We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice setting and good place to stay in Seward”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Seward Windsong Lodge
Ranked #2 of 14 Hotels in Seward
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Nice setting and good place to stay in Seward”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 2, 2013

This lodge is in a nice setting just outside Seward. It helps to have a car when staying here so that you have the flexibility to come and go as you please. Clearly this lodge had many people from the cruise ships, we were able to tell from the number of busses at the main entrance. The rooms were clean and had a sufficient amount of room. The room with the deck wasn't really worth it since it was rainy and chilly but the deck also looked thought some trees at the main lodge. We rented two rooms, and the suite had a nice amount of room. From what I could tell, this is probably the best place to stay in Seward, but keep in mind that the main town of Seward is a couple of miles away.

Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Sheryl L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

620 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    219
    245
    106
    39
    11
See reviews for
200
277
21
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (130)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Calgary
Level Contributor
40 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 28, 2013

We shoud have known better to book here when this was the only hotel in town that had rooms available. We arrived late in the evening with it pouring rain checked into the room and found out that the Internet, which is advertised does not work in the rooms. The front desk person said that we could use it in th office as the ifi worked there but as they close at 10 pm, we old have to stand outside. It was pouring rain and they felt like they were doing us a favor by having us stand next to the office in pouring rain so we could access the wifi, that should have been available in the rooms

The coffee maker didn't work in the room, and the room itself was musty. Stay elsewhere if you can.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kkrause01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nj
Level Contributor
70 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 28, 2013

Way out of town w small rooms. My ten y/o and I had to walk a quarter mile in the rain w our bags. The shuttle runs infrequently and taxis are pricey.
This place obviously caters to cruise ship passengers. If you're not on a ship you receive second rate everything.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kooldom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
208 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 26, 2013

Spent one night with 1 adult and 1 teen. It is not centrally located in Seward but they have a shuttle to take you around. Food is available on site at a variety of restaurants so you do have a choice. The rooms are fine, the construction is a bit flimsy, kind of "motel-like". I don't know what the price was since it was part of a package.

Room Tip: Ask for a first floor room so you don't have to lug your bags up the steep steps.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelswithmyTeen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 25, 2013

Even though its 2 miles from the Small Boat Harbor (which means you need a car or rely on the free hourly shuttle service) its hard to beat this as a location in Seward, right on the Resurrection River. Rooms are very clean, decently appointed but a little dated (like many other options in the town), balcony was nice but looked right at the trees 5 yards away; the adjacent restaurant was very good. The wild salmon was actually the best we had anywhere in Alaska in 2-weeks. Breakfast also very good.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OchoDedos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamphire UK
Level Contributor
42 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 25, 2013

Single night stay for 2 adults and 1 teenager on vacation. The efficiency of the direct telephone booking made from the UK when another accommodation had fallen through at short notice should have been enough to provide confidence that all would be good here, but after the extremely poor experience of Glacier Bay Lodge, I approached the check-in with a little trepidation. It was completely unfounded and the experience was one of friendly professionalism.

Plentiful parking near our cabin room, and we opened the door to a very spacious, well lit, well equipped, nicely furnished accommodation. Following an excellent dinner in the Resurrection Roadhouse Restaurant, we were able to back up our holiday snaps to date on the main lodge's guest-use PCs, before enjoying a good nights sleep in the comfortable beds.

A relaxing start to the next day kicked off with a long soak for our daughter in the jacuzzi bath tub, and then it was time to check-out and head off to the conveniently closeby Exit Glacier.

Windsong Lodge is the exemplar of how to run an excellent lodge and understands customer service perfectly. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Our room was downstairs at the far righthand side of the Lily Lodge, which meant that it had both si...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Atrebate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Littleton, Colorado
Level Contributor
86 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 21, 2013

We spent two nights here. It's just outside of town, surrounded by forest. A definite mountain feel. We couldn't check in until 3pm, but our luggage went straight to the lodge from the train depot, when we arrived at 11am. They stored it in a locked room until we got there. I know other reviewers weren't happy with that time-frame, but it gave us a chance to tour the SeaLife Center and walk thru town. They provide a complimentary shuttle to/from town every half hour, with two stops in town. There's a restaurant on the property, which is quite convenient, and there's a bistro in the lobby. Computers are provided in the lobby for guest use. The room was clean, quiet, spacious and comfortable. We couldn't hear guests moving around in the adjacent rooms. It had a lodge feel, as did the main office building. The staff was friendly and helpful. Overall, we think this is a great establishment, we will and have recommended it and would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mollyb333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Seward hotels
2.3 mi away
Harbor 360 Hotel
Harbor 360 Hotel
#1 of 14 in Seward
4.0 of 5 bubbles 892 reviews
3.5 mi away
Hotel Seward
Hotel Seward
#4 of 14 in Seward
4.0 of 5 bubbles 527 reviews
3.6 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Edgewater Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Sauerdough Lodging
Sauerdough Lodging
#6 of 14 in Seward
4.5 of 5 bubbles 81 reviews
2.9 mi away
Harborview Inn
Harborview Inn
#7 of 14 in Seward
3.5 of 5 bubbles 147 reviews
2.5 mi away
The Breeze Inn
The Breeze Inn
#5 of 14 in Seward
3.5 of 5 bubbles 369 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Seward Windsong Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Seward Windsong Lodge

Property: Seward Windsong Lodge
Address: 31772 Hermann Leirer Road, Mile 0.5, Exit Glacier Road, Seward, AK 99664-2301
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Alaska > Seward
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 14 Hotels in Seward
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Seward Windsong Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 180
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Seward Windsong Lodge offers a peaceful escape in a glacial river valley surrounded by towering mountains. An ideal place for your next meeting, wedding or special event. Serving fresh seafood, tasty burgers, gourmet pizzas and a variety of ales on tap. Free shuttle service to the Seward Small Boat Harbor. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz and Priceline so you can book your Seward Windsong Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Seward Windsong Hotel Seward

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing