We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exactly as advertised.”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Stoney Creek Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Seward
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Stoney Creek Inn
Ranked #16 of 44 Seward B&B and Inns
Landenberg Pa.
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Exactly as advertised.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 1, 2012

Stoney Creek is clean, quiet and situated near the end of the road. You won't pass any trailer trash on the way in. During our visit, Charlie (son) had great local information and took care of all our needs. The sauna and jacuzzi are great - they sit back by a roaring stream and is a great chill out spot after a long day of hiking.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mikesueLandenbergPa.
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

39 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    26
    9
    4
    0
    0
See reviews for
10
21
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Sunnyvale, CA
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2011

Decent Clean location.. Great host - Typical continental breakfast
Think there could be relatively lower priced options around in the nearby area..

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mits81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sparta, Michigan
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2011

Gorgeous B&B just outside of Seward. Clean with great breakfast offerings. Nestled in the woods along side a stream. Beautiful setting. Hot tub, steam room and grilling area! Just down the street is a great place to buy fresh seafood. Hiking is nearby as well as the great town of Seward.

Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Bakker5555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anchorage, Alaska
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 11, 2011

Stayed here for my 3rd time. Enjoyed the setting--nestled in the woods. Appreciated how clean and charming the place is. Relaxed in the hot tub. And I always seem to meet nice people here. I'll be back for sure.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TooMuchJello
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
45 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 17, 2010

We stayed at the Stoney Creek Inn B&B for two nights while visiting the Kenai Fjords area of Alaska. The Inn is located a few miles north of town, in a very beautiful area. It's surrounded by trees, which means you're not treated to any mountain or sea views, but this is by no means a drawback. It feels very secluded and private.

The owner was very friendly and professional, making check-in an easy, comfortable affair (which can be hit-or-miss with B&B's).

The rooms are located in a separate building away from the house, making it feel more like a quiet cabin or hotel. The rooms themselves are very clean, with great private baths. The common areas seemed nicely appointed, although we didn't avail ourselves of them very much.

Breakfast was waiting in our rooms when we checked in. It was of the continental variety, and featured muffins, cereal and granola, fruit, yogurt, juice, milk, and other assorted items. You have your own refrigerator and table, so if you don't necessarily feel like rubbing elbows with the other guests in the common room, you don't have to.

This was the best B&B we stayed in during our week-long Alaska trip. Very highly recommended.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank yellowdog51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anchorage, Alaska
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 26, 2009

I have stayed here two times now and both times, I have enjoyed my stay. It's a B&B and your breakfast--simple but substantial (muffins, yogurt, fruit, cereal, granola, milk, juice, coffee)--is provided in the in-room refrigerator. The rooms have a small table and are roomy enough so that you aren't stepping over each other. You can control the heat and open the windows. You can access the Internet. You can hang out in the roomy sitting area, where you can enjoy coffee or tea, read books about Alaska, or play cards with your friends. Best of all, there's a hot tub located near a creek. Ahhhhh....

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TooMuchJello
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, AZ
Level Contributor
40 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 14, 2009

This property is very clean, private, wooded and spacious with a lovely brooke running through it located about 1/2 mile off the main highway about 2 miles from Seward. IAcross the street and within walking distance is a river. It is not a traditional B&B in that a continental type breakfast is set up in your room prior to arrival. We were not greeted by anyone and had to do the "you hoo" thing to check in. A woman appeared to check us in with a hotel style demeanor -- never introduced herself and didn't care who we were either. She rushed us over to the guest building to show us our room and, then, poof!, she was gone never to be seen again!

The guest building is separate from the owner's residence, single level, with a cabin-woodsey feel. It looks like new construction consisting of a good sized main room with large windows, sofas, tables/chairs, and kitchinette with coffee, micro, extra plates, cups, etc. They could have used a couple of large chairs with good lighting to cozy up in and read as there was not a good reading area (aside from the bed) in our room. There are 5 guest rooms of various sizes located off the main room and also a large kitchen where the B&B supplies are kept. The owners ask that you do not use the kitchen to cook in. Each room has a buffet counter with a coffee pot, assorted cereals, packages of hot chocolate, tea and a small frig (where your breakfast is placed) -- packaged muffins, milk, orange juice, fruit (an apple and orange slice, as I recall).

Our room was hotel size with hotel size bathroom. The decor including beds, furnishings, flooring, and bathroom decor were well coordinated, tastefully done AND very clean. Our room had one nice-sized window which could be opened for fresh air, a small table with two chairs, and adeqauate lighting

There is a large, separate, covered picnic/bar-B-Q area located next to the guest building. We did not use it, but I was very impressed with the ammenities, spaciousness and cleanliness. It was a place where you could cook up your fish or steaks with plenty of space for a large family to gather -- a perfect property for a family reunion.

There is a separate "Spa Building" located just a few steps from the guest building and picnic area. It also had the look and feel of new construction and is well lit. There is a changing room, wonderful hot tub (on the back deck right next to the babbling brook) and wood fired sauna. Music of your choice was provided via a small recorder and large assortment of "tapes". Our Host (Keith, I think) was very accommodating and fired up the sauna upon our request. Don't miss this lovely experience when you stay here!

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GlitterTucson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Seward hotels
5.9 mi away
Hotel Seward
Hotel Seward
#4 of 14 in Seward
4.0 of 5 bubbles 527 reviews
4.8 mi away
Harbor 360 Hotel
Harbor 360 Hotel
#1 of 14 in Seward
4.0 of 5 bubbles 892 reviews
5.9 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Edgewater Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Seward Windsong Lodge
Seward Windsong Lodge
#2 of 14 in Seward
4.0 of 5 bubbles 620 reviews
0.1 mi away
Bell in the Woods
Bell in the Woods
#1 of 44 in Seward
5.0 of 5 bubbles 207 reviews
2.4 mi away
Alaska Creekside Cabins
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stoney Creek Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stoney Creek Inn

Property: Stoney Creek Inn
Address: PO Box 1352, Seward, AK 99664-1352
Location: United States > Alaska > Seward
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 44 B&Bs / Inns in Seward
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing