We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A cabin in the woods” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Renfro's Lakeside Retreat

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Renfro's Lakeside Retreat
Ranked #1 of 46 Specialty Lodging in Seward
Certificate of Excellence
Phoenix, Arizona
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A cabin in the woods”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 12, 2013

We spent a weekend here over labor day. What a nice, secluded cabin to get away in and just spend time with my husband. We used the grill every night and made a fire in the fire pit for s'mores and hot chocolate. Just great.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MelissaMA81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gary G, Owner at Renfro's Lakeside Retreat, responded to this review, September 13, 2013
Labor Day - the last true summer get-a-way for most people and what a better way than to enjoy it with a loved one! The amenities such as the fire pit and charcoal grill are always a hit with the guests. I am thankful you took the time to write a review of the Retreat! Please come back again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

225 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    194
    28
    2
    0
    1
See reviews for
98
77
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lahaina, Hawaii
Level Contributor
22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 5, 2013

I stayed here on Aug 26th, 2013. I stayed in cabin # 8 in the woods. I booked it the day of in the afternoon so was happy just to find a nice spot. I had left Seward in a hurry because it was too cruiseshippy for me. This place was exactly what I wanted, a nice quiet cabin. I chose the cabin in the woods because it was more affordable and you can just walk to the lake. The lake was gorgous and had some beautiful driftwood. There were also some amazing mushrooms all around the property. The next day I also went on the Victor Creek Trail hike and had a great time. I spotted a juvenile Goshawk and it followed me for quite some time. Gary at the front desk was very helpful and recommended the hike. He also had bear spray for me to borrow, which was very convenient. He said there had been a few bear in the area but I didn't see any or even scat.

Room Tip: Plenty of hikes to do with in walking distance. Wifi is only at the reception area. Kitchenette is w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jillkq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gary G, Owner at Renfro's Lakeside Retreat, responded to this review, September 13, 2013
I am glad you were able to find us also! Most importantly, what you were looking for - a nice quite cabin. The Retreat is filled with mushrooms. I cannot say how many varieties there are, but if anyone wants to come to a mushroom smorgasbord, the retreat will offer the best viewing and picture taking around. The hike up Victor Creek is just across the Seward Highway from the Retreat and it has the most amazing view of the Kenai Lake! As you pointed out, it is only one of many in the immediate area. Thank you for the review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pasadena, Texas
Level Contributor
35 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2013

Cabin #4 was in a beautiful location, in the woods, right on Kenai Lake, about 20 minutes outside the town of Seward. Very cozy, clean. Unfortunately it rained both of days there, but was still nice hearing the rain on the roof. No TV, no phones, no internet. But also no fire in the pit! Owner told us a bear was roaming the property but we didn't see him! As two friends travelling together we would have liked two full beds instead of the futon. But it all worked out just fine,

Room Tip: The cabins appeared to be about the same.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank ksmee33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gary G, Owner at Renfro's Lakeside Retreat, responded to this review, September 13, 2013
I am glad you found the cabin lovely, secluded, cozy and clean! Some nice adjectives to describe the Retreat! It is a place to unwind, thus we do not have t.v.'s or phones in the cabins. Internet is provided in the common areas of the property such as the R.V. park and lodge. I appreciate your review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Orange
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2013

Great choice for a family as it has bunk beds for two kids and a loft with a spectacular view for Mom and Dad. Don't forget the groceries! The kitchen is handy. It was a little bit more expensive then what we wanted to pay as a couple, but it was worth every penny for the view on the lake. And take note that Alaska is expensive so for that price and a family it is the best deal around.

Room Tip: Don't forget the groceries as the kitchen is well equipped and ready to go.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dcamina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gary G, Owner at Renfro's Lakeside Retreat, responded to this review, September 13, 2013
We do not get many reviews for families and I am happy to see yours as the lakeside cabins are very suited for families in regards to the sleeping arrangements, cooking facilities, playground, and driftwood fort building. A big part of saving money is to buy your own groceries and cook in your cabin. I am glad you found this a great amenity for the family. More importantly, I appreciate your endorsement that it is the best deal around for the price for a family! Thank you for your endorsement!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lebanon, Kentucky
Level Contributor
181 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2013

As others have said, I wish I had more time. The view, the furnishings, the woods/lake were all goose-bump stuff. The bed in the loft was so Alaska-ey (from my perception). Although we were only a short distance from Seward -- it was an escape from the touristy surroundings. Pictures don't do it justice.

Room Tip: Spend the extra few bucks for the lakeside cabins.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank William G W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gary G, Owner at Renfro's Lakeside Retreat, responded to this review, September 13, 2013
I know, you are kicking yourself for not spending more time at the cabin! My hope is that others see your review and many more like it and schedule some down time at the cabin. It is a great place to escape from the touristy surroundings and just enjoy yourself on the front porch overlooking the lake. I appreciate your candid review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edgewood, Kentucky
Level Contributor
34 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2013

This was by far the nicest and most relaxing place we stayed in Alaska, and we stayed some nice places. Gary was helpful and a great host, yet also totally unobtrusive. It was as if we were alone in our private cabin by the lake. Perfect location! I will recommend the Retreat to friends that fish in Seward every couple of years.

Room Tip: If music is desired, bring your own as there are no radios or TV available.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank randrews30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gary G, Owner at Renfro's Lakeside Retreat, responded to this review, September 13, 2013
Thank you for recommending us to others! The Retreat is in a perfect location, close to the things you want to partake in, yet remote and away from the crowds. I agree with you that it is the nicest and most relaxing. No radios and t.v. - designed that way so you do not get distracted from the beautiful view set in front of you! Thanks again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
59 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 1, 2013

we rented cabin #1 for four nights. checking in with Gary was friendly and fast. he made us feel right at home. he accepted an overnight delivery for us and then delivered it to our cabin so it was there when we returned from our daily activities. he stored our fresh caught salmon in his deep freezer for a night. he even followed up our stay with a kind thank you email. out of four different cabins we stayed at, Renfro's was the only place that followed up with us after.

the cabin had pretty much everything we needed. mini fridge, stove. the table was set upon our arrival, but we never used them. we never saw or heard the people in the cabin next to us, it felt rather private.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bisrdhazrd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gary G, Owner at Renfro's Lakeside Retreat, responded to this review, September 3, 2013
Thank you for the feedback! It lets us know what our guests truly appreciate. We do our best to ensure your stay feels like a home away from home. Little services such as delivery of items, storing fish and thank you e-mails is what we are about. If it adds just a little bit to your experience, then it was worth it.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Seward
17.8 mi away
Hotel Seward
Hotel Seward
#4 of 14 in Seward
4.0 of 5 bubbles 524 reviews
16.6 mi away
Harbor 360 Hotel
Harbor 360 Hotel
#1 of 14 in Seward
4.0 of 5 bubbles 882 reviews
17.9 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Edgewater Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.2 mi away
Trail Lake Lodge
Trail Lake Lodge
#1 of 1 in Moose Pass
3.5 of 5 bubbles 83 reviews
14.2 mi away
Alaska Creekside Cabins
19.9 mi away
Angels Rest on Resurrection Bay, LLC
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Renfro's Lakeside Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Renfro's Lakeside Retreat

Property: Renfro's Lakeside Retreat
Address: 27177 Seward Hwy, Seward, AK 99664
Location: United States > Alaska > Seward
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 46 Specialty Lodging in Seward
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1 star — Renfro's Lakeside Retreat 1*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the heart of the Kenai Mountains, Renfro's Lakeside Retreat is located on emerald green Kenai Lake. Renfro's offers 8 cabins, five of which are located on the lake and the other three are located within 100 yards of the lake in the spruce trees. In addition to the cabins, we offer 10 r.V. Sites with both full and partial hook-ups. Renfro's offers spectacular views of huge snow capped mountains and a 30-mile long lake. This pristine retreat has the feel of true wilderness and yet is located 20 miles from Seward. This means you are situated within driving distance of the things people want to see or experience while in Alaska. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Renfro's Lakeside Retreat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing