We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful Yurt!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Seward
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Sourdough Sue's Yurts
Ranked #9 of 46 Specialty Lodging in Seward
Certificate of Excellence
Long Island, NY
Level Contributor
27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Beautiful Yurt!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 8, 2013

We stayed in the 2 bedroom yurt. We were very excited to stay here. After all, how many people can say they stayed in a yurt. During our trip to AK, we wanted to stay places other than motels and this fit the bill. The yurt had a full kitchen, big living room and 2 comfortable bedrooms. The walls don't go all the way to the ceiling so you need to be comfortable with the people you're staying with. We founf no issue with this. Bathroom was nice & big. The only complaint I had was that I had wished it was in more of a woodsy, rural location. The property was big, and there were bushes surrounding it, but ouryurt was next to the gravel road. Since the walls are so thin, you could hear every car that drove by. I would suggest bringing earplugs if you are a light sleeper like I am. Don't get me wrong, this place was very nice & comfortable. We would definitely stay here again. Sues was very nice & her baked goodies were VERY good!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PWT69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ootimom, Owner at Sourdough Sue's Yurts, responded to this review, November 14, 2015
Thank you for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

54 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    48
    4
    0
    0
    2
See reviews for
24
18
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 2, 2013

We thoroughly enjoyed staying here! The yurts are perfectly appointed, comfortable, spacious and set in a great location. If you are looking for a nice place to stay with friends or family and avoid the motel scene altogether, this is your spot! The porch with a bbq grill made it perfect for grilling fresh salmon! Sue and her husband and dogs are very welcoming and hospitable. Sue also kindly mailed me a vest that I left behind.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JessM510
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ootimom, Owner at Sourdough Sue's Yurts, responded to this review, November 14, 2015
Thank you for yor great review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anchorage, Alaska
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 1, 2013

We stayed in the 2BR yurt, which was very nice itself. However, the host, Sue, ruined our stay. We were granted permission to bring 2 dogs with us, as long as they were on leashes, did not go in the yurt, and slept in the car. We gladly agreed to these rules, and followed them. But when we arrived, Sue rudely "greeted" us by yelling at us for having dogs with us in the first place. She refused to discuss the misunderstanding, and instead walked off. When I tried to discuss the situation with her the next morning, she denied ever giving permission to bring the dogs in the first place. She acted extremely unprofessional, unwelcoming, and disrespectful. Sue earned the nickname "Sour Sue" to our group. We still tried to have a fun birthday celebration, but it certainly put a downer on the trip. I would not recommend staying here based on the owners lack of respect for her paying customers.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Aloha907
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ootimom, Owner at Sourdough Sue's Yurts, responded to this review, November 14, 2015
I had asked these guests if their dogs were controllable when they made the reservation. I was reluctant to say yes to the dogs. Their dogs 3or4 were very aggressive and off of their leashes and it made our two labs very uncomfortable. The guests were young with an I don't care attitude. I wish the new generation had more respect!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis
Level Contributor
19 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 27, 2013

We stayed two nights in the two bedroom yurt. This place is right outside of Seward and close to Exit Glacier park. It had all of the conveniences of home with a kitchen and a nice bathroom. It was a little hard to get use to it being light for most of the night with the glass-covered opening in the top of the yurt. It was nice to have a refrigerator and microwave in order to eat breakfast there before going out for the day. We would definitely stay here again, and I thought the price was very reasonable.

Room Tip: May want to bring a sleep mask if visiting in the early part of the summer.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lisah1058
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ootimom, Owner at Sourdough Sue's Yurts, responded to this review, November 14, 2015
Thank you for your review
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 26, 2013

We loved staying at Sourdough Sue's on our recent trip to AK. It was conveniently located close to Seward. The yurt itself was very clean, the decor was cozy and welcoming, and the bed was super comfy! We were greeted with a loaf of homemade bread, juice, tulips and a birthday card from the friendly hostess, Sourdough Sue. As it is a yurt and in a residential neighborhood, we could hear our neighbors, but it was still worth it to stay in this unique dwelling. We would definitely go back again!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Abigail F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ootimom, Owner at Sourdough Sue's Yurts, responded to this review, November 14, 2015
Thank you for your review
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bethel
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 4, 2013

Myself and two of my cousins never heard of a Yurt before and did not know what to expect and we LOVED it!! It was beautifully decorated, very clean, warm, comfortable and secluded. Sue, her husband and there dogs were very friendly and welcoming, we wished we could of stayed longer! The only thing that we kind of missed was that there was no TV, but somehow we managed to find a lot to talk about. I would recommend that if you are traveling with more than 2 adults that you stay in the 2 bedroom because the bedrooms are separated from the rest of the living space, where as the 1 bedroom is just 1 large room with a separate bathroom. Will definitely stay there again when traveling to Seward,AK.

Room Tip: I would recommend the 2br for 3 or more people.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank deb521
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ootimom, Owner at Sourdough Sue's Yurts, responded to this review, November 14, 2015
thank you for your review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hoboken, New Jersey
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 23, 2012

After discovering yurts a year ago we were so excited to stay in a yurt and definitely not disappointed. The yurt was clean and spacious and bed was very comfortable. We enjoyed using the grill and fire pit at night. Since it is a fancy tent you can definitely hear cars and neighbors, but that did not bother us at all since were weren't expecting a silent retreat in the yurt. Sue is very welcoming and is just a few steps away if you need anything. Excellent stay!

Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Keaves101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ootimom, Owner at Sourdough Sue's Yurts, responded to this review, November 14, 2015
Thank you for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Seward hotels
5.3 mi away
Harbor 360 Hotel
Harbor 360 Hotel
#1 of 14 in Seward
4.0 of 5 bubbles 892 reviews
6.4 mi away
Hotel Seward
Hotel Seward
#4 of 14 in Seward
4.0 of 5 bubbles 527 reviews
6.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Edgewater Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Alaska Creekside Cabins
11.8 mi away
Renfro's Lakeside Retreat
3.3 mi away
Exit Glacier Lodge
Exit Glacier Lodge
#7 of 46 in Seward
4.5 of 5 bubbles 162 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sourdough Sue's Yurts? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sourdough Sue's Yurts

Property: Sourdough Sue's Yurts
Address: 33940 Tressler Ave, Seward, AK 99664-9612
Location: United States > Alaska > Seward
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 46 Specialty Lodging in Seward
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our ( 1 acre property ) has (3) available yurts. Our yurts are provided with all of the amenities. We have (2) 24ft. Yurt's which each sleeps (6) guests. Our new 30ft. Yurt has (2) private bedrooms with double beds and a full family room with a queen futon couch bed and (2) twin chair beds, to sleep (8) guests. Our 30ft. Also has a full kitchen and private bath and also includes all amenities, whick include coffe pot, dishes, towels, pots, pans griddle, fridge, microwave, 4 burner cooking stove and BBQ on deck. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing