We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Part of the Family”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Sunshine House Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #9 of 46 Seward B&B and Inns
Reviewed March 30, 2011

My wife and I stayed at the Sunshine House for our 15th anniversary. Mike and Marsha made us feel like we were part of their family. Meals were outstanding as was the company and conversations. Meals were casual and we hung out with the other guests and the hosts. Mike and Marsha gave us great insider information about restaurants and adventures that were near by. If we ever make it back to Alaska, we will schedule our trip around the availability of rooms at the Sunshine House!

Room Tip: Any room will be great! We stayed downstairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank holmberg17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (94)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

82 - 88 of 94 reviews

Reviewed November 21, 2010

We had a great 2 nights stay at Sunshine House, after disembarking from our cruise. Mike and Marsha were fantastic and very "down to earth. They are very friendly and gave us local insight to a beautiful town. The view from the back deck is breathtaking. Both are fantastic cooks and we especially loved the salmon quiche for breakfast. The room was comfortable and the micro sheets were just heaven. We have recommended Sunshine House to all our friends. Mike and Marsha were very hospitable and we were disappointed that we were not staying longer.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stefof
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2010

I and my husband stayed with Marsha and Mike for 3 nights and it was absolute delight...she has a great room that is cozy and comfortable with all the ammenities one would need and great breakfast..her toasted waffles are highly recommended..and potatotes...we loved it and if we come by again to Seward..we know where we are going...she is so much fun to talk to and loved 'Butchy"the dog...he was adorable...highly highly recommend it....

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rasna10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 24, 2010

We had to arrive very early on the day we were supposed to stay. We hoped to drop our luggage and walk around the town. The hosts were still serving breakfast to the guests from the night before and not only were they very gracious about letting us fill their living room with luggage, they insisted we join them for breakfast before we went out sight-seeing. Their concern is the bed and breakfast in B&B and both were wonderful. Breakfast is made to order and the bed was very comfortable. If you stay in one of the upstairs rooms with the antique quilt, please be careful-it was made by her grandmother. We used the comforter in the closet instead. These two teachers are slowly renovating this older home and some areas may seem lacking, but their hospitality and warmth more than makes up for any lack of amenities. They even took all four of us and all our luggage to our cruise ship the next morning. Within walking distance of the Sealife Center and downtown. Free shuttle around town is a block away. The library shows a film every afternoon about the earthquake-I think it's $3.00

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank khay3244
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2010

I stayed at Sunshine House during a brief stay in Seward. The room was very comfortable and the hosts friendly and helpful. It's a good value, and I would recommend for a brief stay or longer trip.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kerfin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2010

My daughter and I were in Seward for one night. We were looking for a nice, clean place close to the water and town center. We also were looking for something charming and a good price. Well, we got so much more than we expected. Our hosts, Mike and Marsha (and Butch, the dog) were so hospitable; it felt like we were staying with friends. Mike's breakfast was awesome. He made a wonderful, healthy breakfast drink that we never would have gotten elsewhere. Marsha's decor was lovely. I enjoyed looking at all the art they had collected including Marsha's beautiful quilt on the bed. We hope to stay there again and will definitely let our friends know about this charming find.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DP52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2010

I recently stayed seveal days here and have no complaints except I would like to have stayed longer! Scrumptious food, especially smoked salmon quiche and the Belgium waffles! Beautiful home, comfy beds, great hosts with an adorable dog, Butchie. Can't wait to go back.
Carol from Oregon

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank youngcarol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Seward hotels
1.2 mi away
Harbor 360 Hotel
Harbor 360 Hotel
#1 of 14 in Seward
1,119 reviews
0.1 mi away
Best Western Plus Edgewater Hotel
3.7 mi away
Steller Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Exit Glacier Lodge
Exit Glacier Lodge
#6 of 45 in Seward
187 reviews
3.6 mi away
Alaska Creekside Cabins
5.7 mi away
Bell in the Woods
Bell in the Woods
#1 of 46 in Seward
280 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunshine House Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunshine House Bed and Breakfast

Address: 228 6th Ave., Seward, AK 99664
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Alaska > Seward
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 46 B&Bs / Inns in Seward
Price Range: $152 - $165 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 1
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to 2011 at Sunshine House Bed and Breakfast. We aim to make your stay wonderful.We have three rooms, but only accommodate two groups at a time. The downstairs room has its own bath. All rooms have queen-sized beds. The two upstairs rooms share a bathroom so it is kind of a suite.Full breakfast made to order if we can. One minute to Ressurection Bay. Two minutes to historical downtown Seward. One mile from boat harbor. We are both 30 year residents of Alaska. See you soon! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Sunshine House Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing