We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A lovely little place”
Review of Exit Glacier Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Exit Glacier Lodge
Ranked #4 of 44 Specialty Lodging in Seward
Certificate of Excellence
maryland
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“A lovely little place”
Reviewed June 10, 2013

Very nice little place. Feels like historic Alaska with the bonus of the owners personal touch everywhere making it feel comfortable. She was there personally making breakfast for people the morning after we checked in. I am so glad that we did not book an impersonal chain type hotel.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank amit577
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

169 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    113
    45
    9
    1
    1
See reviews for
49
78
2
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Nashville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
201 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
Reviewed June 9, 2013

4 Adults stayed in 2 rooms for 3 nights in June 2013. We loved this lodge. The owners were extremely friendly and helpful. Bend over backwards type of people. The breakfast was personally cooked to order (not your typical continental breakfast!). Large breakfast with eggs, fruit, sausage, waffles, pastries, cereal, coffee and juices (all cooked to order if desired).

The decor is cozy and warm. Older pictures and cabin feel. Very affordable. Large king beds with a small bathroom. Stand up shower, no tub. Separate sink is outside the bathroom and makes it a little easier. Cable and flat screen TV. Plenty of hot water.

Staff is helpful and will give you advice, help and guidance. I highly recommend this lodge. We loved it.

Room Tip: We stayed in the lodge, not the cabins. Second floor may be tougher to walk up the stairs, but then...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stephen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sonora, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed June 9, 2013

We were met by Sarah the owner and made to feel very welcome. The lodge is very clean and in "like new" condition. Our room was large and comfortable with a great king size bed. Breakfast was served in the dining area which was a good way to start the day. Since we were fishing, trays of meats, cheeses, and breads were available to make the lunch "your way." We had dinner at the Salmon Bake just next door. The Exit Glacier Lodge will be our choice every time we are in Seward. We are already planning a return trip for August, 2014.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jandr4797
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brownsburg In
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed February 13, 2013

We enjoyed our stay at the Exit Glacier Lodge. The folks there were helpful and breakfast was good. I took an early morning walk to see Exit Gl;acier and came face to face with a brown bear. Luckily for me he took one look at me and ran the other way!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BrownsburgBoiler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
washington dc
Level Contributor
88 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed October 5, 2012

We stayed for 2 nights in small cabin by Exit Glacier lodge. These are more private than staying at the lodge and worked very well for our family of 3. The cabin had a Qn bed and 2 single beds in bunk style.
There was a small fridge and microwave and coffee maker. We were able to have breakfast in the cabin before going out for the hikes or to Seward.
There was even a cable TV and free wifi which were great amenities specially since our son got to see his NFL team win the first game of the season !!
It is about 3 miles north of Seward so it is much less crowded and more private than staying in Seward.
We also liked the Salmon Bake restaurant on site (separate review).
I would recommend it highly for folks wanting some solitude yet be close enough to Seward for boat trips etc.

Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank TJm0m0306
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
123 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed September 9, 2012

We really enjoyed our stay at the lodge. It's not in town, halfway to the exit glacier, but we saw that as a plus as it was quieter and better value. The Salmon Bake onsite is highly recommended and is a great dinner option if you don't want to drive after a long day sightseeing. Reception staff were very friendly and helpful.

Rooms were decently sized, comfortable and clean. Breakfast is continental and they will make you waffles if you ask.

Only minor criticism is that wifi didn't work in our room (ok in most areas). Recommend getting a room close to reception if this is important to you,

Room Tip: Rooms far from the reception area don't get wifi.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank nellpapa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris
Level Contributor
167 reviews
123 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
Reviewed September 4, 2012

We spent four nights at the Exit glacier Lodge. We booked a double room at the 1 st floor but staff gave us a the room n°1. The room looks like a motel room: a bed with a little old tv and a bathroom for disabled people. The breakfast was good and the staff was nice. Seward is a very good spot. We hiked twice: The nice Lost Lake trail and the easy Harding Ice field with nice views. But the most beautiful activity was the cruise we saw: Seals, whales, orcas, dolphins, puffins and ....

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Julnad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Seward hotels
3.4 mi away
Hotel Seward
Hotel Seward
#4 of 14 in Seward
534 reviews
3.4 mi away
Best Western Plus Edgewater Hotel
2.2 mi away
Harbor 360 Hotel
Harbor 360 Hotel
#1 of 14 in Seward
944 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Seward Windsong Lodge
Seward Windsong Lodge
#2 of 14 in Seward
660 reviews
2.8 mi away
Harborview Inn
Harborview Inn
#9 of 14 in Seward
150 reviews
0.3 mi away
Alaska Creekside Cabins
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Exit Glacier Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Exit Glacier Lodge

Property: Exit Glacier Lodge
Address: Exit Glacier Road (Herman Leirer Road), PO Box 3151, Seward, AK 99664
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Alaska > Seward
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 44 Specialty Lodging in Seward
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Exit Glacier Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Brand New ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Exit Glacier Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Exit Glacier Hotel Seward

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing