We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Belgian Creperie”
Review of Le Barn Appetit

Le Barn Appetit
Ranked #11 of 47 Restaurants in Seward
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast
Walden, Colorado
Level Contributor
70 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Belgian Creperie”
Reviewed July 11, 2014

I LOVED this place! Had their breakfast Crepe du Jour with reindeer sausage. It was huge; I could easily have shared it, had I not been alone. Loved the food and Yvon and Janet so much that I returned the next day on my way out of Seward, to enjoy the Strawberry-Rhubarb crepe. What a fun and special and delicious place!

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank MountainMom7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

183 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    146
    27
    7
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Don't Miss This!”
Reviewed July 11, 2014

Visit this spot to meet Yvon -- a 77-year-old Minister-turned-dive master-turned-crepe master who moved to Alaska from Belgium 49 years ago. He makes the best )and biggest) darn crepes you've ever had. And if you're a tea drinker, he'll pick a tea pot for you by looking at you and deciding it fit your personality. They just don't make them like Yvon anymore. We adored him, his lovely wife, and the amazing meal we enjoyed. Don't miss this experience!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Shahrzad N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redmond, Washington
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Best hosts in town serving the best crepe you can have...”
Reviewed July 9, 2014

We're so glad we visited Le Barn Appetit... While the restaurant closes normally at 5:30pm, they will keep it open late if you have a reservation. We got there at 6:45pm and left close to 10pm after a very memorable dinner, one of the best we've had outside. We had the Vegetarian crepes - and they are simply delicious. The desert crepes were outstanding as well. Go for the full crepe - DON'T compromise and share a half!! Yvon and Janet are great hosts and you can be rest assured that you will have a great time while you are there. Enjoy.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mv2691
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anchorage, Alaska
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
“Holy crepe!”
Reviewed July 6, 2014 via mobile

this place is amazing... we tried to come on the 4th of july, but they were only serving customers who stayed at the inn... but given the reviews, we tried again. I'm so glad we did! We got both savory and sweet, and are all left with huge smiles in the end. The crepe du jour is fabulous, and the blueberry compote was to die for!!
The owners are great people, and have amazing stories to tell. This isn't a fast food joint, so be prepared to spend a little time...take in the ambience and learn more about the history. Highly recommend!

Helpful?
Thank kpierce52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hudson, Illinois
Level Contributor
99 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Great crepes, great atmosphere, great owners”
Reviewed July 1, 2014

Our family loves crepes, loves to make crepes, and when we are traveling likes to sample other places that like to make crepes. So when we stayed in Seward for 4 days, we were overjoyed to find Le Barn Appetit.

The owners of "the Barn" are just wonderful. They entertain you with stories, history of themselves the area, really keep you engaged. But they also make some very great crepes. We went twice for breakfast, having a savory (reindeer sausage, spinach, overeasy egg, mixed in) and sweet crepes (mixed berry, also a rhubarb crepe). Nothing left but the plate at the end of each visit.

Its a small sitdown place, maybe hold 15 people or so max. You don't feel rushed, and you could sit all day looking at the items hanging from the walls or on the tables.

Definitely a return trip if we visit the area again.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jmsaathoff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Le Barn Appetit also viewed

 

Been to Le Barn Appetit? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing