We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Spent three great nights”
Review of Stoney Creek Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Seward
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Stoney Creek Inn
Ranked #18 of 44 Seward B&B and Inns
Texas
Level Contributor
48 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Spent three great nights”
Reviewed September 2, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here our last nights in Alaska and it was a great experience. There was a nice living room with an electric fireplace we gathered around in the evenings. Our room was small but the bed was very comfortable. There was a small refrigerator in our room with milk, juice, fruit and yogurt. They also provided gigantic muffins and cereal. Each day there were new people arriving and we enjoyed chatting with them.

Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Pharmwife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

39 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    26
    9
    4
    0
    0
See reviews for
10
21
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Fairlee, Vermont
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 27, 2013

We stayed at Stoney Creek for a friend's wedding this past weekend. It's a very charming place - clean and quiet, and you can hear the sound of the two nearby creeks when you leave your window open. Very comfy beds, and the rooms have lots of handy conveniences - hair driers, plenty of outlets, free (and fast!) wi-fi, good cell phone signal, small fridges and even breakfast (muffins, OJ, milk, coffee, yogurts). The property is on a quiet dirt road that is great for strolling down. The Inn is six miles out of town, but that works to its benefit in that there isn't tons of traffic and noise. There's a Safeway grocery and liquor store a few miles down the road so you can stock your fridge up, and there are some really great restaurants in town as well as lots to see and do.

Our only complaint, and it's a very small one: husband and I are both tall-ish, and we found the placement of the shower head in our bathroom (we stayed in Room 1) to be very low. Like, the water hit me between the shoulder blades and I had to bend down to wash my hair...and I'm 5'10". That's literally the ONLY thing I can find to gripe about when it comes to Stoney Creek, though.

Also - there were a LOT of mosquitoes, so bring bug spray - but that's an Alaska thing, not just a Stoney Creek Inn thing. :D

We can't wait to plan our next trip to Seward, and hope to be able to stay at Stoney Creek again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ealachan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doylestown, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed September 26, 2012

We stayed 3 nights at this inn. The owner has a separate building with 5 rooms, all of which have their own bathroom facilities. There is a very nice common room with a fireplace, couches, table and chairs. They have tea, hot chocolate, etc. available all the time. Then, on the creek(more like a river), they have a hot tub and sauna - you sit in the hot tub and hear the water rushing. It was so relaxing. Breakfast consisted of cereal, juice, fresh fruit and a very nice muffin.
The inn is about 3 miles out of town, but still very convenient. It was one of our favorite places to stay in Alaska.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MaryBeth44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alaska
Level Contributor
149 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2012

We stayed here 3 nights, great price, great bed and very clean. Had plenty of room, table, refrig, we had a bath room with a tub/shower (not all the rooms have this). There is a separate building with a hot tub that looks out over a bubbling creek with beautiful greenery- this was wonderful after a day of fishing. Also is a separate building (open air) with bbq and table to cook. Out of four different places we stayed this was by far our favorite. As with any B&B, hotel, motel be aware there are people that may not realize your taking a afternoon nap. We had no issues with other guests and the rooms were all booked I hope we were quite when we were leaving for 5am fishing trips. We would stay here again.

Room Tip: ask for the room in the back with the bathtub/shower a quieter room
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank califcruiser1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iowa
Level Contributor
218 reviews
128 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
Reviewed July 30, 2012

We were delighted to arrive at this cozy, pretty B&B after a long drive. Our room was small but attractive and comfortable. We slept great our first night and enjoyed the generous continental breakfast. All of the 5 rooms are quite close to the shared living room, and on our 2nd night we discovered this doesn't work well if there is a spoiler - a couple who returned around midnight, drunk, with several friends in tow, who then proceeded to sit in the living room, drinking, shouting, screaming with laughter - until almost 3AM. With a crowd of them, none of the rest of us wanted to confront them, but it was not a good night. Perhaps the hosts could post a "rules of the room"? Might not help, but could make such jerks think twice.....
Hosts were pleasant, but during our stay it was hard to find them. When we went to ask for advice, when our tiny bar of soap ran out, when we failed to get new coffee......the office always seemed to be dark and empty. Although there was a sign saying "ring bell", we couldn't find a bell. We also note that the price was much higher than listed in our 2012 guidebook, so check online before making plans. A pleasant place, but a few caveats.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fuzby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wisconsin
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 7, 2012

We had a room with 2 queen beds. The room was really quite small, so a little cramped for my wife and I and our adult son. Still, it was a pleasant stay and in a nice location outside of Seward. Common area had games and books. Breakfast was muffins, yogurt, and fruit which was in the room the evening we arrived. Not quite as nice as something fresh made in the morning, but it was very convenient and we could eat breakfast whenever we wanted to.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GreenEggsWisconsin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Landenberg Pa.
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed June 1, 2012

Stoney Creek is clean, quiet and situated near the end of the road. You won't pass any trailer trash on the way in. During our visit, Charlie (son) had great local information and took care of all our needs. The sauna and jacuzzi are great - they sit back by a roaring stream and is a great chill out spot after a long day of hiking.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mikesueLandenbergPa.
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Seward hotels
5.9 mi away
Hotel Seward
Hotel Seward
#4 of 14 in Seward
4.0 of 5 bubbles 532 reviews
4.8 mi away
Harbor 360 Hotel
Harbor 360 Hotel
#1 of 14 in Seward
4.0 of 5 bubbles 904 reviews
5.9 mi away
Best Western Plus Edgewater Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Seward Windsong Lodge
Seward Windsong Lodge
#2 of 14 in Seward
4.0 of 5 bubbles 621 reviews
0.1 mi away
Bell in the Woods
Bell in the Woods
#1 of 44 in Seward
5.0 of 5 bubbles 207 reviews
2.4 mi away
Alaska Creekside Cabins
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stoney Creek Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stoney Creek Inn

Property: Stoney Creek Inn
Address: PO Box 1352, Seward, AK 99664-1352
Location: United States > Alaska > Seward
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 44 B&Bs / Inns in Seward
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing