We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Seward Windsong Lodge
Ranked #2 of 14 Hotels in Seward
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 19, 2012

Great View and great location!...beautiful hotel, close to everything!...Exit Glacier is right up the street...We saw wildlife all around the property, Brown Bears, Moose,and Bald Eagles!..Hotel was very clean, well maintained!...staff were friendly and helpful...The restaurant and Bar on the property had excellent food and drinks...the coffee bar was overwhelmed by guests in the morning, but the coffee and breakfast choices were good...would recommend staying here.WiFi signal was weak.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank deflep71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (807)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

654 - 660 of 807 reviews

Reviewed August 15, 2012

Great location close to the town and Exit Glacier. The outside looked nice and rustic. The front desk people were very nice and friendly. Unfortunately, the beds were uncomfortable and the sheets did not fit properly, I had to remake the bed all night long or ended up sleeping directly on the mattress. I requested additional pillows from the front desk and they very nicely provided but they gave me the pillow cases to put on myself. Oh well. Anyway the breakfast buffet was too expensive but ordering off the menu was fine. The internet was spotty and mostly only worked in the reception areas. I would consider staying there again if I was assured the bedding problems were corrected.

Room Tip: Make sure about the bedding and sheets before you go or bring your own from home.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank houstonr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2012

I understand that Alaska is remote and the hotels in some areas are few but Celebrity could have picked a better place to stay in Seward for our land tour. Our bathroom vanity was in the bedroom of all places and it was very dirty. The sheets were poor quality as were the pillows. The best thing about staying here was the restaurant in the morning of our departure. Great food and GREAT service.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank sylviafly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2012

Very basic, almost primitive. The room's alarm clock didn't work and they did not have a replacement. I was told to request a wake-up call, which I did; and then called a half hour later to confirm.
I never received the wake-up call; It was logged-in but they never got around to it!
Fortunately the walls are so thin we heard every belch, snore, flush and grunt of our neighbors which did wake us up at 1 Am; 2 Am; 3 Am; 4 AM 5 Am.....

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Grognard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2012

Based on the photos and reviews we expected more than a basic hotel room. When we checked in and found out that our room was in the most noisy possible location. We requested a different room and were told that all other rooms were reserved for tour people. It made us realize that we did not have much priority even though we undoubtedly paid more for our room. As expected, he heard people going up and down stairs and overhead for much of our time in the room. Otherwise, the room was ordinary,nothing like we expected from the photos. The lodge, however, was beautiful and inviting.

Room Tip: Choose the second floor of a building- away from road, stairs and people walking overhead.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mxalpert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2012

Seward Windsong Lodge is a very nice looking lodge. Setting, landscape all top notch. Rooms are spacious and clean. Our only complaint is the comfort of the beds. Hard as a rock! We attempted to get out of our second nights stay to get a good night sleep but were not successful. The front desk were very sorry and provided us with two pads that we placed under our sheets which made the second night more bearable.

We don't know a lot about The Breeze Inn but it had a great location for a stay in Seward.

Room Tip: Bring a sleeping bag for extra padding!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank redheadfamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2012

Clean rooms with easy access. Great place to be based out of while visiting Seward. Close to Exit glacier and 10 minutes drive from Seward pier, Alaska sea life center and Safeway if you need to pick up something.

Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
Thank manoj7698
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Seward hotels
2.3 mi away
Harbor 360 Hotel
Harbor 360 Hotel
#1 of 14 in Seward
1,105 reviews
3.6 mi away
Hotel Seward
Hotel Seward
#4 of 14 in Seward
587 reviews
3.6 mi away
Best Western Plus Edgewater Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Harborview Inn
Harborview Inn
#7 of 14 in Seward
159 reviews
3.5 mi away
The Van Gilder Hotel
The Van Gilder Hotel
#8 of 14 in Seward
155 reviews
2.5 mi away
The Breeze Inn
The Breeze Inn
#5 of 14 in Seward
408 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Seward Windsong Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Seward Windsong Lodge

Address: 31772 Hermann Leirer Road, Mile 0.5, Exit Glacier Road, Seward, AK 99664-2301
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Alaska > Seward
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 14 Hotels in Seward
Price Range: $326 - $327 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Seward Windsong Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 180
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Seward Windsong Lodge offers a peaceful escape in a glacial river valley surrounded by towering mountains. An ideal place for your next meeting, wedding or special event. Serving fresh seafood, tasty burgers, gourmet pizzas and a variety of ales on tap. Free shuttle service to the Seward Small Boat Harbor. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Seward Windsong Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Seward Windsong Hotel Seward

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing