We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Always an Incredible Experience”

Kenai Fjords National Park
Book In Advance
More Info
$173.63*
and up
Kenai Fjords National Park Glacier and Wildlife Cruise
Ranked #1 of 45 things to do in Seward
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Granada, Nicaragua
Level Contributor
170 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
“Always an Incredible Experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 29, 2012

Having done Kenai Fjords tours six times, the most recent being late August 2012, that pretty much tells you something. I never get sick of seeing great scenery and Kenai Fjords consistently offers terrific marine wildlife encounters.

Have done all of the larger tour ship companies, and can recommend them all without hesitation.

However, this time we went out on a small boat excursion through Alaska Saltwater Lodge & Tours. We had done a small boat whale watching trip out of Gustavus (southeast AK near Glacier Bay NP) back in 2009 and enjoyed the experience very much.

Being late in the season, many of the humpback whales had already departed for Hawaii (who wouldn't like to do that for the winter?). However, we did see a few humpbacks, as well as the usual great sightings of sea otters, sea lions, puffins and other sea birds, as well as the stunning scenery and glacier views.

The best part of this particular trip was something that we'd never experienced before, because it takes place late in the season. This is the time of year when the various pods of orca (killer whales) gather together so the bulls can "mingle" with the ladies from other pods.

At one point in the day, we were fortunate enough to be surrounded by 4 pods of orca that numbered around 50 individual animals! It was incredible, and a definite highlight among all of my trips to Kenai Fjords NP.

Every time I visit Alaska and spend time in Seward, and every time I speak with someone headed there and looking for things to do, a day on a boat in Kenai Fjords NP is always on the "must do" list.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank SJH-SFSD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,144 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,029
    96
    14
    1
    4
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Doylestown, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“A great day!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 26, 2012

We took the boat trip to Northwestern Fjord - we saw calving, whales, sea lions, puffins, many many birds. The views of the mountains and islands was great. I would highly recommend it

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank MaryBeth44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona
Level Contributor
86 reviews
36 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Rough Trip - Great Views”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 26, 2012

We travelled from Seward on a 9 hour trip to Kenai Fijord NP. Going out once we left Resurrection Bay, almost everybody was sick. The crew did the best they could to help the ill, but not much could be done in the rough Gulf of Alaska. We had to skip the lunch buffet. Once we got close to the glaciers, things were better and we recovered some. Going back across a part of the gulf was almost as bad. I can't say we really enjoyed what should have been a great trip.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank John M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jackson Hole, Wyoming
Level Contributor
47 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“A must visit”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2012

I took a cruise out into the harbor. It was so exciting when we saw Killer whales, seals and sea lions. It's a must do!

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Kandi A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
207 reviews
89 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Beautiful glaciers”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2012

Glaciers were beautiful, we took a 6 hour cruise and it was wonderful. If you get seasick, there is about 1/2 hour on the way out and 1/2 hour on the way back that can be pretty rough as you go between the two bays.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank misterjohnny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kenai Fjords National Park also viewed

 

Been to Kenai Fjords National Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing