We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent bed and breakfast”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Seward
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
A Cottage on the Bay
Ranked #29 of 44 Seward B&B and Inns
Level Contributor
66 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Excellent bed and breakfast”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 13, 2012 via mobile

Beautiful view. Clean, owner was very kind& lives right on the property if you need anything. We loved it.
Highly recommend staying here

Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Lisa D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

8 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    7
    1
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
5
Couples
0
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, CA
Level Contributor
43 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 9, 2011

Our extended family of 7 stayed at the Cottage in late August. This was the first time that we have stayed someplace other than a hotel so I was a little apprehensive about staying at someone’s house. The main reason was to have cooking facilities as my son has numerous food allergies which makes it difficult for eating out. After seeing Seward, there didn't appear to be too many hotel options, so we were very glad we chose the cottage. While the weather didn’t really cooperate with us, we had a great stay. The indoor fireplace came in handy and Sue provided us plenty of firewood. There also was plenty of space and we utilized the two hide a beds in the family room and upstairs landing area. The last night we were there the weather cleared up a little and we were able to enjoy the outside fire pit and see a family of 3 sea otters and a harbor seal swim by the cottage. Sue also was very attentive and checked in on us daily. The last day we were there, she heard that a humpback whale was sighted swimming north of miller’s landing and she came to the cottage to let us know. We didn’t end up seeing it but it was nice of her to keep us in the loop. The cottage has a well water reservoir, but since it rained so much when we were there we didn’t run out of water at all. My son enjoyed throwing balls to Sue’s two dogs on the beach.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jill09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North of Boston, MA USA
Level Contributor
80 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 17, 2011

We stayed at Sue's Cottage on the Bay in Seward mid-June: two adults and two kids, ages 12 and 13. The location is amazing -- right ON beautiful Resurrection Bay. The cottage is well-equipped with everything you think you need, and things you never ever thought you would use! It was helpful to have a stock of things like ketchup and spices and even some snacks already there, which made preparing our meals a lot more convenient. Sue is a wonderful host, very knowledgeable about the area, and helpful with suggestions. The kids loved playing with Sue's two friendly dogs, too. Everything was great, and there's even excellent wi-fi service at the cottage. A great place; we loved it!!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cindy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bartlett, Illinois
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2010

Our family spent 4 nights at "Sue's Place" inthe middle of July. This was our 4th trip to Alaska, and our 3rd to Seward, and this is by far the best place we've stayed. The location speaks for itself - right on the beach of stunning Resurrection Bay at the end of the road, but only a block to Miller's Landing for charters, kayak rentals, etc... The cottage is appropriately named, as it has a terrific "homey" feel, while giving the 4 of us (2 teenaged boys) plenty of space. The kitchen was well stocked, great fireplace, and WiFi. Modern washer and dryer came in very handy, too! Sue, and her dogs, Buster and Bentley, could not have been friendlier. Sue was also very helpful with ideas and suggestions. She seemed to always be around when we had a question, while providing us all the privacy we sought. We will return, for sure!!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AlaskaBums
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dallas
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2009

My husband and I and our 5 kids stayed at the Cottage on the Bay this August and we had a wonderful time. The proprietor, Sue, made us feel comfortable and had the house stocked with everything we needed to cook our breakfast and dinners at home. We had great views of the bay while we ate our reindeer stew and our just caught rockfish (now roasted and stuffed). The house was also full of books and games and the kids enjoyed that. However, their favorite thing to do was to look out the window to see if there was a seal out there. With 5 kids, sometimes it is hard to get motivated to get in the car and do another thing. In this house, we could just go outside and roast marshmallows and have a glass of wine. This house is great for a family or for people who like to have their own place and to imagine what it would be like to live in such a beautiful home.

Helpful?
1 Thank yes5kids
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dassel, MN
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 14, 2009

Aunt Sue is going to let you use her cottage on Resurrection Bay! It's a wonderful, homey cottage, full of her books and memorabilia, right on the rock beach. You'll see otters, seals, and even whales swimming by, and eagles will stroll along the water's edge. Snow-capped mountains rise straight up from the water, and Seward dozes at the end of the end of the bay. You're invited to use anything in the cottage, including the food, but you are going to spend a lot of time staring, open-mouthed, at the incredible views from every window. Not for someone looking for a pristine hotel room; this is someone's charming and well-loved home. A highlight of our entire trip.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank moxiesmom_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Seward hotels
3.4 mi away
Harbor 360 Hotel
Harbor 360 Hotel
#1 of 14 in Seward
4.0 of 5 bubbles 892 reviews
2.2 mi away
Hotel Seward
Hotel Seward
#4 of 14 in Seward
4.0 of 5 bubbles 527 reviews
0.1 mi away
Angels Rest on Resurrection Bay, LLC
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.8 mi away
Bell in the Woods
Bell in the Woods
#1 of 44 in Seward
5.0 of 5 bubbles 207 reviews
5.6 mi away
Exit Glacier Lodge
Exit Glacier Lodge
#7 of 46 in Seward
4.5 of 5 bubbles 162 reviews
2.2 mi away
Sea Treasures Inn
Sea Treasures Inn
#19 of 44 in Seward
4.0 of 5 bubbles 67 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to A Cottage on the Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about A Cottage on the Bay

Property: A Cottage on the Bay
Address: 13710 Beach Drive, Seward, AK
Location: United States > Alaska > Seward
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 44 B&Bs / Inns in Seward
Number of rooms: 1

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing