We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nice hotel, grumpy front desk”
Review of The Breeze Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Breeze Inn
Ranked #5 of 14 Hotels in Seward
Reviewed August 17, 2008

One desk clerk was nice and friendly. The other was terse at best, mean and argumentative at worst. I arrived on morning train, not expecting to check in, but clerk was very curt and rude in telling me I had to wait until 3 p.m. I asked if I could get a non-smoking room as I was booked iinto a smoking room (that was my error, not hers). She said the only way I could do this was with expensive upgrade. Then I asked if I could please leave luggage there and she said yes. I asked about going downtown or to the Sea Life Center. She told me I could take the trolley for $5 and it stopped across the street by another business. So, I followed her directions and then saw the trolley stop on the same side of the street as the hotel, right by it. I couldn't catch it, so I went back to the hotel. I was going to just wait in the lobby and read (she asked if I was just going to stay there until 3 p.m.). I heard the other clerk talk to some other clients about taking the hotel shuttle downtown and asked if I could go and then asked the clerk why she didn't tell me about the free shuttle. She said because I had asked about Sea Life Center not downtown (I walked the three short blocks from downtown to the center just fine). As I was following the other clients out the door followed by the shuttle driver, she said to the driver while shaking her finger at him, "You make sure you arrange an exact pickup time for them and be sure they know they are on their own if they don't meet you then." Van drive and driver were fine and I was at appointed spot twenty minutes ahead of arranged pickup time. Van was 15 min early and other clients also showed up early, so we all went back to the hotel. It is an acceptable hotel and if the other clerk were the only one working there I would recommend this place, but this clerk is simply not worth dealing with. Pay a few extra bucks and stay someplace else, it will be worth it.

  • Stayed: July 2008, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank ournoni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (408)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

348 - 354 of 408 reviews

Reviewed July 29, 2008

Ok, it's the only hotel I've stayed at in Seward, but I honestly can't imagine a better one since there are no 5 star ones there.

Our staying there was a happy accident because the cabin we reserved months ahead of time had a broken hot water heater. It was July 4 week and nearly everyone was full. The Breeze had one room and it was a hot tub room.

I'm not a fan of the locally owned motel and made a personal commitment to never again stay in one after a really bad one. In Alaska you'll be severely limited if you don't stay in a local. I don't want to mislead that The Breeze is even close to a 5 star -- think Hampton Inn/Comfort Inn. They've built onto this hotel 3 times (I was told). The last addition was open only 2 weeks before our stay. Our room was in the annex which was built a year or two before our stay. I don't know how old the oldest part is. The new lobby is very nice.

Our room had king bed, small dorm size refrigerator, good wireless internet, cable/sat tv with flat screen and our bathroom was fabulous (remember that it was a hot tub room). The bathroom was huge, had a two person hot tub, tons of towels, and a separate large shower. The room was good size too.

Unfortunately the only thing bad was the view. We looked out onto another building, but if you looked up there were snow capped mountains where two bald eagles lived and flew regularly. Bring your binoculars!

There was no smell in the room. I'm particularly sensitive and there was no heat smell, gas smell, old smell. nothing. Pets are not allowed. There was plenty of parking. The hotel restaurant serves breakfast all day. I don't know if it included continental breakfast because we were either early (sea kayaking) or sleeping in to recover.

I had to do laundry while I was there and although it was in the other building the laundry room was adequate. There were two washers and two dryers. It was tough to find one free.

I thought The Breeze was more attractive on the outside than the Holiday Inn Express. The Holilday Inn looked old on the outside. The Breeze looked new. If you get in one of the two newer buildings you won't be disappointed with The Breeze Inn.

  • Stayed: June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank georgia1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 21, 2008

Excellent room at a good price. We had a large king bed room for about $110 in early season (mid May) and loved the room. Spacious, clean and all the trimmings. There was no view to speak of, but the place was great and the restaurant was excellent. Take the Major Marine all day tour. It is fabulous.

  • Stayed: May 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kerryogorman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 27, 2008

This was a great motel to stay at while in Alaska. Most lodging I found is low staffed and slower in the winter months but the Breeze Inn was very nice and the service was wonderful. The Front office staff and the general manager were great.
They were very good about apologizing to others about the construction but what growing motel doesn't have a need for expansion. I heard some people complaining about the construction but it never bothered me enough to make me grumpy because I live in a big city and a little construction for a better service and scenery is nothing much if it will make for a better stay next time. People should be understanding of that aspect. So If you can withstand a little noise and want a nice view and friendly hotel service then stay at this hotel. I will say that the only thing i did not like was the morning breakfast service in the restaurant. I got better help for the busing girl than the waitress. It was only 1 particular waitress though, the other morning I had good service, so I guess it is all who you get unless management got a better waitress. The food in the restaurant, though a little more than small big city restaurants, was actually really good. Try the Omelettes Yum.
I would definitely recommend this place and I found that if you are kind and talk to the manager, he was really kind and resolved any issues we had.

  • Stayed: October 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Skysoccr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 18, 2008

We stayed at this hotel during our stay in Seward. It was the perfect location, right across the street from the harbor where the Kenai cruise goes out of. We stayed in the section facing the parking lot, no view but great value and the people in the office and attached gift shop were very nice.
One added bonus. Across Seward Hwy from the hotel, there are many bald eagles to be found in the trees

  • Stayed: August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank okbyila
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2007

This hotel had a great location, but it was way overpriced for the room. We paid a premium to get a mountain view room to find out that they were under construction, building new rooms blocking our view. The construction noise went on all day, thankfully not at night. It was a very average motel room at $179 per night. I think you can do much better than this in Seward.

  • Stayed: June 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Treborcollect
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2007

stayed for 1 night in june, arrived by train left by shuttle. breeze inn very convenient, directly across from harbor, tour booking companies, restaurants, shops, close to train depot. my room was in older building with construction but was not bothered by it. my back window looked out onto highway but also river and mountains, so it was nice. room and bathroom were clean, which is my biggest concern, always. tricking finding entrance and "front desk", but they were helpful. and the price was better than some of the others.

  • Stayed: June 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank travelcrazyl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Seward hotels
0.1 mi away
Harbor 360 Hotel
Harbor 360 Hotel
#1 of 14 in Seward
1,119 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel Seward
Hotel Seward
#4 of 14 in Seward
589 reviews
1.2 mi away
Best Western Plus Edgewater Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Sauerdough Lodging
Sauerdough Lodging
#6 of 14 in Seward
94 reviews
0.5 mi away
Harborview Inn
Harborview Inn
#8 of 14 in Seward
159 reviews
2.5 mi away
Seward Windsong Lodge
Seward Windsong Lodge
#2 of 14 in Seward
809 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Breeze Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Breeze Inn

Address: 303 North Harbor, PO Box 2147, Seward, AK 99664
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Alaska > Seward
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 14 Hotels in Seward
Price Range: $71 - $351 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Breeze Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located at the heart of Seward's Small Boat Harbor. With 86 modern and comfortable rooms to choose from, our lodging options include jacuzzi suites, fully accessible rooms, pet-friendly rooms and standard to deluxe accommodations available year-round. We also have a full service restaurant and lounge, 2 gift shops and espresso shop. Convenient, accommodating and friendly service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your The Breeze Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Breeze Hotel Seward
Breeze Hotel Seward

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing