We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A pleasant one.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Seward Windsong Lodge
Ranked #2 of 13 Hotels in Seward
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 27, 2013

This one is a little bit farther from the town but we figured out that it worked very well for us.

The 2 bed queen room was very good. We stayed here for 3 nights for our anniversary and had a wonderful time. The room was big and spacious. It was very clean. The beds were comfortable. The carpet was clean. The bathrooms were nice and clean.

Seward is a beautiful town with so much to see and so much to do. I doubt it that anyone would be spending any time after sunrise in your hotel room. But when someone gets back and wants to rest in the night, this one is one of the best places in the town. There is a sitting place just outisde the rooms where me and my wife shared a glass of wine looking at the river. Its calm and quite during the night so you can have a wonderful rest and get ready to explore the next day.

There is salmon bake restaurant right next to it and has another restaurant as well. This one is on the road that goes to exit glacier so you can start exploring right away.

The one thing that did not let me put an excellent rating to this property was because of the thermostat not working. It was a late august week but it was unbelievably warm. We really appreciate the gentleman at the front desk who immediately brought us a fan on request.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank S K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (809)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

562 - 568 of 809 reviews

Reviewed September 20, 2013

Very impressive lodge with unbelievable fireplace glowing and welcoming into amazing views of snow capped mountains with view of McKinley of clear days. Luckily it was clear most of the time duiring our stay. Rooms were so comfortable and I cannot say enough for the delicious dinner we enjoyed. Shuttle service was every hour to see the small town of Talkeetna. Interesting history to the stone pillers -- make sure you ask...

Room Tip: Rooms with a view of the mountain range
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gail B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 20, 2013

We stayed at the Windsong for a couple nights for a wedding we were attending. It really was a nice experience as the staff was friendly, the rooms were a little lodge like (which I always enjoy), the restaurant was decent and the price wasn't as outrageous as most Alaska hotels in the summer (at least for what you get). Great location just outside of Seward and beautiful views of the river across the street.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Allen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2013

Seward Windsong Lodge is in a glacial river valley, 7 miles to Exit Glacier, about 2 miles to the town. We drove to there from Denali Park so it was a convenience place for us to spend one night before the Kenai Fjords Tour next morning. We loved the lodge built by wood, including all furniture so our room smelled like fresh pin trees. The clean room had a rustic appearance with all modem comfort, equipped with a refrigerator. We had a second floor room with a deck, very relaxing and quit. The staffs were friendly. We did not eat in the lodge. We went to the next door restaurant “Exit Glacie Salmon Bake” had a wonderful seafood dinner.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jenny201110
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 11, 2013

Stayed for 2 nights - disappointed that the espresso bar in main lodge was only open the morning we were leaving.
Resurrection Roadhouse Restaurant on property had great menu choices and pricing was good.

Room Tip: Street road signage leading to the hotel was lacking until turning onto the road leadng to the hotel...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank stefhim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 10, 2013

Though the Lodge is not located in downtown Seward the staff does everything in its power to get you to town when you need to get there. We had missed the shuttle and another one wasn't scheduled for an hour. The cabs were not answering calls so we thought we would be stuck. One of the shuttle drivers volunteered to take us to town not only that but he dropped us off at the restaurant.

The lodge itself is small but nicely decorated. There are computer for guests to use, but I had no problem accessing the internet and we were in the furthest cabins from the lodge. The grounds are quite nice, the restaurant on the property was good, though a little expensive. Would I stay here again? Yes

The only negative was that we were on the first floor of the cabins and the people staying upstairs were quite active in moving around. We could hear them quite well every step that they took. Try requesting second floor accommodations.

Room Tip: Try requesting accommodations on the second floor, we stayed on the first and could folks moving aro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mrngmdo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2013

Nice, clean and comfortable smaller size rooms with minimal desk/drawer space. The staff was very accommodating. Fairly quiet and a few miles to town and good restaurants. We ate breakfast twice and dinner once at their restaurants and the food was good and the waiting staff was extremely friendly. You pretty much need a vehicle if you plan to go anywhere.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BellaBugQH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Seward hotels
2.3 mi away
Harbor 360 Hotel
Harbor 360 Hotel
#1 of 13 in Seward
1,142 reviews
3.6 mi away
Best Western Plus Edgewater Hotel
3.6 mi away
Hotel Seward
Hotel Seward
#4 of 13 in Seward
593 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Sauerdough Lodging
Sauerdough Lodging
#6 of 13 in Seward
94 reviews
3.5 mi away
The Van Gilder Hotel
The Van Gilder Hotel
#8 of 13 in Seward
155 reviews
2.9 mi away
Harborview Inn
Harborview Inn
#7 of 13 in Seward
159 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Seward Windsong Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Seward Windsong Lodge

Address: 31772 Hermann Leirer Road, Mile 0.5, Exit Glacier Road, Seward, AK 99664-2301
Location: United States > Alaska > Seward
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 13 Hotels in Seward
Price Range: $177 - $323 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Seward Windsong Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 180
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Seward Windsong Lodge by Pursuit offers a peaceful escape in a glacial river valley surrounded by towering mountains. An ideal place for your next meeting, wedding or special event. Serving fresh seafood, tasty burgers, gourmet pizzas and a variety of ales on tap. Free shuttle service to the Seward Small Boat Harbor. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline so you can book your Seward Windsong Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Seward Windsong Hotel Seward

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing