We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An must do Alaskan experience! Best trail ride ever.”

Bardy's Trail Rides - Day Tour
Ranked #12 of 52 Outdoor Activities in Seward
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Haliburton, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“An must do Alaskan experience! Best trail ride ever.”
Reviewed May 18, 2012

We rode with Bardy's in June 2009 while on a quick trip to Alaska for my husband to sign up to run the Iditarod. With a dogsled tour business of our own, how companies care for their animals is of huge concern to us. We have never seen trail riding horses in better shape or happier, it is obvious that the horses are dearly loved and receive the best of care and great pride is taken in each of them. We lucked in with a beautiful sunny, windy day and experienced the best trail ride we have ever enjoyed, having rode in numerous places. Everything was outstanding from our horses Orca & L'Amour to our friendly and helpful guide and all her interesting information on old Seward, the area and wildlife. The scenery was out of this world, I can't imagine a trail ride that can offer better as far as riding beside the ocean to crossing steams and shallow rivers (a true delight for riders & horses) to the mountains close by. Being avid nature lovers the icing on the cake was the Bald Eagles EVERYWHERE, flying beside you, overhead, perched nearby and in nests. Bardy's Trail Rides has our highest recommendation for all ages. Alaska is one of our favourite places in the world to visit and we will return someday with our children to Bardy's. My only caution as an avid photographer to any other shutterbugs is your hands will be going nuts wanting to take photos of all the fantastic sights around you and needless to say that is difficult while riding a horse!

Visited June 2011
Helpful?
Thank Tanya M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

142 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    109
    20
    6
    3
    4
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Awesome!”
Reviewed September 20, 2011

We have been to Seward 4 times now, and this year added Bardy's Trail Rides to our itinerary. What a great decision! The kids have stated that this is a "must do" next time we visit Seward! The scenery was beautiful, and our guide was so helpful! We got lucky and had a day with sunshine, but I think it would also be very fun to go on a rainy day. You can never be picky about the weather in Seward! We will definitely see Bardy's horses again!

Visited August 2011
Helpful?
2 Thank Sam R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“One amazing ride!”
Reviewed August 20, 2011

We had an amazing 2-hour ride with our guide Bree. My brother and I went with our two daughters, and it couldn't have been better. The horses were safe and eager, Bree was expert and friendly, and everyone had a fantastic experience. The scenery is out of this world, with the mountains and the bay always nearby. Bald eagles abound, and we even lucked into a family of grizzly bears - from a nice, safe distance of course. Highly recommended!

Visited August 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank Stephen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marstons Mills, Massachusetts
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“A Wonderful Experience”
Reviewed July 25, 2011

The folks at Bardy's provided us with a wonderful vacation experience. The horses were fine and unlike another reviewer's experience we were allowed to let them eat at specific spots which kept then quite content. I am not an experienced rider so I was given an appropriate horse. People were well matched to their horses. The scenery was beautiful and the guide knowledgable. I would definitely recommend this experience.

Visited July 2011
Helpful?
Thank mbrogan_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anchorage, Alaska
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Scenic? Definitely! ...but”
Reviewed July 2, 2011

The good: Seward is definitely a scenic place to go. River and stream crossings were different and fun; the horses were in good shape and well behaved for the most part. The owner and the guide were friendly and it was interesting to see the only building that survived the '64 tsunami.

The disappointing part was the advice to not let the horses eat on the ride. Easy enough for the first half, but as we passed by an eagle, my horse refused to whoa for a picture. Why? Because just ahead is where we stop to eat grass!! After that, nearly every horse had problems with wanting to grab a bite. I finally had to wrap the reins around the cantle to keep him from stopping for a munch. After about 15 min. of that, he finally started to neck rein again. Either they eat and hold up the ride, or they don't.

Visited July 2011
Helpful?
4 Thank blu_h2O_fan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Bardy's Trail Rides - Day Tour? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing