We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wild place, for wild people, nicest hosts ever !”
Review of Kayakers Cove

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Seward
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Kayakers Cove
Ranked #27 of 45 Specialty Lodging in Seward
Chambéry
Level Contributor
46 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Wild place, for wild people, nicest hosts ever !”
Reviewed October 6, 2013

How to speak right about such an incredible place, and such nice people !?

Raileen and his husband Mike are just the perfect hosts! They are extreemly welcoming and helpfull, and really treat you like friends !
We had problems booking a water taxi and they helped us from A to Z, they also accepted to postpone our booking due to the lack of water taxis without asking for any supplement whatso-ever. We waited one day onland in Valdez and their cofee shop "resurect'art" was the most homey place tp wait in while the rain was pouring outside. Time just ran by...

Once arrived at kayarkers cove it was just incredible. The place is so wild and yet so comfy! Mike who built the house himself has really done an amazing job. Many books, many bord game, sweet deco ... every thing is there for you to feel warm and nice. Of course, you share your space with other kayakers, but it's a great way of meeting lots of people from around the world. People of all ages.
The cove is incredible... deep blue water, yellow seeweeds, spruce trees ... and really good ops of seeing wild life while kayaking : whales, orcas, seal and sea lions ... and lots and lots of puffins.
It's really one of the most amazing way to discover the bay!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank World-Cakita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

19 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    17
    1
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
4
4
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Fairport, New York, United States
Level Contributor
39 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed July 6, 2013

Kayakers Cove offers hostel-style lodging in the main building and a couple of separate cabins, but the real attraction is the location well away from Seward near the mouth of Resurrection Bay. You'll need to use a water taxi to get there and back. The beauty of the location is seen in the surrounding forest which grows up the steep incline of the rocky hills above, and in the waters you traverse if you go kayaking. Whales, seals, sea lions, otters, and sea birds may all be seen from your kayak if your timing is right. Kayaking itself is fun, but what you can see kayaking from this location transcends other kayaking experiences.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DanREvans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairbanks, Alaska, United States
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 1, 2013

Kayaker's Cove is a fantastic little hideaway near Seward, Alaska. It's an annual trip for myself and friends. It's inexpensive, the owners, Mike and Raylene O'Connors, are fantastic people who make your stay comfortable and safe. It is a wonderful place to show out of state visitors some of the most beautiful views in Alaska. I can't recommend it enough! Look the site up online to see photos. We meet new and interesting people each year and even in the down time enjoy reading, playing cards, and being relaxed. I"m an Alaskan and i still enjoy getting a break at Kayaker's Cove.

Room Tip: There are cabins for rent or the option of sleeping in the hostel section above the shared cooking a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Molli S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
58 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed June 27, 2013

Stayed for 5 nights in June on a dive trip in a party of 8 friends; the weather was great, sunny and warm for most of the time and the views were simply breathtaking. Yes, it's rustic; the water is from a waterfall, the loo is a long drop outhouse that can get a bit whiffy (but it's practically in the open air with a great view!) and the beds in the main cabin where we were staying are mattresses in an open plan loft. But the setting is picturesque, you can see whales and sea otters from the beach, the fire on the beach in the evening is great and you'll have no problem sleeping after all the fresh air. Todd the caretaker was welcoming and friendly, the place was immaculately clean and well maintained, the kayaking great and the fire warmed up the cabin quickly (and dried our kit!) when the weather closed in.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MepLon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
anchorage
Level Contributor
23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed September 20, 2012

I took my parents to Kayakers Cove for an overnight stay in August. The owner, Greg, saw to our every need. I would suggest renting kayaks through this facility. The equipment is in great shape and the price is right at around $30 per day. Bring wood and a lantern. The kitchen has almost everything you need. I would definitely go here again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank april l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Beach, California
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed August 16, 2012

While we didn't sleep at Kayaker's Cove, we dropped anchor from our sailing yacht in the cove. We paddled over and the people staying and working there were very welcoming. They fired up the wood burning sauna, the only way to warm up after being chilled to the bone and we ate dinner and sat around their campfire before paddling back out to our boat. Paddling back out at night we were able to see the bio luminescent algae that light up the water on every paddle . Amazing!

There is a nice hike that goes up the mountain from behind KC. A little tricky but well worth the views. Also, many nice places to paddle out to. I recommend the spit on Fox Island.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank robbhull
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
26 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed July 17, 2012

I stayed here 3 nights, and it was a highlight of my Alaska trip. Beautiful location, very helpful staff, great kayaking, comfortable accommodations. There's no electricity, but there's a warm stove in the main cabin. Bring some wood when you come out. Bring all your food, and plenty of charged batteries for cameras. No showers, but you can get the sauna heated up. This is not the place for those who don't like rustic and require many amenities. Hence, it attracts a great crowd of like minded travelers. Owners run a cool coffee shop in Seward. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank puxesaco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Seward hotels
0.0 mi away
Best Western Plus Edgewater Hotel
0.0 mi away
Hotel Seward
Hotel Seward
#4 of 14 in Seward
4.0 of 5 bubbles 532 reviews
0.0 mi away
Alaska Creekside Cabins
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Orca Island Cabins
Orca Island Cabins
#5 of 45 in Seward
5.0 of 5 bubbles 92 reviews
0.0 mi away
Angels Rest on Resurrection Bay, LLC
0.0 mi away
Renfro's Lakeside Retreat
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kayakers Cove? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kayakers Cove

Property: Kayakers Cove
Address: Seward, AK
Location: United States > Alaska > Seward
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 45 Specialty Lodging in Seward
Number of rooms: 1

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing