We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful home, gracious host and owner”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Seward
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Glacier Creek Lodge
Ranked #9 of 46 Seward B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Amherst, NH
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Beautiful home, gracious host and owner”
Reviewed September 6, 2011

We wish we could have stayed at least one more night. This was our favorite B&B. Jan, the host and owner was so warm and accommodating. The rooms are all beautiful and have their own bathrooms. (The pictures on this site are older and rooms have been beautifully updated) We rented all of the rooms for a family trip. The house was spotless, had a gorgeous view and Jan had put a lot of thought into providing every amenity. We felt right at home.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Deb D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

95 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    90
    3
    1
    0
    1
See reviews for
18
60
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Baltimore, Maryland
Level 5 Contributor
83 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed August 4, 2011

The B&B is located just outside Seward and surrounded by woods. The view of the mountain from the living room is awesome. The mountain peak is mostly covered with clouds but we were lucky in the morning to see it. We enjoyed Jan's hospitality. She advised us on the cruise in Seward and also gave us some discount coupons. We appreciate the fact that Jan uses environment friendly products at home.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravellingSanta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bay area
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 31, 2011

We stayed here for one night while visiting the Kenai Fjords NP. It’s a beautiful place, surrounded by trees, a bit away from the main highway. The room was a bit smaller than what we expected, but the whole house was very modern, clean and comfortable. Jan was a good host and she made good recommendations about places to eat. We were very happy with the service and use of the laundry. Breakfast here is self-serve with a good choice of cereal, egg, breads and other cold items. The breakfast room upstairs has a very nice view of the forested setting and leads to a balcony outside. A nice place to stay. Recommended.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ABPB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edwardsville, Illinois
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 30, 2011

*Classy Comfort: warm wood floors, designer kitchen w/ two-toned wooden cabinets and stainless steel appliances, large bathroom with tiled floor and shower/jet tub, all relatively new construction. On the second floor, peaked ceilings (knotty pine in the living room), a large deck, and plenty of comfortable chairs to view the mountain wilderness through over-sized windows. There's even free Wi-Fi to share photos with your social media friends. And did I mention the great mattress on the king-sized bed?

*Clean: The bathroom and kitchen are spic and span. The floors are immaculate (leave your boots at the door, please). No dust bunnies hiding anywhere. This is the sort of place you could bring your mother, and feel no guilt.

*Caring: during pre-trip planning, Jan responded promptly to e-mail notes. When we arrived a bit early, Sandy greeted us warmly, and let us unload our luggage. There was coffee ready to brew each morning, the refrigerator was full of food, and Jan was sensitive to my wife's gluten-free requirement (by the way, we discovered the local Safeway does have a gluten-free case near the deli). Jan was available each evening, ever helpful but always respecting our space. We enjoyed conversations about the locale, and her 25 years in Alaska. She also helped us stretch our dollars by offering us some coupons, and letting us use the kitchen for some lunches and dinners.

We stayed five nights, and found this place to be a quiet retreat, up and out of the tsunami zone, but still close to Seward. Sales tax is less than in town, too. Get yourself to Glacier Creek: you'll like it a lot.

Room Tip: King room upstairs puts you closer to the kitchen and mountain view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JCH62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hudson, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
214 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
Reviewed July 25, 2011

We stayed at Glacier Creek during the Mt. Marathon weekend in early July. Jan was an excellent host. The B and B was very nice. The rooms are very comfortable. We stayed in room 3, which had it's own entrance off the balcony. The room had a flat screen TV, cable, wi-fi, ceiling fan, a sitting area and a very comfortable bed. Breakfast was very good and was a nice change, with hard boiled eggs, fruit, breads, cereals and juices. There was plenty to eat and plenty to choose from.
Jan is a retired school teacher and has been in Alaska for a number of years. She is very knowlegable about the area. There is a very nice common area with an excellent view of the surrounding area. Glacier Creek is near the Exit Glacier and near the outskirts of Seward, which is not a very large town. It's very convenient if you are driving down the Seward Highway from Anchorage. We really enjoyed our visit there.

Room Tip: Room 3 is upstairs and has a great view, if you don't mind the stairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kmurf49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Apalachin, New York
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 4, 2011

We stayed here for 2 nights on our recent trip to Alaska. Rooms are immaculate and owners are very friendly and helpful. Great place to stay while visiting Seward.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LadyDi0502
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beverwijk, The Netherlands
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed April 16, 2011

We booked room 2. It was wonderfull. Owner was very nice and helpfull. We loved staying here and we loved trail Exit Glacier. The house was beautifull and we loved the coffee Jan!!!

Pos.
- location (close to Seward, Exit Glacier)
- cleanliness
- quiet, private room and house
- parking
- Coffee (fresh)

Neg.
- none

Room Tip: Room 2
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Unravelling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Seward hotels
5.5 mi away
Hotel Seward
Hotel Seward
#4 of 14 in Seward
558 reviews
5.6 mi away
Best Western Plus Edgewater Hotel
2.0 mi away
Steller Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Bell in the Woods
Bell in the Woods
#1 of 46 in Seward
258 reviews
7.5 mi away
Angels Rest on Resurrection Bay, LLC
1.0 mi away
Bear Lake Lodgings B&B
Bear Lake Lodgings B&B
#2 of 46 in Seward
356 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Glacier Creek Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Glacier Creek Lodge

Property: Glacier Creek Lodge
Address: 33502 Vinewood Lane, Seward, AK 99664-3272
Location: United States > Alaska > Seward
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 46 B&Bs / Inns in Seward
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Alaska Glacier Creek is located just outside of Seward, with amazingly great mountain views. It has three rooms to rent. Room prices include taxes. Room #1 ($108.00 no discounts) has two twin beds, room #2 ($155.00) has a queen bed and room #3 ($175.00) has a king bed (rooms #2 and #3 have a discount for Seniors and Military. Please ask) All the rooms have their own private bathroom. Rooms #2 and #3 have their own entrances and small sitting areas in the room. Room #1 does not have a sitting area. The rooms are very clean, have their own TVs and WiFi throughout the house. A continental breakfast is available every morning. Alaska Glacier Creek Lodge is a pleasant blend of refinement and great Alaskan hospitality. It is situated outside of Seward in a beautiful setting of tall trees and great mountain views. Experience the peace and quiet that Alaska offers.The accommodations may be quite new in Seward, but Jan, the owner, has over 30 years of Alaskan experiences. She would love to share her knowledge of Alaska and her B & B with you. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing