We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing Alaskan yurt experience!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Seward
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Sourdough Sue's Yurts
Ranked #10 of 46 Specialty Lodging in Seward
Reviewed September 3, 2013

A group of 6 of us stayed at the 30' yurt and it was better than anything we could have imagined!

It's a very spacious, bright yurt. Although the walls between the bedrooms and bathroom are partitions, the bathroom is real. It has a real shower, a real sink, a real toilet. The kitchen was great too - it had a small refrigerator/freezer, a microwave, a stove, an electric grill. Cooking utensils and silverware/cutlery were provided. There was also some tea, coffee, and a coffee maker.

The futon expanded into a bed - so did the two lounge chairs in the living room area. The beds were extremely comfortable, and the blankets that were provided for the beds/futon were great too. There was even a towel set for each of us.

The porch area was great - it's covered and there's a propane grill and outdoor chairs for everyone.

Sue was a great person who was extremely nice - so was her husband. She provided us with juice boxes and a delicious homemade banana blueberry cake.

Outside, there is a picnic table and a campfire site. We lit up a campfire and barbequed some fresh salmon we bought at the fish market in Seward (10 minutes drive) using the grill on the porch. It was amazing.

In the morning, we woke up to the nice sound of rain hitting the center dome! We don't get that much in LA.

We will definitely stay here if we come back. I think it's better than staying in Seward itself because that place was FREEZING. It is a little warmer in the wooded area of the yurts.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank thekaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ootimom, Owner at Sourdough Sue's Yurts, responded to this reviewResponded August 21, 2014

thank you so much for staying with us. I love to hear the great times that our guests are sharing with the world.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (63)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

46 - 52 of 63 reviews

Reviewed August 25, 2013

Was very happy with our decision to stay in Sourdough Sue's Yurts. There was fresh blueberry-banana bread and juice boxes on the kitchen table. I was pleased with how roomy it was and how cozy it felt at the same time. We lit the oil stove and it just added to the ambience. We were greeted on our arrival by the owner's three friendly dogs who were welcoming every time we came back to the property. That was a great treat for my daughter. The kitchen had everything you could need and there was a great bbq on the porch.
Would definitely recommend this place- really was a unique setting and a great value!


Only thing missing was a hairdryer- this was the only place we stayed at where one wasn't available. (To be fair we didn't ask if there was one avaialbe but it wasn't in our bathroom)

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CTHEUS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ootimom, Owner at Sourdough Sue's Yurts, responded to this reviewResponded August 21, 2014

Our dogs live for the fact that each day there will be new guests to get pets from. They thoroughly enjoy every minute of it.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2013

I absolutely LOVED Sourdough Sue's yurts! My mom and I stayed for two nights and wish we had stayed longer! The yurt had a kitchen area as well as a barbecue if you wanted to make your own meals! We stayed warm by lighting the oil stove which gave the yurt a nice ambiance! I slept on the futon which was really comfortable. Even though a yurt sounds small and compact it wasn't. It was very spacious! I also loved the three greeters- Uti, Midu and Gaya- the three dogs that belong to Sue. They were very sweet and reminded me of my dog at home! Sue was very nice and helpful! Another plus was the price- we didn't break the bank staying at Sourdough Sue's! Overall Sourdough Sue's yurts are a must if you are staying in Seward

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pennyloper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ootimom, Owner at Sourdough Sue's Yurts, responded to this reviewResponded November 14, 2015

Thank you for your great review!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2013

We stayed in the 2 bedroom yurt. We were very excited to stay here. After all, how many people can say they stayed in a yurt. During our trip to AK, we wanted to stay places other than motels and this fit the bill. The yurt had a full kitchen, big living room and 2 comfortable bedrooms. The walls don't go all the way to the ceiling so you need to be comfortable with the people you're staying with. We founf no issue with this. Bathroom was nice & big. The only complaint I had was that I had wished it was in more of a woodsy, rural location. The property was big, and there were bushes surrounding it, but ouryurt was next to the gravel road. Since the walls are so thin, you could hear every car that drove by. I would suggest bringing earplugs if you are a light sleeper like I am. Don't get me wrong, this place was very nice & comfortable. We would definitely stay here again. Sues was very nice & her baked goodies were VERY good!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PWT69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ootimom, Owner at Sourdough Sue's Yurts, responded to this reviewResponded November 14, 2015

Thank you for your review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2013

We thoroughly enjoyed staying here! The yurts are perfectly appointed, comfortable, spacious and set in a great location. If you are looking for a nice place to stay with friends or family and avoid the motel scene altogether, this is your spot! The porch with a bbq grill made it perfect for grilling fresh salmon! Sue and her husband and dogs are very welcoming and hospitable. Sue also kindly mailed me a vest that I left behind.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JessM510
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ootimom, Owner at Sourdough Sue's Yurts, responded to this reviewResponded November 14, 2015

Thank you for yor great review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 1, 2013

We stayed in the 2BR yurt, which was very nice itself. However, the host, Sue, ruined our stay. We were granted permission to bring 2 dogs with us, as long as they were on leashes, did not go in the yurt, and slept in the car. We gladly agreed to these rules, and followed them. But when we arrived, Sue rudely "greeted" us by yelling at us for having dogs with us in the first place. She refused to discuss the misunderstanding, and instead walked off. When I tried to discuss the situation with her the next morning, she denied ever giving permission to bring the dogs in the first place. She acted extremely unprofessional, unwelcoming, and disrespectful. Sue earned the nickname "Sour Sue" to our group. We still tried to have a fun birthday celebration, but it certainly put a downer on the trip. I would not recommend staying here based on the owners lack of respect for her paying customers.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Aloha907
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ootimom, Owner at Sourdough Sue's Yurts, responded to this reviewResponded November 14, 2015

I had asked these guests if their dogs were controllable when they made the reservation. I was reluctant to say yes to the dogs. Their dogs 3or4 were very aggressive and off of their leashes and it made our two labs very uncomfortable. The guests were young with an I don't care attitude. I wish the new generation had more respect!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 27, 2013

We stayed two nights in the two bedroom yurt. This place is right outside of Seward and close to Exit Glacier park. It had all of the conveniences of home with a kitchen and a nice bathroom. It was a little hard to get use to it being light for most of the night with the glass-covered opening in the top of the yurt. It was nice to have a refrigerator and microwave in order to eat breakfast there before going out for the day. We would definitely stay here again, and I thought the price was very reasonable.

Room Tip: May want to bring a sleep mask if visiting in the early part of the summer.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lisah1058
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ootimom, Owner at Sourdough Sue's Yurts, responded to this reviewResponded November 14, 2015

Thank you for your review

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Seward hotels
3 mi away
Alaska Creekside Cabins
11.8 mi away
Renfro's Lakeside Retreat
6.4 mi away
Hotel Seward
Hotel Seward
#4 of 13 in Seward
593 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.3 mi away
Harbor 360 Hotel
Harbor 360 Hotel
#1 of 13 in Seward
1,144 reviews
6.4 mi away
Best Western Plus Edgewater Hotel
5.4 mi away
The Breeze Inn
The Breeze Inn
#5 of 13 in Seward
408 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sourdough Sue's Yurts? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sourdough Sue's Yurts

Address: 33940 Tressler Ave, Seward, AK 99664-9612
Location: United States > Alaska > Seward
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 46 Specialty Lodging in Seward
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our ( 1 acre property ) has (3) available yurts. Our yurts are provided with all of the amenities. We have (2) 24ft. Yurt's which each sleeps (6) guests. Our new 30ft. Yurt has (2) private bedrooms with double beds and a full family room with a queen futon couch bed and (2) twin chair beds, to sleep (8) guests. Our 30ft. Also has a full kitchen and private bath and also includes all amenities, whick include coffe pot, dishes, towels, pots, pans griddle, fridge, microwave, 4 burner cooking stove and BBQ on deck. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing