We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Renfro's Lakeside Retreat
Ranked #1 of 46 Specialty Lodging in Seward
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 28, 2013

Gary is amazing host. We will be coming back, the lake view is beautiful from the table and the upstairs loft, what a view to wake up to each morning. Cabins are clean, well stocked, just bring your own food. Thank you Gary for an amazing week.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tim W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gary G, Owner at Renfro's Lakeside Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded August 31, 2013

I am glad to hear that you will return and you enjoyed the week! I have to agree with you that the view both upstairs and downstairs is the best! Thank you for noticing how clean the cabin was. We do our very best to keep them as clean as possible. Your welcome!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (267)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

202 - 208 of 267 reviews

Reviewed August 26, 2013

A great getaway that is comfortable and convenient yet peaceful and serene. The cabins are clean, well-kept, and spacious. The beds are very comfortable. And the lake view is amazing! Gary was a great host. We appreciated him calling us to make sure we had arrangements before closing the office. The binder of local hiking trails was also a very helpful. Perfect place to stay for the Lost Lake run. We hope to stay there again next year!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kimberly907
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gary G, Owner at Renfro's Lakeside Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded September 3, 2013

What a fantastic description of the Retreat - comfortable, convenient, peaceful, serene, clean, well-kept and spacious. It sounds like you were able to put the hiking binder to use and find some additional trails to explore. It is the perfect location for the Lost Lake Run and I look forward to hosting you again next year!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2013

We highly recommend Gary's place: Renfro's Lakeside Retreat.....it is clean, has a well equipped kitchen with a stove and the lakeside cabins offer a great lake view. Gary is knowledgeable about the area and provided good suggestions for activities, places to eat, and what to see....we highly recommend the Kenai Fjords tour out of Seward....Gary gave us great advise on this tour.

The cabins are comfortable and cute! The setting is special and the views from the picture windows and porch are ones to remember and a fire pit completes the experience after you've prepared your meal on your own personal grill on the deck. This is a place to spend more than one or two nights and you are close to Seward ....but will have quiet and peaceful evenings.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 16,941
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gary G, Owner at Renfro's Lakeside Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded August 24, 2013

I believe you have captured it all - clean, well equipped, great view of the lake, quite and peaceful. Those are just a few words to describe the Retreat! I am honored that you would recommend us to others and want to stay more than one night next time. Thanks for your feedback!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2013

We were very pleased with our stay and host at Renfro's and would stay there again. All of our needs were covered and it was a lovely hideaway there on beautiful Kenai Lake. The paddle boat was great fun!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Glenna M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gary G, Owner at Renfro's Lakeside Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded August 23, 2013

Your feedback is important to us! I am glad you had a great stay and all of your needs were covered. It is a hidden gem, but more and more people are finding out about it because of our great guests! As always, the peddle boats are a huge hit for our guests! Thank you again for the review!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2013

We loved this place! What a peaceful stay. My grandson enjoyed exploring and putting coins on the RR tracks for a momento. I was only sorry that we could only stay one day. We are planning on going back, and bringing our out of town guests with us.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Janis M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gary G, Owner at Renfro's Lakeside Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded August 19, 2013

Many of our guests regret only staying one day. It is a peaceful place to relax and enjoy some of what nature has given us. A good two days to unwind here will recharge your batteries. I am glad your grandson has some coins that will remind him of the railroad tracks and the Retreat! The Retreat is a perfect place to bring out of town guests so they can enjoy a true Alaskan experience. Best place around for the local Alaskan or those visiting. Thank you for your review!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2013

This place was very clean, and it also was in a good setting and I would recommend this place to any one who would like to sleep in a log cabin on the lake! Enjoy go out in the paddle boat was a very good time.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bob B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gary G, Owner at Renfro's Lakeside Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded August 12, 2013

Thank you for the great endorsement! The lakeside cabins are always a hit along with our peddle boats. I appreciate you taking the time to write a review!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2013

This was the perfect spot for our first Alaskan vacation. My husband and I drove our RV from Tennessee and we stayed in the RV park. It was immaculate and the host was very friendly. We also booked two lake front cabins for our children and grandchilden. (They flew into Anchorage for a 10 day stay) The cabins were exactly what we hoped for...the children said this was what they had imagined Alaska would be like. Gary, the owner was very easy to work with...my husband said they were on first name basis before we ever got there! This will definately be a place we will return to when another opportunity presents itself.

Larry and Billie Sue Hicks

Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
Thank billie h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gary G, Owner at Renfro's Lakeside Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded August 10, 2013

I appreciate the great review of our Retreat! It is one of those rare combination reviews that included the R.V. Park and the Cabins. People often dream and or fantasize about Alaska and have a vision in their mind of what it means to them. I am glad we met that vision and were able to be part of your vacation as a family. You are always welcome back and it would be great to see you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Seward hotels
16.6 mi away
Harbor 360 Hotel
Harbor 360 Hotel
#1 of 13 in Seward
1,121 reviews
14.2 mi away
Alaska Creekside Cabins
14.1 mi away
Steller Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.9 mi away
Safari Lodge
Safari Lodge
#21 of 46 in Seward
11 reviews
14.4 mi away
Exit Glacier Lodge
Exit Glacier Lodge
#6 of 46 in Seward
187 reviews
13.9 mi away
Box Canyon Cabins
Box Canyon Cabins
#17 of 46 in Seward
96 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Renfro's Lakeside Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Renfro's Lakeside Retreat

Address: 27177 Seward Hwy, Seward, AK 99664
Location: United States > Alaska > Seward
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 46 Specialty Lodging in Seward
Price Range: $108 - $156 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Renfro's Lakeside Retreat 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the heart of the Kenai Mountains, Renfro's Lakeside Retreat is located on emerald green Kenai Lake. Renfro's offers 8 cabins, five of which are located on the lake and the other three are located within 100 yards of the lake in the spruce trees. In addition to the cabins, we offer 10 R.V. Sites with both full and partial hook-ups. Renfro's offers spectacular views of huge snow capped mountains and a 30-mile long lake. This pristine retreat has the feel of true wilderness and yet is located 20 miles from Seward. This means you are situated within driving distance of the things people want to see or experience while in Alaska. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Orbitz so you can book your Renfro's Lakeside Retreat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing