We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You HAVE to go there”
Review of Kayakers Cove

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Seward
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Kayakers Cove
Ranked #30 of 46 Specialty Lodging in Seward
Reviewed August 25, 2011

We stayed at Kayakers cove for 3 days 2 nights and it was one of the most memorable stay of our time in Alaska. The owners and caretakers dont make you feel as if they are running a business, it has a very family atmosphere. Very basic and Rusty, no electricity, no proper bathrooms, but you feel soo much closer to nature. There is a very nice trail that goes up with an amazing view, as well as very affordable Kayaks that you can rent to see sea lions, running salmons etc. So much wild life. Except for the water taxi, that does add to the cost, the place itself is not expensive. Very highly recommended.

Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
Thank ayush1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (22)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

18 - 22 of 22 reviews

Reviewed June 13, 2011

This place was a great find. Our group of four stayed in a cabin with a double bed and sleeping loft. Going kayaking is as simple as asking the (immensely helpful and welcoming) caretaker for equipment and setting off from the cove and along the shore in either direction, or across to Fox Island, with a good chance of seeing seals and eagles along the way. (As others have commented, kayak rental here is very affordable compared to renting in Seward - enough so that I think it cost the same to stay here as it would have if we'd rented elsewhere and camped on Fox Island.) The kitchen and common area is well-stocked with everything you need for cozy evenings or rainy afternoons: cooking equipment, games, books, maps, back issues of National Geographic, a guitar, and sometimes the friendly resident dog. Cold running water in the kitchen, outhouse, and surprisingly efficient wood stoves for heat. Definitely a highlight of my time in AK.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank becko59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 1, 2011

The previous reviewer is correct: this place is awesome.
I'd also second their advice about avoiding Miller's Landing's Water taxi (while we were there they were over three hours late picking up another guest). We used Louis's taxi and he was super-nice and reliable.

Heads up if you're traveling with little kids that there tall decks (and lofts) with minimal or no railings. (Seems like they could easily change that and make it a whole lot more kid friendly and maybe they will soon?) But, besides that, it's a great place to be with little ones (ours are 2 and 4).
Also, it's dog friendly too!
Oh and bring some extra wood if you can. They have wood there but it seems to help if people bring some extra dry wood. Things can get pretty soggy out there.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
Thank kermitthefrog007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 27, 2009

If you are in Seward and looking for great places to paddle, Kayaker's Cove is the place the go.

The place is very rustic and charming. No showers, outhouses but running cold water in the main cottage. You have the option to sleep in a dorm or have the luck to have your own cabin ($60). Great pricing on kayaks rental (20$/day) while everywhere else in Alaska will charge between $45 to $75.

Great paddles:

* Fox Island where you will see tons of bad eagles, sea ducks, oyster catchers and may have the chance to see some friendly seals. Make the stop at the sand's pit and go explore at low tide, you will see tons of star fishes in the tide pools.

* The lagoon (can't remember in which cove it is but Jean or Mike will certainly guide you on the map :)). We were hoping to see bears trying to catch one of the thousands of salmons that are going up the creek at low tide. During high tide, you can paddle up the creak, by the waterfall.

You will have to rent the service of a water taxi to reach Kayaker's Cove (you cannot just show up any water taxi, you must call in advance). Do not take Miller's Landings services as you will end up disappointed - they are more expensives than others and you will spend a lot of time waiting for them as they are always late or they tend to overbook. We took the Seward Water Taxi (Matt) and we were really pleased. Matt makes a point of honor to be ontime and is very pleasant to chat with. He even rescued a small fisherman boat while other charters where just passing by.

Great experience!

Thank Happy_2bTraveling69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2011
Google Translation

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Patangela
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Seward hotels
0 mi away
Harbor 360 Hotel
Harbor 360 Hotel
#1 of 13 in Seward
1,134 reviews
0 mi away
Hotel Seward
Hotel Seward
#4 of 13 in Seward
592 reviews
0 mi away
Best Western Plus Edgewater Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
The Breeze Inn
The Breeze Inn
#5 of 13 in Seward
408 reviews
0 mi away
Alaska Creekside Cabins
0 mi away
Box Canyon Cabins
Box Canyon Cabins
#17 of 46 in Seward
96 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kayakers Cove? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kayakers Cove

Address: Seward, AK
Location: United States > Alaska > Seward
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 46 Specialty Lodging in Seward
Number of rooms: 1

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing