We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good Enough for your Seward Pit Stop”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of The Breeze Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Breeze Inn
Ranked #5 of 14 Hotels in Seward
Los Angeles, CA.
Level Contributor
24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Good Enough for your Seward Pit Stop”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 25, 2013

An excellent, central location in the heart of Seward, an easy walk to the train depot (altho they do provide a shuttle service too), a doable but not such great walk to the cruise ships (true of all the hotels here), and most other parts of Seward (especially close to most of the restaurants/bars you'll want to visit).

A basic kind of place. The room we had in the back annex (which beats the front part on the highway I would think) was generic and characterless, a step above Motel 6 but not by a lot, clean and comfortable enough, but no frills, to say the least. No breakfast, but a coffee maker in the room (which didn't work, but it was replaced when I left a note on it); my wife's a tea drinker, so wasn't thrilled that no tea bag was provided as well. Our train arrived early, so we had to check our bags, which was fine, but the staff seemed irritated when we had to ask them to open the storage room to retrieve an item or two for our days activities. Overall, the front desk staff seemed rushed and bothered to have to respond to our questions...certainly not gracious and welcoming, but we're talking generic motel here.

In Seward (basically a strip in a stunning natural setting, true of many Alaska towns), the Kenai Fjord tour is a must: one of the highlights of our trip, just stunning. For Exit Glacier, call the Exit Glacier Shuttle Service for a cheaper alternative to a tour ($10 round trip), as you don't need a tour for that. Ray's near the hotel is a good choice for drinks, with a great bar scene and open later than most places here, but the food was mediocre at best.

Bottom line with this place: great location, don't expect much (but then, you're not here for the room anyway, right?).

Room Tip: Annex in the back might be quieter than the front part, with a view of the mountains on one side, th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank EdMcQ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
shelly s, Director of Sales at The Breeze Inn, responded to this review, August 27, 2013
Thank you for taking the time for giving us a review. Aside from your experience with the front desk, Which is not common practice as we strive for a good first impression. We do appreciate feedback that is helpful to the new traveler. Your review is very helpful in that way.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

369 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    74
    150
    95
    32
    18
See reviews for
77
176
23
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (95)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Littleton, Colorado
Level Contributor
251 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 24, 2013

We stayed here on a trip in 2012 and decided to stay here again in 2013. The room had new furniture and had been recently painted. It was clean and comfortable with cable television. The only negative was that the phone didn't work which would have been nice for a wake up call, but we managed with the alarm clock radio. You can't beat the location next to the harbor and the rates are reasonable. We will stay here again on future trips to Seward1

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Scott876
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Franklin, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
122 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 24, 2013

We stayed in the older part of the hotel. It was clean. A bit small. They put us on the 3rd floor which is the only place with a bit of a view. Unfortunately the big hardware store in town blocks the view of the harbor. There is no air conditioning so we had to have the window open. Which was cool enough but very noisy with guests and delivery trucks, etc. We felt a bit insecure as the walkway is right outside the window at this point. It was a room to help keep the price down and ok if you just need a place to sleep. If you are hanging around Seward for awhile you might want to look into one of their nicer rooms in the newer addition. Based on the look of the lobby they are probably very nice. The service was excellent. Very friendly . They let us leave our rental car there while we took a day cruise even though we had checked out. Nice staff.

Room Tip: Depending on your budget check on the rooms in the newer part of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BAR845
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Americus, Georgia
Level Contributor
72 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2013

Located near cruise port, restaurants, & shops... Clean and spacious rooms... Nothing fancy but a good place to stay pre or post cruise...

Please note check in time is 3:30 and unable to check in early... If you are getting in port at 6:00 am, you may want to rent room for night prior...

Room Tip: Request main portion of hotel, not the annex...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Renee B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burbank, California
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2013

Its in nice location very close to harbor, dint have any problem with the rooms for the 1 night that we stayed, if I am getting a good deal I would definitely go for this hotel. They have just renovated the lobby so dont get attracted by that :) The rooms are very basic like you would expect in any other regular Inns. Dint have any pet smell even though we got a Pet Room. So it worked wonderfully for us.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tas2711
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bellefonte
Level Contributor
41 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2013

The Breeze Inn was a perfect place for our stay in Seward. It was very close to the train station. We took the bus back to Anchorage and the bus stop was right across the street. The hotel is right at the harbor so we could walk to the boat tours. Pick up for other tours and the city shuttle was right at the harbor, too. Lots of restaurants and shops only steps away. Very convenient!!

We got a room in the older part without air conditioning, but A/C wasn't necessary, even for a hot July stay. The room was a standard motel room but large, clean, and comfortable. The people were very friendly and helpful. We were on the third floor and had an unobstructed view of the beautiful mountains and the harbor, which was breathtaking! Since this was near the end of our Alaskan trip, I appreciated that the hotel had a guest laundry room so we could wash our clothes before heading home. The cost for the washers and dryers were unbelievably low.

The Breeze Inn is a great place for families traveling on a budget.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the third floor for a great view of the harbor and mountains.
See more room tips
Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank 50Pat2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 10, 2013

We reserved a room for three adults with a harbor view 3 days in advance. When we checked in the lady at the front desk laughed and said "oh I just straightened out your reservation". They then proceeded to tell us our room number which was in the main building ( not a harbor view room). When I complained they said there were no view rooms available and that this was an upgraded room. I was tired and didnt want to argue so we got our belongings and went to the room. The room was a little larger but only had one bed. The front desk acted like we we insane for not wanted this room. They said they did not have any other rooms available with two beds. They seemed totally incapable of realizing that booking a room in advance meant actually having that room waiting for you when you got there. They seemed to not care at all just gave us blank stares when we insisted they find us a room . There were no apologies . When we asked to speak to the manager somehow they decided to look for a room. After much searching low and behold a room with two beds was found.
The room was clean , beds we not comfortable and coffee maker did not work. When I went to check out I asked what amount was charged to my bill. They charged me for the harbor view room ( what a surprise).Again no apologies or explanations.
We love Seward and visit there every year. I would never stay at this hotel again.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Missyr87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Seward hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Seward hotels
1.1 mi away
Hotel Seward
Hotel Seward
#4 of 14 in Seward
4.0 of 5 bubbles 527 reviews
0.1 mi away
Harbor 360 Hotel
Harbor 360 Hotel
#1 of 14 in Seward
4.0 of 5 bubbles 892 reviews
1.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Edgewater Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Sauerdough Lodging
Sauerdough Lodging
#6 of 14 in Seward
4.5 of 5 bubbles 81 reviews
0.5 mi away
Harborview Inn
Harborview Inn
#7 of 14 in Seward
3.5 of 5 bubbles 147 reviews
2.5 mi away
Seward Windsong Lodge
Seward Windsong Lodge
#2 of 14 in Seward
4.0 of 5 bubbles 620 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Breeze Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Breeze Inn

Property: The Breeze Inn
Address: 303 North Harbor, PO Box 2147, Seward, AK 99664
Location: United States > Alaska > Seward
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 14 Hotels in Seward
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Breeze Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located at the heart of Seward's Small Boat Harbor. With 86 modern and comfortable rooms to choose from, our lodging options include jacuzzi suites, fully accessible rooms, pet-friendly rooms and standard to deluxe accommodations available year-round. We also have a full service restaurant and lounge, 2 gift shops and espresso shop. Convenient, accommodating and friendly service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Breeze Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Breeze Hotel Seward
Breeze Hotel Seward

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing