We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cozy place to stay while in Alaska”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Seward
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Millane's Serenity by the Sea Cabins
Ranked #7 of 44 Specialty Lodging in Seward
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Cozy place to stay while in Alaska”
Reviewed August 25, 2012

My husband and I visited Alaska for our anniversary, and we stayed at Millane's for three nights while visiting the Seward area. Although the place does feel a little small, it was clean and comfortable. The main bedroom, again cozy in size, had just been repainted and looked great. Laurie was in particular super helpful. When I asked about activities to do in the area, she sent me a long list of recommendations. Also, while we were there, she even came by to let us know that there had been a humpback whale sighting. I would recommend these cabins to anyone visiting Seward. They were much nicer than some of the places we saw in town, and are more private.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank foodie_earth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

84 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    63
    13
    7
    1
    0
See reviews for
42
23
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Centerville, Minnesota
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed August 13, 2012

When we where deciding where to go for our 25th wedding anniversary, we where torn between Hawaii and this location. After spending our time there, we knew we made the right choice. The area is so rich in history and adventure. The Millane's made sure we had all the information we needed. They truly made our stay the amazing time it was. The cabin was clean, comfortable and well equiped.

Our family and friends all asked what we thought of our trip and we always tell them the same thing, "GO!" Put it on your list and make plans to go. When we left the Millane's we wrote in their guest book, "On the 7th day when the good Lord rested, we're pretty sure this is where he went".

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Harland W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Urbandale, Iowa
1 review
Reviewed August 11, 2012

We absolutely loved our stay at Serenity by the Sea! The cabins were perfect for our family ..... comfortable, clean & roomy enough to host game night! :) Having a rental car helped with the 2 mile trek into town! Sunny Cove Kayaking, Kenai Fjords Tours & hiking were tops on our list of things to do!! Our whole experience in Seward and Lowell Point was the highlight of our Alaska 3 week adventure! would stay here again without question!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cindy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
atlanta
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 25, 2012

nothing but good things to say about our stay. the staff treated us like family. the cabins were well furnished and neat. good access to beach and kayak facilities. would stay here again without question.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cabjrAtlanta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
skiqueen73, Manager at Millane's Serenity by the Sea Cabins, responded to this review, July 27, 2012
Thank you for your kind words. We enjoyed your visit and hope you're able to make it to Seward again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 22, 2012 via mobile

We were delightfully surprised by our stay at Serenity by the Sea. After staying at a hostile in Seward (which was a terrible value), our expectations were low for the cabins. However, when we arrived we were excited to see rustic wood cabins, beautifully quaint rooms, quiet surroundings, convenient beach access, and mints on the pillow!!
The cabins were a two mile hike/cab ride south of town, but the "serenity" of being outside of Seward is worth the distance.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BarnesBrett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
skiqueen73, Manager at Millane's Serenity by the Sea Cabins, responded to this review, July 27, 2012
We're glad we were able to exceed your expectations. We do our best to provide a 'home away from home' for our guests. We hope to see you again in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anchorage
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 21, 2012

Nice clean facility, overpriced. At these rates maid service should be provided daily. Good bed, suicide staircase to loft and loft is for small people.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pharmboyak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
skiqueen73, Manager at Millane's Serenity by the Sea Cabins, responded to this review, July 27, 2012
Thank you for staying and for the constructive criticism. Our rates do include an optional cleaning service upon request. We did check in with your group upon arrival and one of your party members let us know he didn't feel the service was necessary. Had we known you would prefer the service we'd have been happy to accommodate.

We do try our best to inform our guests prior to arrival that access to the loft does require a steep stairway which may be challenging for some folks. In an effort to improve the safety of the stairway we recently installed hand rails allowing better access to the standing room loft and twin beds.

We strive to provide a great experience for all of our guests and would be happy to discuss your concerns. Please feel free to contact us anytime.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Maine
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 20, 2012

After a disappointing stay in a not-so-clean cabin outside of Denali National Park and Preserve, I was so relieved when I walked into the cute little cabin (#2) that appeared spotless and with all the amenities of home. Even the shower was stocked with shampoo, conditioner, and body wash! My family and I kept commenting on how clean and adorable the cabin was. The only thing that was missing was a fire pit outside. The two nights we stayed we didn't hear a peep from the other guests, the property is very quiet. The owners were very easy to get in touch with when it came to making the reservation and when I had questions upon arrival (all communication was done via email/phone). I would definitely recommend this place!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EastCoasterME
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
skiqueen73, Manager at Millane's Serenity by the Sea Cabins, responded to this review, July 27, 2012
Thank you for the great review. We're glad to see you found your cabin accommodating and well supplied. We are working on making improvements and do plan to incorporate some type of fire pit/communal social area in the future. We hope to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Seward hotels
2.2 mi away
Hotel Seward
Hotel Seward
#4 of 14 in Seward
534 reviews
3.5 mi away
Harbor 360 Hotel
Harbor 360 Hotel
#1 of 14 in Seward
944 reviews
2.2 mi away
Best Western Plus Edgewater Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.8 mi away
Seward Windsong Lodge
Seward Windsong Lodge
#2 of 14 in Seward
660 reviews
0.2 mi away
Angels Rest on Resurrection Bay, LLC
5.9 mi away
Alaska Creekside Cabins
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Millane's Serenity by the Sea Cabins? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Millane's Serenity by the Sea Cabins

Property: Millane's Serenity by the Sea Cabins
Address: 14000 Shady Lane, Lowell Point, Seward, AK 99664 (Formerly Victorian Serenity By The Sea Cabins of Distinction)
Location: United States > Alaska > Seward
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 44 Specialty Lodging in Seward
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Millane's Serenity by the Sea Cabins offer rustic, private cabins on Lowell Point, just two miles from Seward, Alaska. Our cabins provide the perfect retreat while remaining convenient to Seward. Lowell Point is accessible by private vehicle, taxi, bicycle or on foot. We are just one block away from Resurrection Bay's world-class kayaking, whale watching, hiking and fishing. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing