We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best Western Hotel Seward AK” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Edgewater Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
BEST WESTERN PLUS Edgewater Hotel
Ranked #3 of 14 Hotels in Seward
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
36 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Best Western Hotel Seward AK”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 31, 2011

This is a very nice hotel at the end of 5th Ave. The receptionists were friendly, cheerful, and helpful. The lobby has soft listening music, a nice fire place, and a piano. The standard room is clean. Beds are very comfortable. Although my room faces 5th Ave, it was very quiet. Breakfast is standard, and you can make your own waffles. Across the street is a park. You can sit there and watch the boats sail by on Resurrection Bay. The hotel is one block from the Alaska SeaLife Center and one block from a town-like shopping strip. A nice place to walk around. On the whole, this hotel is conveniently located to be with nature and away from major traffic. I would return to this hotel if I go back to Seward.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jwyc8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

606 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    199
    243
    105
    37
    22
See reviews for
190
274
25
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (122)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
FL
Level Contributor
77 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 29, 2011

We enjoyed staying here during our stay in Seward. Location is close to downtown so you can walk to several restaurants, bars, shops and Sea Life Center. Very short drive or free shuttle to the marina area or port. Our room was spacious enough with a chair and ottoman. I
liked the sliding glass door which let in lots of light and fresh air and small balcony you could step out on. One con to our room.... the sink area was soooooooo small that you could fit very few toiletries. It was, however, separate from the toilet and tub. We had a very comfy king bed with plenty of pillows. It sounds, from the reviews and pictures, that each room is a bit different so if you get one not to your liking just ask to change. The breakfast had make your own waffles, microwave breakfast sandwiches, hard boiled eggs, and standard cereal, toast, bagels, packaged Danishes, bananas, oranges, apples, juices. I know it's Alaska but hotel prices are a bit steep in general.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank lisaandandyFL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra
Level Contributor
74 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2011

Just adequate and a bit expensive - room well appointed but cramped with two Queen beds - we were hoping for one bed! Breakfast ordinary - nice restaurants around. Stay again probably not.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PaulACTAustralia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2011

Nice, clean room with decent breakfast. Right next to the Alaska Sealife center, and only a short drive from the cruise ship pier, tours, etc. I imagine that nearby parking can fill up when its busy, but it wasn't a problem for us.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GeorgiAdventures
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gig Harbor, WA
Level Contributor
31 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 23, 2011

This hotel was great. Great location, very clean, big room with lots of room for luggage, and very comfortable bed!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Maureen014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Virginia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 21, 2011

The staff was very friendly and helpful. I was pleasantly surprised at the quality of the room -- it was higher than I had anticipated. Yes, the place is expensive, but it was also the only available room I could find for the first night of my trip! (I stayed at other establishments for the remainder of my stay in Seward.) For this east coast girl, the funniest part for me was signing the waiver saying that I wouldn't gut and clean fish in the bathtub in the room . . . welcome to Alaska!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank aloha36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami
Level Contributor
25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 18, 2011

The hotel is located near the harbor in the down section of Seward. Quite convenient for strolling about. Typical but plentiful breakfast buffet. A good convenience given the price of food in Seward. Some of the rooms on the first floor have not been renovated and have no air conditioning reqiring me to sleep with the window open or be stifled. The front staff moved me the next day. The front desk staff were friendly and went out of their way to provide help and answers to questions. Medium sized rooms were well maintained and had refrigerators and micro waves

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank VictoriaMiami
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Seward hotels
1.3 mi away
Harbor 360 Hotel
Harbor 360 Hotel
#1 of 14 in Seward
4.0 of 5 bubbles 883 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Seward
Hotel Seward
#4 of 14 in Seward
4.0 of 5 bubbles 524 reviews
3.7 mi away
Seward Windsong Lodge
Seward Windsong Lodge
#2 of 14 in Seward
4.0 of 5 bubbles 620 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Sauerdough Lodging
Sauerdough Lodging
#6 of 14 in Seward
4.5 of 5 bubbles 81 reviews
0.7 mi away
Harborview Inn
Harborview Inn
#7 of 14 in Seward
3.5 of 5 bubbles 147 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Breeze Inn
The Breeze Inn
#5 of 14 in Seward
3.5 of 5 bubbles 369 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS Edgewater Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Edgewater Hotel

Property: BEST WESTERN PLUS Edgewater Hotel
Address: 202 5th Avenue, Seward, AK 99664
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Alaska > Seward
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 14 Hotels in Seward
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS Edgewater Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 76
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Best Western, Orbitz, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Edgewater Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Edgewater
Best Western Seward
Seward Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing