We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good food, good service, great location” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ray's Waterfront

Ray's Waterfront
Ranked #3 of 48 Restaurants in Seward
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $20 - $25
Cuisines: American, Seafood, Soups
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Scenic view, Large groups, Local cuisine, Kids, Families with children, Bar scene, Special occasions
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Good food, good service, great location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2013

I've been going to Ray's for years, and I've never been disappointed. It's always crowded during the summer, but the bar is full of interesting people and stuff...you can see most every kind of fish caught in Alaskan waters up on the wall there. Get a table near a window if you can, and enjoy looking out on the Marina and the Kenai Mountains in the distance. This is a great place to be...and the young servers are always happy to be there...a good sign.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank AKbuckle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,275 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    531
    444
    216
    54
    30
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Youngsville, NC
Level Contributor
30 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Excellent seafood”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 13, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

Great atmosphere right on the docks. The seafood chowder was perfect on a chilly, rainy day and the fish and chips was fresh and tasty. A little pricey, but hey, it's Alaska.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank JGJJN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, WA
Level Contributor
256 reviews
142 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
“Nice Experience”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2013

For those who have visited Seward, AK, you would be aware that there did not appear to be many good dining choices (besides fast food). Ray's was one of several which seemed acceptable and was selected because they took reservations during a time when we expected hoards of tourists to be getting off the cruise ship(s) and boat excursions. We were not disappointed. A nice table on the window provided nice views of the harbor and beyond, our server was Caitlin was delightful and the food was a bit pricey but very tasty. We both opted for their Planked Salmon. If we ever decide to return to picturesque Seward, then we'd be pleased to try Ray's again.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank eelSeattle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Seward in May”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2013

Relaxed feel to the place and catered for everyone. We had a great week in May in Seward and sampled several of the food spots including this and the neighbouring Chinooks. Both of them face over the harbour and provide good food and atmosphere but I think we preferred Ray's after sampling both.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Graham J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warrenton, Missouri
Level Contributor
60 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Very good food & service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 5, 2013

The food is excellent, the service is great & it's right on the water! Not much more to ask for. We were a large group & didn't have any trouble getting a table.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Pam B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ray's Waterfront also viewed

 

Been to Ray's Waterfront? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing