We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Greatest Fishing Trip Ever!”
Review of PFISH - Pacific Fishing - CLOSED

PFISH - Pacific Fishing
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: PFISH is a leader in the Seward Charter Fishing industry. With over 25 years of experience, our captains and crews not only know how to put clients on fish but are renowned for their exceptional customer service. Our charters are built for fishermen and women of all skill levels and a variety of charter options are available. Our 33-foot custom built Carolyn is one of the largest, fastest, most comfortable "six-pack" vessels in the fleet! PLEASE NOTE: The Offshore Charter Industry is one of the most challenging business sectors on the planet. After almost 25-years as a well known, local "Mom & Pop" establishment, PFISH decided a few years ago to branch out and increase the size of their fleets. As is inherent with practically every business, growing pains can be overwhelming at times, however with attention to detail and sticking to what got you there in the first place (personal, attentive and professional service) we were determined to make it work. Now, after several more years, even with the right team, assets and equipment, there are still challenges and always will be. By noting visitors with just one TripAdvisor review and a bad one, we hope that experienced travelers and sportsmen/women will recognize that while servicing over 3000 clients per year it is virtually impossible for us to expect a perfect record of "Excellent". We at PFISH believe that negative reviews are mainly due to a lack of communication and a travelers reluctance to inquire as to the issue when it occurs, a simple, innocent action. We appreciate the opportunity to respond with explanations... not excuses. Thank you for understanding - Management
League City, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Greatest Fishing Trip Ever!”
Reviewed July 21, 2013

This was the most awesome experience we have ever had. Our party of four shipped home 81 lbs. of silver salmon, halibut, rockfish and ling cod fillets. Captain Drake and Leslie were incredible. They knew were to find the fish and didn't wait until everything went cold to go to a different spot. We never dreamed we would catch such a variety of fish. They were efficient and patient with those of us who didn't know what we were doing. Our 9 year old grandson hasn't stopped talking yet about how many fish he caught and outfishing his dad and his grandparents. From the first email several months ago through the trip itself, every interaction was professional and designed to provide us with a memorable experience. The Carolyn was a very comfortable boat. We are already planning a return trip next summer. Our only regret was not getting to meet Captain Tat, but Captain Drake and Leslie could not have been better. Best wishes to Leslie while she pursues her captain's license. We hope we can go with Captain Leslie next trip. If I could figure out how to upload the pictures I would have.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Pamela N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

74 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    40
    2
    0
    1
    31
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bellevue, Washington
2 reviews
“annual fishing trip”
Reviewed July 16, 2013

This is the finest fishing trip I have had in 30 years of fishing Alaska. The boat captain new where the fish were and worked the spots to produce fish.I would highly recommend the captain TJ. His deck hand Nick was also a real hard worker. They recommended the Port Ashton Lodge which is a flat out ten. The accommodation is world class. The owner/hostess Lia has the best food you will ever eat. Her service, attention to detail and all around caring that you are having the time of your life are un-precedented. If you want the best don't hestitate to call these folks..

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank frank b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, South Carolina
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
“Nothing short of AMAZING! Totally professional”
Reviewed June 30, 2013

First, I live in a tourist destination, Charleston, SC. My family and I fish and hunt regularly. The experience we shared aboard the Carolyn, with Capt. Drake at the helm and Leslie matting was far more than we expected. On our first trip to AK in 2006 we used a different outfitter and fished out of Soldotna, AK. While we had fun we were not overly impressed. PFish showed us that you can catch lots of quality fish, see lots of sea life, and check out glaciers without the crowds.

On this adventure we chose to utilize the lodge at Port Ashton, we wanted to fish as much as possible and be immersed in AK but didn't want to give up too many creature comforts. While researching for the trip I ran across Port Ashton's website independent of PFish's website. So when I saw it mentioned on PFish's site, I was intrigued and eventually chose it as our main lodging choice. Tat arranged for a private apartment for us to use upon arrival in Seward and for when returned from the lodge at Port Ashton.

We were met by the transportation service -Dee Jay- arranged by Tat at the luggage carousel in the airport. He helped my 76 year old dad with his luggage and escorted us to our ride.

Sunday was our prep day. We bought our licenses from the hardware store and a few provisions from the Safeway. The town of Serward offers a free bus service that circles the town about every 15 minutes with stops everywhere. We utilized the bus service when we could not walk. That evening Capt. Drake met us at our apartment and took our luggage to the boat. The next morning we met him and Leslie at the slip all ready to fish.

We were given a succinct safety orientation while getting underway from the slip at J Dock kicking off our 4-day trip - we opted for an additional day. Within less than 2 hours we were dropping lines and catching fish! On day two and thereafter we only had a 20 minute or so haul to the fishing grounds since we left from the remote lodge at Port Ashton. It was a perfect marriage of amenities, fishing, and logistics.

We fished aboard the Carolyn. She is a great vessel! She was clean, very well organized and was stable and dry. The heater was too much considering we were all dressed in layers and drinking hot coffee but was a nice addition. The vessel had a clean, functional head and a fly bridge that we used to film most of the action. My 13-year old nephew and myself rode there between fishing spots to capture some wonderful photos and take in all we could. It was truly spectacular. The fishing tackle was all Penn and Shimano. Most of the reels were filled with braid, a few of them were filled with mono. We had no issues with any of the tackle (except when checking baits and had to wind up the 3# weight when fishing for the buts). A fighting belt was provided to fight the fish if wanted. It was utilized often.

Capt. Drake and Leslie were the best example of team work I've seen. They both communicated well with each other. They both are very knowledgeable about fishing, the local area, safety minded, fun, and serious about catching fish. I learned so much just by observing how Leslie tied knots, baited the hooks and set the lines out. Capt. Drake added a mild mannered enthusiasm that was full of his knowledge and passion of fishing. He also demonstrated how to properly put the lights out on a 160# halibut, an 80# halibut, and a 70# halibut. Leslie also executed the technique flawlessly.

Over the course of 4-days, Capt. Drake and Leslie put us on rock fish, yellow eyes, halibuts, sea bass, ling cod (had to release, however, because not in season) and salmon. We brought home over 450# of frozen fillets.

This was a trip of a lifetime for my family and am glad the research I did paid off. The wonderful memories and friends made will not be forgotten.

A big thanks to everyone involved to make this possible.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank MikeChs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Carolina
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Fishing trip stinks”
Reviewed June 21, 2013

Extremely disappointed with our trip. For two people we spent close to $1000 dollars and spent a misberably cold day watching a girl work her butt off, while the Captain fished. This was our first fishing trip, which we made perfectly clear, but we recognize broken reels, delapidated boat, and no heat in the cabin,although there was a heater that did not work. The most disappointing part was that we didn't get a decent picture of our catch. It was not award-winning, but it is likely the only one we would ever have, but the fish had to be cleaned on the trip on the way back to dock. We thought our fish would be hung like all the other crews were doing for their customers. Our fish was cleaned by a poor young girl who had to be freezing as we bounced over ten-foot waves and 28 knots. Not only was she unable to do a decent job of saving the meat, but our only picture was a pitiful one that others on the trip took for us.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
5 Thank si67oux
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vermont
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“This is the "Charter for Kings"”
Reviewed June 14, 2013

I have enjoyed this charter company for several years now, both for halibut and for king salmon fishing. The owner and usual capitan "Tat" is an exceptionally knowlegable fisherman and true gentleman. His crew is very experienced. You will enjoy your day(s) without a doubt.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank BobKVermont
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing