We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Convenient for small boat harbour, BUT” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Breeze Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Breeze Inn
Ranked #5 of 14 Hotels in Seward
Billericay, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
66 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Convenient for small boat harbour, BUT”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 29, 2011

We stayed for 2 nights but our experience was not the best. We found our room was in need of a good clean, particularly vacuuming the carpet by the beds and the table between the beds. Only 1 coffee sachet and certainly not 'Gourmet' as their website states. Never saw a chocolate chip cookie either.

Visitors should be aware that the 'classic' rooms are in fact very basic motel accommodation and are not like the pretty pictures on the website.

Room Tip: Don't book a "Classic" room
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Regular_Traveller63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

369 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    74
    150
    95
    32
    18
See reviews for
77
176
23
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (95)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2011

The best part about the Breeze Inn Hotel is its location in Seward Alaska. Right across from the small boat harbor, with easy access to the Kenai Fjords National Park welcome center, and near wonderful bakeries and espresso shops for breakfast! Our room, in the older part of the hotel, had a musty smell until we opened the windows and let the crisp cool Alaska air in. One very nice surprise was its location right near one of the stops on the free shuttle that transports you anywhere you want to go in Seward. Hotel personnel were very helpful with information about historic walks and recommendations of places to eat. Another very nice service was their willingness to hold our luggage when we arrived and again on the check-out day when the train didn't leave until 6:00 PM.

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the newer part...more expensive, but worth the extra money.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Historian37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wales
Level Contributor
319 reviews
89 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 141 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2011

Lobby is clean and welcoming and that was where the good bits ended. Our room on the third floor was dirty with hairs and other nasty looking things on the floor in the bathroom. I felt the need to keep my shoes on at all times in the room as the carpet looked none to clean. We had to keep the curtains closed at all times as the window opened onto a public walkway. Our room was particularly badly placed as it was opposite the stairwell and was therefore extra noisy.
Linen on beds was clean but no-one has bothered to iron the sheets before making the bed.
It may be cheap but its not worth saving money by staying here.

Room Tip: just drive past
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank filligirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Seward hotels

Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
26 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2011

This place is probably one of the cheaper places that you will find in Seward, but it is not much different than a Motel 6. Unfortunately, there were only smoking rooms left when we made our reservations, which made the stay a bit more unpleasant.

Room Tip: Reserve early to get a non-smoking room
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank VirginiaM09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Utah
Level Contributor
24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 2, 2011

We spent a night here and were pleased with the accommodations. The hotel is right across from the marina. Our luggage was picked up at the train depot and taken directly to the hotel while we went on a day cruise. The staff was very helpful and courteous. We were also able to leave our luggage here the next day after checkout while we did other activities. They have a shuttle available for various places in town. Also, the town of Seward has a free shuttle that has very convenient stops. There was no complimentary breakfast, but there is also a restaurant and a gift shop attached to the hotel. We got very good service at those places too.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank nontravelerUtah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seward, Alaska
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2011

The main lobby is attractive but deceiving, if you're booked into the old motel section. After you pass through the connecting door the carpet goes from clean to dirty and stained. The rooms are small with a partial view of the mountains but you need to keep the privacy curtain open to see this view. Unfortunately the walkway just outside the window allows passings guests a direct view into your room. With the curtain closed it is a dark confining space. The toilet in our bathroom had brown stains from not being cleaned properly and our sheets were questionable. I like to walk barefoot but my feet were getting dirty from the carpet(yuk). The coffee pot was so old and stained we would not use it. All this for 160 + per night. the best part was the new flat screen tv which is not the main attraction in Seward. The housekeeping staff seemed to be mostly teenagers which might explain the brown toilet. Do not stay here.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Punch30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
52 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 19, 2011

I stayed here for two nights as part of a two-week birding tour of Alaska. This hotel has a new part and an old part - I stayed in the older part. It was clean, which I was happy with. The rooms were heated with baseboard heaters which didn't have adequate temp controls. We either got too hot or were too cold. The newer areas were delightful. The lobby was very comfortable and the WiFi was reliable.
The location was great - right across from the dock. I would stay here again, though I would be sure to get a newer room.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lauriefoss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Seward hotels
1.2 mi away
Hotel Seward
Hotel Seward
#4 of 14 in Seward
4.0 of 5 bubbles 524 reviews
0.1 mi away
Harbor 360 Hotel
Harbor 360 Hotel
#1 of 14 in Seward
4.0 of 5 bubbles 883 reviews
1.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Edgewater Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Sauerdough Lodging
Sauerdough Lodging
#6 of 14 in Seward
4.5 of 5 bubbles 81 reviews
0.5 mi away
Harborview Inn
Harborview Inn
#7 of 14 in Seward
3.5 of 5 bubbles 147 reviews
2.5 mi away
Seward Windsong Lodge
Seward Windsong Lodge
#2 of 14 in Seward
4.0 of 5 bubbles 620 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Breeze Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Breeze Inn

Property: The Breeze Inn
Address: 303 North Harbor, PO Box 2147, Seward, AK 99664
Location: United States > Alaska > Seward
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 14 Hotels in Seward
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Breeze Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located at the heart of Seward's Small Boat Harbor. With 86 modern and comfortable rooms to choose from, our lodging options include jacuzzi suites, fully accessible rooms, pet-friendly rooms and standard to deluxe accommodations available year-round. We also have a full service restaurant and lounge, 2 gift shops and espresso shop. Convenient, accommodating and friendly service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline and Cheap Tickets so you can book your The Breeze Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Breeze Hotel Seward
Breeze Hotel Seward

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing