We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really nice place! Great location”
Review of Nauti Otter

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Nauti Otter
Ranked #4 of 44 Specialty Lodging in Seward
Certificate of Excellence
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
93 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Really nice place! Great location”
Reviewed July 1, 2012

One of the best hostels so far.
Great kitchen, beds, everyThing!!!

Location is very close to town.
Would definitely go back again!

Thanks for great time!!!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ariel N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

178 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    116
    42
    10
    7
    3
See reviews for
29
50
48
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
raleigh nc
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 29, 2012

recently stayed 6/27 &6/28 , absolutely loved the place.. very warm, good mix of people,, Heather is awesome..will return asap, highly recommended.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank herbie'smom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westlake Village, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 21, 2012

Just got back from a 4 day stay at the Nauti Otter and couldn't be happier. Heather (the owner) was relaxed, gracious, knowledgeable, hospitable, pleasant, helpful, and so on. The inn was conveniently located just a few miles north of Seward and a great value. Also, it is just a short drive to Exit Glacier (which was amazing). Breakfast was great with plenty of waffles and oatmeal and eggs, and.... to eat. Met some interesting guest from all over the world while we were there. Went on a fabulous halibut fishing trip thanks to Heather. She called around all the charter companies and found me a great deal for my son and I. Caught our limit of halibut and saw humpback whales, otters, porpoise and other great sealife. Would definitely recommend a stay here and hope to come back next year.

Room Tip: Try staying in the cabins first and then ask Heather to move in the house later if you decide. That...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bryan T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anchorage, Alaska
1 review
Reviewed June 7, 2012

I was spending time in Seward and called for a place for the night. Heather was very accommodating and made me feel at home upon arrival! Her place is very cozy, clean and her breakfast is awesome! It is a great place to connect with other travellers around the fire out back! The cabins are super cute and I will be back to stay in one of those- they were full! You have the best of both worlds- community in the main house or privacy in the cabins! Great set-up! Thanks Heather, look forward to seeing you in the future!

Room Tip: Privacy- go for the cabins, community- go for the hostel upstairs!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Amey143
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlaskanAdventure, Owner at Nauti Otter, responded to this review, August 19, 2012
I wanted to thank you for taking time to post a respose! I'm glad you enjoyed your experience here! Looking forward to seeing you again on your travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Girdwood, Alaska, United States
1 review
Reviewed June 6, 2012

Great people and a fun atmosphere! Nice and clean accommodations, and some unique rooms! The highlight is the complimentary waffles that you can cook yourself- delicious and FUN! When in Seward do as the Sewardians do, get crunked and crash at the NAUTI OTTER!!!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yuzhno-Sakhalinsk
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 5, 2012

What an amazing place! If you want to have a great time, this is the place. If you want peace and quiet, it's maybe not for you. But who wants peace and quiet?! Great owner and employees make the difference at this quirky, fun, very Alaskan establishment.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GIGFY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas, United States
1 review
Reviewed June 5, 2012

I have stayed at Nauti Otter 3 times now, and will go back as many times as I visit AK! This place is the opposite of pretentious and perfect for someone or a group who want an experience and more than just a bed outside of their RV. The house has a fun backyard area where there are often campfire get togethers for relaxing alone and often chatting up with the other guests. The place has a magic way of bringing passers by together, for we all have at least something in common if we ended up a night in Seward, Alaska! Made alot of friends staying a week here. I highly recommend this place not only for the open hearted welcome I received from young, sassy owner Heather, but also because of the other fun, adventurous and kind hearted people the place always seems to attract as guests. A+++! (the website is very straight forward)

Room Tip: cabins outside of house are very quiet, the rooms indoors are fancier and the hostel is great if you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Claire L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Seward hotels
5.2 mi away
Hotel Seward
Hotel Seward
#4 of 14 in Seward
534 reviews
5.3 mi away
Best Western Plus Edgewater Hotel
4.1 mi away
Harbor 360 Hotel
Harbor 360 Hotel
#1 of 14 in Seward
944 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Alaska Creekside Cabins
12.6 mi away
Renfro's Lakeside Retreat
0.7 mi away
Bell in the Woods
Bell in the Woods
#1 of 46 in Seward
224 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nauti Otter? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nauti Otter

Property: Nauti Otter
Address: 13609 Seward Hwy, Seward, AK 99664-9609
Location: United States > Alaska > Seward
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 44 Specialty Lodging in Seward
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Nauti Otter offers accomodations for every traveler. We have private rooms within the Inn, affordable beds in The Hostel or several cozy cabins for you to choose from. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Nauti Otter reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing