank you so much for this review, Paul! We're so glad the two of you had a good stay and enjoyed the View Nest room. It's great that you enjoyed the view, even though that's a ground level room. We're also glad you enjoyed the French Roast coffee we provide our guests; we think it might be our wonderful water that makes the coffee taste especially good. We were happy to pass on a leftover cooler to you; we hope your fish made it home in great shape! Thank you again, we appreciate you as guests!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 23, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at Cloud 9 for 3 nights In mid June. The cabin was small and charming and the view was not only spectacular, but also constantly changing with the time of day and the weather. (We were fortunate to have perfect weather on our entire stay.) We live in Georgia and were planning to elope in Alaska. Lynda became for all essential purposes, our wedding planner. She arranged our wedding through Alaska Salt Water Tours, who were wonderful as well. She really went above and beyond and responded quickly to any questions I had. When we arrived she also had a plethora of information on the area which was very helpful. It was the perfect place to stay our first days as husband and wife.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Javajive29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AngelsRest, Manager at Angels Rest on Resurrection Bay, LLC, responded to this reviewResponded August 25, 2013

We love helping to plan small weddings and/or elopements! Thank you so much for including us, we're always honored to be a part of our customer's special day! We've helped numerous couples with weddings such as yours, on a boat by the boat captain, in front of a calving glacier, and at other times have actually married couples ourselves, in front of the cabins or on the beach. Seward is such a beautiful place and there is a multitude of venues couples can pick for a special wedding setting. Our new Gathering House building that can hold up to 20 guests can serve as a great reception location too. Thank you again for allowing us to assist you and we hope you'll return for an anniversary celebration some time!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 23, 2013

We stayed in "Cloud 9" for 3 nights in June 2013. It is a lovely little cabin right on the beach, with lovely views up & down Resurrection Bay. The cabin is well equipped: a kitchenette with microwave, fridge and coffee machine; very effective heating; a good shower; a very comfortable bed and a lot of reading material & dvds to give you ideas of what to do in the area. You are only a short 10mins drive into Seward where there are some lovely restaurants (recommend "Chinooks" where we ate every night!) and shops. Watching the fishermen bring in their catch and weigh it by the "Caught at Seward, Alaska" sign in the small boat harbour was good fun! And we would highly recommend the walk to Exit Glacier which is a 20-25mins drive away from Cloud 9. We spent our evenings admiring the view from our cabin, watching cruise ships sail past, bald eagles land on the beach and sea otters swim in the bay. We would highly recommend Cloud 9 and Angels Rest for a stay in Seward.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PASAR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 22, 2013

We stayed in one of the second floor studios and it is small but well planned. Lynda, the owner, has a wealth of detail to help with planning hikes and where to eat, and her suggestions were spot on. The only bad meal we had in Seward was before we read her suggestions. She gave me ginger candy to help avoid seasickness and she loaned us a cell phone when ours didn't work there. Their website is also very helpful for trip planning, including excellent advice about renting cars in Anchorage.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank loon2003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 19, 2013 via mobile

Angel's rest is truly a beautiful spot. We stayed three nights here - both in a cabin and in Wood's Nest. Lynda is a wonderful hostess with a wealth of knowledge about everything Seward has to offer. I recommend saying "hello" and asking her suggestion - she'll take care of the rest! Can't wait to come back...

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kcam34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 12, 2013

We stayed in the Heron's Roost room, a second floor studio. Most reviews are for the water front cabins. The room is well furnished with a comfortable bed, gliding chairs. There is a microwave, toaster and mini fridge. We enjoyed the framed pocket view of the water and glider chairs in the evenings. This was our "camp" for 4 days in Seward of our 16 day trip. Although the owners spend time thinking of all the details they seemed to have ignored a couple of big ones. Space; there is no room to put your things. We brought up 1 of our 2 suitcases and there was nowhere to put it. We had to step over it. There is simply no extra space in this room, not an inch. There are a couple of hooks by the door but we hung our coats there. This was also the first place that lacked light blocking curtains. There were blinds but they still let in plenty of light. I threw a towel over the door to block the outdoor lighting coming in. It never gets dark here in the summer so why do they have multiple lights on just outside your windowed door?
I WOULD recommend this for an overnighter or weekend visit based on comfort, location and the value for area. But travelers carrying more then a toothbrush and change of clothes will be frustrated.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TinaKona
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AngelsRest, Manager at Angels Rest on Resurrection Bay, LLC, responded to this reviewResponded June 17, 2013

Our guests' comfort and happiness is our highest priority and we are so sad that these guests didn't speak with us regarding their concerns, while they were here!!! Had they let us know they were unhappy, we could have easily moved them to a larger unit and even a unit with a very dark sleeping area! This was not the only room available when their reservation was made, and in fact we offered one of our mini-suites when we discussed availability, however the Heron View is the room they chose. The Heron View IS our coziest room and is considered our "economy" unit. It allows numerous folks who want to stay with us but can't afford the cabins, to stay with us and enjoy our hospitality. The photo gallery is very clear and there are multiple photos that show everything one needs to know about the room. Compared to what you would find at a hotel in town for $159 a night (for a 3 night stay) (and 11% tax instead of our low 3% tax) we're shocked at this review. As far as the lack of black out curtains we have a very good reason that we don't use them. We advertise our property as being "allergy-friendly" and things like black out curtains are huge dust traps. We use metal light blocking mini-blinds on the windows, and suggest to all our guests that if they are sensitive to light, to make the very modest low cost investment in eye or sleeping masks. Interestingly, we just had some folks tell us they had 4 huge suitcases with them in the Heron View and they found the 2 luggage racks and all the room under the bed, all the room they needed to be completely comfortable. For those of you looking for economy, the Heron View is a wonderful choice; for those of you looking for lots of space, we'd recommend one of our mini-suites (or cabins). The most important thing to remember is that we care DEEPLY about your comfort and we much prefer being able to attend to those details during your stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Seward hotels
2 mi away
Best Western Plus Edgewater Hotel
3.3 mi away
Harbor 360 Hotel
Harbor 360 Hotel
#1 of 13 in Seward
1,134 reviews
2.1 mi away
Hotel Seward
Hotel Seward
#4 of 13 in Seward
592 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.6 mi away
Seward Windsong Lodge
Seward Windsong Lodge
#2 of 13 in Seward
809 reviews
7.7 mi away
Bell in the Woods
Bell in the Woods
#1 of 46 in Seward
279 reviews
5.7 mi away
Alaska Creekside Cabins
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Angels Rest on Resurrection Bay, LLC? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Angels Rest on Resurrection Bay, LLC

Address: 13730 Beach Drive, 13725 Beach Drive, Lowell Point, Seward, AK 99664-1741
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Alaska > Seward
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 46 B&Bs / Inns in Seward
Price Range: $103 - $226 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Angels Rest on Resurrection Bay, LLC 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Open Year Round ~-Free Property~ 3 Waterfront cabins and 4 View Rooms w/spectacular views of wildlife & scenery. All units are designed for 2 guests. This is the perfect place for that special get-away, honeymoon, anniversary or vacation. Modern and cozy, equipped with everything you need for a comfortable stay. Known by Alaskan couples as one of the best places to stay, year round. All units feature kitchenettes and outdoor BBQ grills, free hi-speed wi-fi, free on-site parking. Super clean and allergy friendly. One waterfront cabin is fully Handicap & Wheelchair Accessible. One view room is pet-friendly. All three waterfront cabins have 2 burner stove tops in the kitchenettes, fire rings outside for small campfires and private beach access. The Heron Roost building with the 4 view units is across Beach Drive from our cabins. Evening and early morning beach access for the View Units is via public access a short walk down the road. The Heron Roost has an outdoor deck, shared kitchen. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity and Hotwire so you can book your Angels Rest on Resurrection Bay, LLC reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Angels Rest On Resurrection Bay Hotel Seward

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing