We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay and will be going back next year.”
Review of Exit Glacier Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Exit Glacier Lodge
Ranked #6 of 46 Specialty Lodging in Seward
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 9, 2013

We were met by Sarah the owner and made to feel very welcome. The lodge is very clean and in "like new" condition. Our room was large and comfortable with a great king size bed. Breakfast was served in the dining area which was a good way to start the day. Since we were fishing, trays of meats, cheeses, and breads were available to make the lunch "your way." We had dinner at the Salmon Bake just next door. The Exit Glacier Lodge will be our choice every time we are in Seward. We are already planning a return trip for August, 2014.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jandr4797
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (187)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

125 - 131 of 187 reviews

Reviewed February 13, 2013

We enjoyed our stay at the Exit Glacier Lodge. The folks there were helpful and breakfast was good. I took an early morning walk to see Exit Gl;acier and came face to face with a brown bear. Luckily for me he took one look at me and ran the other way!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BrownsburgBoiler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 5, 2012

We stayed for 2 nights in small cabin by Exit Glacier lodge. These are more private than staying at the lodge and worked very well for our family of 3. The cabin had a Qn bed and 2 single beds in bunk style.
There was a small fridge and microwave and coffee maker. We were able to have breakfast in the cabin before going out for the hikes or to Seward.
There was even a cable TV and free wifi which were great amenities specially since our son got to see his NFL team win the first game of the season !!
It is about 3 miles north of Seward so it is much less crowded and more private than staying in Seward.
We also liked the Salmon Bake restaurant on site (separate review).
I would recommend it highly for folks wanting some solitude yet be close enough to Seward for boat trips etc.

Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
2  Thank TJm0m0306
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2012

We really enjoyed our stay at the lodge. It's not in town, halfway to the exit glacier, but we saw that as a plus as it was quieter and better value. The Salmon Bake onsite is highly recommended and is a great dinner option if you don't want to drive after a long day sightseeing. Reception staff were very friendly and helpful.

Rooms were decently sized, comfortable and clean. Breakfast is continental and they will make you waffles if you ask.

Only minor criticism is that wifi didn't work in our room (ok in most areas). Recommend getting a room close to reception if this is important to you,

Room Tip: Rooms far from the reception area don't get wifi.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank nellpapa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2012

We spent four nights at the Exit glacier Lodge. We booked a double room at the 1 st floor but staff gave us a the room n°1. The room looks like a motel room: a bed with a little old tv and a bathroom for disabled people. The breakfast was good and the staff was nice. Seward is a very good spot. We hiked twice: The nice Lost Lake trail and the easy Harding Ice field with nice views. But the most beautiful activity was the cruise we saw: Seals, whales, orcas, dolphins, puffins and ....

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Julnad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2012

My family spent a night here on our recent Alaska trip. The cabin was cozy for the four of us, but fine for our needs. Dinner at the Salmon Bake Restaurant on site was tasty and affordable. What really impressed us was the service. The owner was extremely helpful in suggesting options for getting to the Kenai Fjords National Park visitor center for an early morning hike, offered to prepare a lunch for me to take, was back before 5 a.m. preparing breakfast (which she didn't charge me for when she saw how little I actually ate) and even drove my wife and kids to the visitor center herself. That personal touch really makes a big difference!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SteveHarbula
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2012

After spending some time driving through and around Seward, I concluded Exit Glacier Lodge was the best place to stay. Excellent accommodations and location. Very close to downtown and charter fishing boats and also very close to National Parks. Staff is extremely friendly and the rooms and common areas were always very clean.
Vince and Sarah Benjamin are the Owners of Exit Glacier Lodge and are wonderful Hosts.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank frank d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Seward hotels
3.4 mi away
Best Western Plus Edgewater Hotel
2.2 mi away
Harbor 360 Hotel
Harbor 360 Hotel
#1 of 13 in Seward
1,133 reviews
3.4 mi away
Sauerdough Lodging
Sauerdough Lodging
#6 of 13 in Seward
94 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Hotel Seward
Hotel Seward
#4 of 13 in Seward
592 reviews
0.4 mi away
Steller Bed and Breakfast
0.3 mi away
Alaska Creekside Cabins
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Exit Glacier Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Exit Glacier Lodge

Address: Exit Glacier Road, PO Box 3151, Seward, AK 99664
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Alaska > Seward
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 46 Specialty Lodging in Seward
Price Range: $131 - $406 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Exit Glacier Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Brand New ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz and Travelocity so you can book your Exit Glacier Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Exit Glacier Hotel Seward

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing