We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A rare treat...”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Seward
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Ballaine House Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #6 of 46 Seward B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 10, 2008

The Ballaine House is a rare thing. It is a comfortable and well run bed and breakfast, to be sure, but it is the proprietor who makes it an unusual experience. We found Marlee willing to go to extraordinary lengths to make sure we, and all her guests, had the best visit to Seward possible.

Restaurant recommendations, discount activity coupons, and tons of helpful advice were par for the course. The food was great, the rooms comfortable (shared baths, though), and the atmosphere was relaxed and casual. We stayed an extra night at the spur of the moment, and we heartily recommend this well-situated B&B as a base from which to explore Seward.

  • Stayed: July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank starrza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (153)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

123 - 129 of 153 reviews

Reviewed August 25, 2008

We stayed at the Ballaine House for 4 nights at the end of July. We had a wonderful stay and Marlee the owner lives up to the praise from other reviews. The breakfast is wonderful and cooked to order. Laundry is available as well. Marlee has a lot of great advice on activities and restaurants and often has discount coupons available. The room and bed was comfortable. The only drawback was the shared bathroom but we were travelling with family so it wasn't a problem for us. The highlight of this B&B is definitely Marlee and her wonderful breakfast!!

  • Stayed: July 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank SeattleJen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2008

We stayed at Ballaine House for two nights in late July, 08. This is an outstanding place and our stay confirmed all the positives that have been written in the past. Marilee is very genuine and caring and will go the extra to insure your stay is most comfortable. The bed was great and the common area very warm and inviting. The location in town was tops. We usually to not stay in Bed and Breakfasts and this is a welcome change. I would use it again if I ever stayed in Seward-no questions asked.

  • Stayed: July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank gofree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2008

Three long distance phone calls and two emails and one week later, could not even get the opportunity to make a reservation! Can understand if, in the depths of winter, this hotel is closed but this is July! Prime tourist season. And if they were booked for the times we requested, at least a returned email to that effect would have been appreciated. No contact whatsoever left us hanging inappropriately as this was our first choice!

Stayed: July 2008
Thank BarbRick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2008

Ballaine house was very nice. We stayed right next to the kitchen and did not have any extra noise. It is a beautiful home and Marlee is terrific! She bought us groceries to fix dinner, lent us warmer coats to go sight seeing, took us around town. She is amazing! This was also the best rate that we found in town.
Seward is small enough you can walk from one end to the other. We also loved this small towm.

  • Stayed: June 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Redokieus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2008

This is the first time that my husband and I had stayed in a B&B together, and it was incredible! As others have said here, you truly feel like you're visiting a close friend when you stay with Marilee at the Ballaine House! She is so hospitable and bends over backwards to make sure your visit to Seward is a good one. The house is a wonderful one, and extremely clean and tidy! The bed was VERY comfortable, and breakfast was delicious! We had a somewhat disappointing dog sledding mishap, so she offered us a coupon for a BOGO on the 3-hour bay cruise, which was super! We saw 9 killer whales! We never would have gone if Marilee hadn't brought it up. Thank you, Marilee for making our first trip to a B&B and our first trip to Seward a warm and memorable one!

  • Stayed: June 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Tucsonexpert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 28, 2008

Marlee is an amazing hostess/innkeeper/concierge/driver/cook whose hospitality made the experience overall an outstanding one. I was at first hesitant because I had read a review that indicated trouble contacting her. This was not my experience. She was responsive, even though we were booking well before the season started for travel in May, and included so much information on local activities plus offers for discounts and help in arranging activities that we were nearly overwhelmed. The house is not fancy, but is cute and homey. Marlee's e-mails helped us decide what room to select, and it seemed there were rooms in several sizes, for travelers with varied budgets.
Marlee was so nice, picked us up at the train station, arranged activities, etc. etc., and her staff were equally friendly and conscientious. Although we normally "do our own thing" when traveling, Marlee arranged for all the guests to visit Exit glacier our first night, and recommended the local Salmon Bake. We had a ball and enjoyed getting to know Marlee and the other guests. She definitely contributed to the convivial atmosphere. As a plus, she is extremely knowledgeable about the area, which added to our enjoyment of our visit there. (Don't miss the aquarium!)

  • Stayed: May 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mswaxcruz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Seward hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Seward
Hotel Seward
#4 of 14 in Seward
587 reviews
0.9 mi away
Harbor 360 Hotel
Harbor 360 Hotel
#1 of 14 in Seward
1,105 reviews
0.4 mi away
Best Western Plus Edgewater Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Bears Den B&B and Lodging
0.8 mi away
The Breeze Inn
The Breeze Inn
#5 of 14 in Seward
408 reviews
3.5 mi away
Steller Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ballaine House Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ballaine House Bed and Breakfast

Address: 437 Third Ave, Seward, AK 99664-2051
Location: United States > Alaska > Seward
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 46 B&Bs / Inns in Seward
Number of rooms: 4
Also Known As:
Ballaine House b&b
Ballaine House Hotel Seward

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing