We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good place to stay in Seward”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Seward
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Sunshine House Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #10 of 46 Seward B&B and Inns
Nottingham
Level 6 Contributor
556 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 265 helpful votes
“Good place to stay in Seward”
Reviewed June 26, 2013

We spent two nights in the downstairs room at Sunshine, and enjoyed our stay. Mike and Marsha made us welcome, and watching Mike cook breakfast is a performance in itself.

Seward is a super little town, we enjoyed our stay there very much.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Soozee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

86 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    80
    5
    0
    0
    1
See reviews for
9
58
8
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 24, 2013

We had two nights with Marsha and Mike in June and celebrated our wedding anniversary while there. The 'blue' room was very comfortable and the breakfasts - just amazing. We loved the homely atmosphere and the chats in the evening and over breakfast. We would thoroughly recommend Sunshine House to anyone looking for a friendly place to stay in beautiful Seward.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DavidB63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mgustkey, Owner at Sunshine House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, June 25, 2013
David and Aileen,
Thank you so much for the kind words! It was wonderful to meet you. Maybe we can visit Australia on our 28th!
Have a wonderful summer (or is it winter?)!
Mike, Marsha and Butchie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
indy
Level 6 Contributor
867 reviews
123 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 397 helpful votes
Reviewed June 16, 2013

We’ve stayed at a lot of B&Bs and have always been impressed with how friendly our hosts have been. Of course people who aren’t people people probably don’t open B&Bs. But Marsha and Mike were beyond friendly. They are the rare breed of people that make other people feel important. From the moment we arrived we felt valued and cared for. That doesn’t happen often. We arrived late (I was unable to call due to losing cell phone coverage) but they brushed it aside. We also arrived soaked due to a sometime waist high trudge through the snow to Exit Glacier. They took our shoes and had them dried by the morning. Then, and this is the incredible part, lent us their shoes so we could go to dinner. The next day had our shoes and coats not dried they had boots and coats ready for us to borrow.

Although we had booked the room upstairs they gave us the nicer downstairs room with an en suite bath. This was because they had no other guests. I’m a light sleeper and always try to find the quietest place in town. This was very quiet. We heard no noise from outside (it’s in a quiet part of town) and only once heard noise inside. It was the dog on the stairs. A not, unpleasant sound.

The room was spacious with a very comfortable bed and a large bathroom. They had lots of extras like hand lotion, nice soaps and shampoos and stuff for the bath.

The whole house is filled with fantastic art. Mostly originals by local artists the couple know.
We love art and this while being a real feast for the eyes also made us feel even more at home.

Breakfast was as good as or better than any we’ve had, ever. Mike had several bowls of mise en place ready to go and made us scrumptious omelets as good as they get. We also had homemade blueberry muffins, cod, homemade sausage, homemade salmon spread, fresh fruit (pineapple, pear, strawberry), a basil-tomato-feta plate, tea and OJ. The salmon spread was one of the most amazing things I’ve ever eaten for any meal. Marsha wrapped some muffins for us to take with us and we were grateful for those as we had a long day and they were so good.
The next day we substituted scrambled eggs and pancakes for the omelot, bacon for the sausage and potato casserole for the cheese plate. The pancakes came with homemade orange-honey sauce. I am not exaggerating when I say that the breakfasts here were the best of any meal we had during our 1 week trip to Alaska.

We are not terribly social people, always wondering how people spend an evening talking but our time with Mike and Marsha flew by. They made conversation easy and we learned a lot about them, Seward and living in Alaska and shared a lot as well. I can’t think of many B&Bs we’ve stayed at (and many of them lovely) that meet the quality of the accommodation or care that we received here. Thanks Mike and Marsha for a great stay and making our trip to Alaska better in ways we couldn’t have imagined or planned.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tradIndy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mgustkey, Owner at Sunshine House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, June 25, 2013
Brad and Susan,
What wonderful, kind words! Thank you so much. it was such a pleasure to meet you. You really were very wet and cold when you arrived; actually dripping!
I hope the rest of your Alaska vacation was wonderful!
Marsha, Mike and Butchie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Evanston, Illinois
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed September 29, 2012

My husband and I stayed at Sunshine House for two nights in September, 2012, and had a wonderful time there. It’s a lovely, nicely-decorated house in a great location - a stone’s throw from Resurrection Bay and a few minutes walk from downtown Seward. The room (we stayed in the “blue” room) was clean and comfortable. I loved the nice bath products and the Alaska-related reading material on the bedside tables.

The hosts, Marsha and Mike, are such warm and friendly people, and made us feel right at home. They were helpful when we had questions about Seward and made great restaurant recommendations. (If you like old-school diners, you simply must try The Smoke Shack and get a pulled pork sandwich. We also really enjoyed Ray’s Waterfront Restaurant for great food, service, and views). We learned so much about Alaska from talking with Mike and Marsha over breakfast. They have been there for many years and raised their family there, and have such interesting stories to tell.

I am almost at a loss for words to describe how good the breakfasts are at Sunshine House. We have stayed at many B&Bs in our travels over the years, and have never had a breakfast as delicious, creative, and large as the ones Mike cooks up at Sunshine House. One day, we had pancakes, smoked salmon, homemade sausage with moose meat, made-to-order omelets, fruit, smoothies, and salmon spread with crackers. The second day, we had wonderful homemade salmon-cakes, fresh sliced tomatoes, bacon, more smoothies, fruit.... And they'll offer you seconds and thirds if you have enough room. The kitchen is configured such that the guests can see Mike as he cooks and explains about the recipes he's created and where the food came from, etc. The setup makes it easy to interact with Mike and Marsha and other guests and share stories of their travels and Alaska. We could have stayed and talked for hours.

Oh, and Butch the dog is so adorable and well-behaved.

Our only slight complaint is that they didn't make the room up for us after the first night. Definitely not a big deal, though.

Some of our favorite memories from our 2-week Alaska vacation are of our time at Sunshine House. We highly recommend it, and would stay there again in a heartbeat if we are ever lucky enough to return to Seward someday.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 777884444
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Putnam, Connecticut
Level 6 Contributor
209 reviews
88 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 195 helpful votes
Reviewed August 7, 2012

The hosts, Mike and Marsha, made our stay at the Sunshine House very special. They are both very personable and seem genuinely concerned that their guests enjoy their stay. The home-made breakfasts -- cooked by Mike, who said he loves to experiment with new recipes -- were the best I have had in a B&B. We paid $270 for two nights in the downstairs room with private bath. It was very clean and completely comfortable, as was the rest of the house. Wi-fi worked without a hitch. They have done a lot of renovating inside the house, so don't be put off by the exterior, which does not look quite as nice. The house is just a block from the downtown area and a short walk to the Sealife Center. The boat harbor and cruise ship terminal are about a mile away.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RoadTripRoger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Concord, North Carolina
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed July 21, 2012

My husband and I stayed at the Sunshine House B&B for three nights prior to our cruise out of Seward. Mike & Marsha went above and beyond during our entire stay. We stayed in the upstairs two rooms, my in-laws in one and us in the other, sharing the bathroom. We had delicious breakfasts each day, a comfortable and inviting room to stay in and a wonderful time visiting with them and learning more about the area. The location is perfect to walk to the Alaska SeaLife Center, the downtown restaurants and shops as well as the shoreline. I would highly recommend staying with them when you are visiting Seward! A great value with a personable experience.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank beverlya74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denison, Texas
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed July 3, 2012

From the moment we made the reservations to the moment we said goodbye, we truly enjoyed our experience with the Sunshine House BNB. Mike and Marsha made us feel at home and the food was great. I am not a fish person and I actually ate all of my homemade smoked salmon pattie for breakfast. Butchy the wonder dog is so sweet and well behaved. We stayed upstairs and were very comfortable.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NEWLKAT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Seward hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Seward
Hotel Seward
#4 of 14 in Seward
543 reviews
0.1 mi away
Best Western Plus Edgewater Hotel
1.2 mi away
Harbor 360 Hotel
Harbor 360 Hotel
#1 of 14 in Seward
996 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Sauerdough Lodging
Sauerdough Lodging
#6 of 14 in Seward
87 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Breeze Inn
The Breeze Inn
#5 of 14 in Seward
386 reviews
0.7 mi away
Murphy's Alaskan Inn
Murphy's Alaskan Inn
#8 of 14 in Seward
103 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunshine House Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunshine House Bed and Breakfast

Property: Sunshine House Bed and Breakfast
Address: 228 6th Ave., Seward, AK 99664
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Alaska > Seward
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 46 B&Bs / Inns in Seward
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 1
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to 2011 at Sunshine House Bed and Breakfast. We aim to make your stay wonderful.We have three rooms, but only accommodate two groups at a time. The downstairs room has its own bath. All rooms have queen-sized beds. The two upstairs rooms share a bathroom so it is kind of a suite.Full breakfast made to order if we can. One minute to Ressurection Bay. Two minutes to historical downtown Seward. One mile from boat harbor. We are both 30 year residents of Alaska. See you soon! ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing