We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful View, Delicious Food”
Review of Ray's Waterfront

Ray's Waterfront
Ranked #3 of 47 Restaurants in Seward
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $20 - $25
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Large groups, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Elgin, Texas
Level Contributor
59 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Beautiful View, Delicious Food”
Reviewed July 26, 2013

This restaurant was recommended to us, and what a great recommendation it was. We were seated next to the windows and had a wonderful view. As we were boarding the boat a day earlier, I had watched someone prune the flowers in the window boxes at Ray's so I know it is well maintained. Very good waiter, and the food came out at just the right temperature and tasted delicious. The salmon was yummy. We were glad we stopped here.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Cheryll D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,351 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    572
    465
    221
    60
    33
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
League City, Texas
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“What a surprise!”
Reviewed July 26, 2013

Ray's was such a surprise! Very interesting menu with lots of choices. Emphasis was on seafood, of course, but it was not your standard fare. Service was excellent, attentive, but not hovering. Very nice selections of wine, as well. It was our favorite of all the restaurants in Seward.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Pamela N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
maryland
Level Contributor
130 reviews
79 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
“Not bad, not great”
Reviewed July 24, 2013

I'm discovering quickly that any bite of food you put in your mouth in this town is worth its weight in gold, so it stands to reason this restaurant is completely overpriced. I had a small lunch portion of halibut and paid $30. The food is fine but absolutely nothing to get excited about. My steamed broccoli was undercooked which wasn't terrific and the coleslaw hardly had any dressing. I do not like it drenched in mayo and I'm always trying to keep dishes on the low cal side, but even I thought the slaw was closer to shredded raw cabbage vs. slaw. My husband got the fish and chips and never have I seen such tiny pieces of battered fish. I almost had to borrow the Hubble telescope just to find it on his plate (which was overflowing with fries) I won't come here again. I left underwhelmed, a smidge hungry, and $70 poorer.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank marylanddweller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Disappointed!!!!”
Reviewed July 23, 2013

Tourists to seward and wanted to try the local seafood! I ordered a half pound of crab and receive half of a leg. We also ordered a salmon Caesar salad. The waitress forgot the salmon on the order! We also ordered popcorn chicken and that was also forgotten! She put the order in once we asked her about the missing food and that took forever so the waitress asked if we would still like our food. We opted out due to the fact that we were tired of waiting there and asked for the check. She then brings the food ten minutes later and he chicken was burnt! She finally brought the check and we were charged for everything!!!! No compensation for the mistake!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Kayce1590
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria MN USA
Level Contributor
327 reviews
207 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 133 helpful votes
“Great Seafood in Seward...”
Reviewed July 23, 2013

The location is right on the water front in the harbor. The seafood was very fresh and excellent. The place gets quite busy with tours and "cruisers", but the service was very good for the number of people that were in the restaurant. Try any of the fresh seafood, it is all great!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Steve L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Ray's Waterfront? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing