We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best views possible”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Best Western Plus Edgewater Hotel
Ranked #3 of 13 Hotels in Seward
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 19, 2014

The view from room #303 is astounding: water and mountains everywhere you look. Added to it are Zudy's Cafe and the Alaska Sealife Center. Great walking paths along the bay. Nearby trails into the mountains. A beautiful room, with a very comfortable bed, a nice sofa, a good desk, and a lovely deck.

All of the above are six-stars. This makes up for the sub-par breakfast operation. While the employee who manages the breakfast area is great (she works very, very hard and is very nice) the food is motel typical - no different than what I have found in small town motels in the Midwest.

Kudos to the van drivers, who are extremely helpful and nice. We very much appreciated the rides to and from the Alaska Railroad station. We also appreciated the great service provided by the hotel staff in dealing with the lack of heat the first, cold night. Housekeeping staff did a great job.

The Best Western Plus is right on the bay, and in a very nice area of the Seward Downtown area. Minor shortcomings. If making a return trip to Seward this is were I would stay. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Go ahead and spend a bit more to get one of the rooms with a view of the bay. The view was outstandi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Andrew E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (710)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

439 - 445 of 710 reviews

Reviewed July 17, 2014

Do request a room facing the bay Don't get a room facing the town. It gets loud and rowdy if you want to open a window. Do be very wary of the hotel breakfast. Some items such as bacon and belgian waffles were great but they are offset by nasty breakfast gravy and nasty eggs. Location is everything and though it's no five star hotel, it's in a great spot and normally has the best price of all major hotel chain within 100 miles.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank Michael O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2014

Stayed here for two nights. The lobby is large and well furnished as are the rooms. Our room was on the third floor. There was a microwave and mini refrigerator in the room. Front desk was very friendly.
Tip: You need to find a parking space on the street.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tyler1120
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2014

We stayed 3 nights in a room with a lovely view of the hotel lobby but that was ok with us. It was very clean. As other reviewers have said, it's across from the Sea Life Center and is near the downtown restaurants and shops; it is also near the Seward library/museum and the road to Lowell Point, where we went for a kayaking trip. There is no dedicated parking but on-street parking always seems to be available. We very much appreciated having a fridge and microwave, and we used the laundry facilities.

I was pleased that coffee was always available in the breakfast area. Breakfast is served 6 - 10, which is a time span that is good both for the early risers and the sleepyheads. The breakfast was much more elaborate than I was expecting. You could make your own waffles, or choose from assorted muffins, sweet rolls, etc. Sausage, diced ham, and scrambled eggs were provided also, along with fresh fruit.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
1  Thank heartimes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 12, 2014

This hotel is in a great location in Seward. Ask for a harbor view room it is well worth it. We stayed on the third floor and had such a great view we left the blinds open so we could wake up and look at the great view from our room. It is very close to the Sea Life Center which is a worth wild stop. The breakfast was great and free which was nice. The only draw back is their shuttle service which has very limited hours. If you need to get around before nine you have to wait for a cab, or get another shuttle service to pick you up. My wife and I ended up walking the mile and a quarter to the harbor which was fine for us but the last day we had to go to the ship yard so we had to get a cab. Overall if I visit Seward again this is the place I'm staying. Very clean and close to enough shops and restaurants to travel on foot.

Room Tip: Request harbor view room on the third floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Moguest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 12, 2014

Staying on one side of the hotel allows for water view and if your room is on the other side of the hotel, you have a mountain view! The lobby is large and well furnished as are the rooms. The rooms have black out curtains which are helpful if you visit in the summer. There is a microwave and mini refrigerator in the room and very comfortable beds. It is located just across from the Sea. Life Center and within walking distance of several restaurants. The breakfast that was included, was tasty.

Room Tip: There are interior rooms with no outside view. You should request either mountain or water view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank deborah r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 11, 2014

We share at this hotel after arriving from Anchorage on the train. It was great to have the luggage tagged to be transferred directly to the hotel from the train, and not have to mess with collecting it at the train depot. The room was clean and fresh smelling. The AC was a plus since it was a bit warm for AK and other hotels we stayed at in AK you had to choose leaving the shades and window open to get some cool air, or closing them for some darkness to sleep.
There is a laundry room in the basement. I thought it was a bit expensive, but I suppose it is like everything in AK; $3 for a wash and $2 for a dry, and it took two cycles to dry some tee-shirts and socks. Wi-Fi is included, but is unusalbly slow in the evening when everyone is using it. The breakfast is also included and is good; cereals, eggs, busicuts and gravy, yogurt, waffles and the like.
The location is also very nice. Near the old downtown shops, the Alaska Sea Life center and some parks. It is a bit of a walk to get back to the harbour and train depot.

Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
Thank DublinLJL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Seward hotels
1.3 mi away
Harbor 360 Hotel
Harbor 360 Hotel
#1 of 13 in Seward
1,123 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Seward
Hotel Seward
#4 of 13 in Seward
592 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sauerdough Lodging
Sauerdough Lodging
#6 of 13 in Seward
94 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Harborview Inn
Harborview Inn
#8 of 13 in Seward
159 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Breeze Inn
The Breeze Inn
#5 of 13 in Seward
408 reviews
0.7 mi away
Murphy's Alaskan Inn
Murphy's Alaskan Inn
#10 of 13 in Seward
105 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Edgewater Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Edgewater Hotel

Address: 202 5th Avenue, Seward, AK 99664
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Alaska > Seward
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 13 Hotels in Seward
Price Range: $133 - $318 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Plus Edgewater Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 76
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Best Western, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Best Western Plus Edgewater Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Edgewater
Best Western Seward
Seward Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing