We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A great weekend at The beach”
other travelers have booked this property
Deck
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Deck
A Cottage on the Bay View looking East at low tide
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Very good
39 reviews
Deck
A Cottage on the Bay
View looking East at low tide
View looking north toward Seward
Looking out the door...yes, you may bring your dog :-)
kitchen/dining room
Twin room
2nd floor common area
King room
Buster & Bentley
Madeleine and her 1st silver salmon
View from the Penthouse on a fog day. The tide is out quite far!
Window detail
Immature American Bald Eagle
Typical view from the deck looking East
Lowell Point is about 3 miles south of Seward, AK and is in the circle.
Welcome to A Cottage on the Bay.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 10
Seward, Alaska

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 39 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Lisa S
Anchorage, Alaska
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“A great weekend at The beach”
Reviewed November 18, 2014 for a stay in August 2013
1
person found this review helpful

I have been staying with Sue at her Cottage on the bay for years. I try to get there at least once a year. The Cottage is right on the beach and the sounds of the serf lull you away to a great nights sleep in the comfortable beds. My cousin his wife and 3 of there freinds were with me that weekend. we all had our own little room and had a fun time cooking together in the well appointed kitchen, Then sitting on the deck sipping a nice glass of bubbly while playing fetch with the dogs . It was a bit chilly one evening and The fireplace was just right to warm us up.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The view and sound of the surf.
Liked least: we ran out of wine.
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cindy B
North of Boston, MA USA
Level 6 Contributor
83 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“We love it here!!”
Reviewed October 22, 2014 for a stay in June 2014

This was our second stay in Sue's quaint and comfortable cabin. There were five of us - three adults and two teen-age kids. Everyone had plenty of space and sleeping spots. Tho' we didn't spend much time indoors the cabin was warm, comfortable and cozy. It was also equipped with everything we needed to cook our meals. We so appreciated finding things like salt, pepper and spices, ketchup, and other things we only needed a little of. The cabin's location on Resurrection Bay is out-of-this-world-spectacular!! It is by far, in my opinion, THE best location in all of Seward. And Sue is great - the perfect hostess/landlord.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The view!!
Liked least: Only staying two days...
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Justin B
Maurepas, Louisiana, United States
1 review
“50th Birthday Celebration”
Reviewed October 21, 2014 for a stay in July 2014

Awesome on all accounts. Sue was the Best. She assisted us with numerous requests. We arrived early and she was in the midst of prepping the cottage for us. We had a 4:00 pm check in time and due to the early arrival of the train, our group of 7 needed to place our luggage in a secure location. Sue allowed us to drop off our luggage on her porch and then we headed back to Seward for a much anticipated Halibut Sandwich.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mangomike...
Punta Gorda, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
86 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Geart voew ..the cottage is a little Quricky”
Reviewed September 21, 2014 for a stay in August 2014

Great view ..the cottage is a little quirky. The landlord is very helpful and knows her corner of Alaska

Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AArrgghh
West Palm Beach, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Location, location, location! A very unique Alaskan experience.”
Reviewed August 21, 2014 for a stay in August 2014

First off, this is not a four star resort experience, nor should it be. The cottage is owned by the couple living next door who also manage an adjacent campground. Rather than a hotel stay, this experience is more like staying at a relative's guest house who you really don't know that well. You're welcome to help yourself to just about anything, and just about anything is what you can expect. The place is a bit cluttered with all kinds of stuff ranging from books to games to a ton of kitchen supplies left from previous travelers (from dried black eyed peas to 6 different balsamic vinegars to you name it, it's there). If you're real adventurous, bring nothing and see what you can rustle up ! (j/k).

By far, the location is the best part about this property. It is located down a dirt and potholed road beyond Seward that is sheer cliff on one side and deep water on the other. It is one of the very few properties located directly on the beach of Resurrection Bay and you will not see many people strolling by. It does seem very safe though. Miller's Landing is a short walk down the beach, which serves as the activity center for those camping there or taking the water taxi to various locations. On Saturday nights at 7:30pm, Miller's Landing hosts a potluck dinner on their deck where they provide the fish and everyone else brings a dish (or $7). As for the cottage, it was amazing to watch the tide swing 40 feet from low to high and the water line move from hundreds of yards out to almost your back door. Bald eagles were plentiful in the mornings and it was amazing to watch the weather change so frequently and dramatically all from the comfort of a dining table. Boats constantly go by and just being there gives you a great feeling of what it is all about. Oh, and if you didn't bring your binoculars, they seem to be all over the place here.

All in all, I liked the place a lot. I appreciate waking up early, walking down the beach to get a hot cup of coffee and strolling back all alone. There is nothing comparable to the experience it provides in the area. That being said, some may prefer something nicer and that will require staying in a hotel in Seward proper. Of course, you can always save that fancier place for the next destination where the location is not all that important!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The unique location overlooking the beach and Resurrection Bay.
Liked least: Clutter.
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kate-Chey...
Cheyenne, Wyoming, United States
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Cute comfortable cottage in a beautiful setting”
Reviewed July 14, 2014 for a stay in July 2014

The cottage was a great experience for our group of 8 visiting Seward. It was very comfortable and the owner was fun to talk to and very informative about the area. The cottage is literally right on the beach of Resurrection Bay with breathtaking scenery on all sides.

Traveling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lbprobst
Belvidere, Illinois
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful View”
Reviewed June 25, 2014 for a stay in June 2014

This home has the most amazing view of the bay. It is peaceful and gorgeous. The home is functional and makes a good place to view the sites of Seward. The place could have been a little cleaner...there were a lot of knick knacks so a lot of things to keep dusted. The owner was very friendly and provided a lot of the things that you would need to make your own meals and wash small loads of clothes. We had a large group (8) so we had to watch our water consumption but a smaller group shouldn't have any problems. Bottle drinking water was available in the home. An absolutely gorgeous view from the deck is worth the trip.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Extended Family
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing