We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing location, but not really a B&B”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Seward Front Row B&B
Ranked #15 of 46 Seward B&B and Inns
Reviewed August 16, 2011

You cannot ask
for a better location. You are directly across from the bay. We were on the ground floor. The room
was spacious and well designed with a comfy bed. We only met Tom, but he was very friendly.

I was disappointed with the breakfast offerings. I knew it would be self-serve, but expected more considering the price of the room. The fridge had bread to make toast and milk for cereal. Yet, there was no juice, only a coffee maker. Typically, a B&B offers a hot breakfast. I would list this as a room with a kitchenette.

You are within walking distance of restaurants and the Sea Life Center. The harbor is a short walk as well. We really enjoyed Seward.

  • Stayed: August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank damino123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (38)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

31 - 37 of 38 reviews

Reviewed July 30, 2011

This was my first experience with a bed and breakfast and honestly, I was hoping for more. The home and location were beautiful, but I felt that the hospitality was lacking. I was hoping that the "breakfast" part of a b&b would constitute more than "help yourself to a mini fridge" with some meager items that would not make a full meal and would require us to do the cooking. The few times we ran into Tom and Lori, they did not seem very friendly. They smiled and asked how we were doing, but they seemed to only humor us and didn't really care to have us around. Very dismissive. Maybe we caught them in a bad time, but they did not live up to the friendliness I was expecting from their website statements. Maybe consider this more like a hostel boarding situation with a really beautiful setting?

Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
Thank calgirl2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2011

Location: wow! Corner plot facing the brilliant bay and mountains..close to eateries and a 5 min drive from the kenai tour/hrbour
Service: unparalleled..Tom and heather answered all of our 1000 questions even before we had checked in! and while we were here, they gave fbulous advice on what to do, where to eat an even got us discounts on tours we booked.
Pros: rooms are small but perfect for a couple, service, view, location, perfect hosts, Pvt baths, brilliant house overall
Cons: slightly pricey, bfast is ok

  • Stayed: July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Prosenjit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 24, 2011

Alaska has some of the most beautiful panoramas we have ever seen, and this Bed and Breakfast takes advantage of one of the best we found our whole trip. Seward Front Row B&B sits right on a corner lot with sweeping views across Resurrection Bay with a back drop of to the glacier crowned mountains. There is truly nothing like looking out at that scene eating breakfast and swapping stories with other guests while watching otters bob in the ocean a hundred yards away. Incredible! Tom and Lori were fantastic hosts. As long time Alaskan residents they were full of advice and helped us plan many of our excursions around Seward and the Kenai Peninsula, from booking tours to advice on hiking trails; they even pointed out a few off-the-map hidden gems. Their website says they are pet friendly, which worried me at first, but unlike other places we’ve stayed in that have dogs these rooms were immaculate. The B&B is a five minute walk from all of the down-town restaurants, which is the perfect distance for an evening stroll, while the rooms are on a quite street with hardly any traffic. The fire place in the great room is a fantastic feature. After a long day of sightseeing it was great to curl up by the fire and look out of the big windows and just soak up Alaska. I would definitely go back again!

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Glacier_Bum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 8, 2016
Google Translation

Room Tip: chambre rez de chausser complètement autonome.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2016, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Goffer84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2015
Google Translation

  • Stayed: August 2015, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Yupwup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 2, 2015
Google Translation

  • Stayed: May 2015, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank RodrigoFloripa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Seward hotels
0.1 mi away
Best Western Plus Edgewater Hotel
1.2 mi away
Harbor 360 Hotel
Harbor 360 Hotel
#1 of 14 in Seward
1,105 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Seward
Hotel Seward
#4 of 14 in Seward
587 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Sauerdough Lodging
Sauerdough Lodging
#6 of 14 in Seward
95 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Breeze Inn
The Breeze Inn
#5 of 14 in Seward
408 reviews
0.0 mi away
Sunshine House Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Seward Front Row B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Seward Front Row B&B

Address: 227 Ballaine Blvd, Seward, AK 99664
Location: United States > Alaska > Seward
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 46 B&Bs / Inns in Seward
Price Range: $163 - $444 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sip your morning coffee while viewing otters, sea lions and the occasional whale. New in 2010. The view of the bay and mountains is unsurpassed. We are two blocks from restaurants, shops and the Sea Life Center. The harbor is a 20 min. walk along the shore front bike path. Enjoy the evening sitting around the fire pit watching the world pass by. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing