We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best accommodation of our trip”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Renfro's Lakeside Retreat
Ranked #1 of 46 Specialty Lodging in Seward
Certificate of Excellence
Arlington, Virginia
1 review
“Best accommodation of our trip”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 14, 2013

Stayed here for two nights - loved the in-cabin kitchen, clean bathroom, and nearby fire pit. This was the perfect medium between "no-electricity-all-rustic" and "hotel accommodations" --- we enjoyed the cabin feel but still took pleasure in the warm water, electricity, and great kitchen. We would definitely stay here again. Only piece of criticism was that windows had light shades, but not real blinds. We hung up extra towels to darken the room at night.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Christian H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gary G, Owner at Renfro's Lakeside Retreat, responded to this review, July 17, 2013
I appreciate your feedback! I believe you hit the nail on the head when you described the Retreat as a "perfect medium between rustic and hotel". The cabins are well appointed with everything you would need, yet not elaborate like a nice hotel room. The cabins have a little more cozy and homey feel to them. I am glad you will be a returning customer and I am working on the "darkening blind issue".
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

226 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    195
    28
    2
    0
    1
See reviews for
98
77
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 12, 2013

We had cabin 3 (lakeside) for three nights in June. It was fantastic - really well laid out and stocked with everything you need. The views onto the water was amazing and we spent hours every night sitting outside admiring the scenery. Also only a short drive from Exit Glacier and the Harding Ice Field as well as Seward. Great value!

Room Tip: the lakeside cabins are very private and have fantastic views
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank C0mfyshoes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gary G, Owner at Renfro's Lakeside Retreat, responded to this review, July 17, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of the Retreat. As you found, the cabins are well stocked except for your groceries and charcoal. The lakeside cabins do have the most fantastic view of the Kenai Lake and the scenery is just amazing. I am glad you found it to be a great value for your money as we try our best to have the most affordable accommodations along with as many amenities as possible included.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado Springs, Colorado
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 11, 2013

Drove down from Anchorage in my first time ever rented RV. Glad to use the clean, hot shower and bathrooms rather than the one in the RV. NIce, Clean, Well Maintained Spots with fire rings and picnic tables. Paddle boats were fun too! Seward was close but not to far away.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank William B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gary G, Owner at Renfro's Lakeside Retreat, responded to this review, July 12, 2013
I am glad to see yet another review on the r.v. park. Thank you for utilizing our amenities and enjoying the Retreat. I appreciate the feedback on how clean the laundry house is including the bathroom, shower area and laundry itself. We do our best to keep it maintained on a daily basis for our guests pleasure. Please join us again in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anchorage, Alaska
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2013

we stayed at Renfroes for 4 days in our pop-up. It was quiet, bathroom/shower was nice and clean and the grounds were kept up nicely. The manager was very helpful and friendly. We had fun on the paddle boats when the lake was finally calm enough to take them out. Pretty views of the mts. and easy access to the Seward Hwy to drive to where ever we wanted to go. Went on a great hike, watched the mts. for wildlife, had some great campfires. Someday we'll come back and stay in one of the cabins!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Terri B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gary G, Owner at Renfro's Lakeside Retreat, responded to this review, July 10, 2013
I am happy we had another review on the R.V. Sites as it seems to be left out of most of the reviews. We do our best to provide a clean environment for our guests to enjoy whether that be the laundry house or the grounds around the Retreat. I am glad you enjoyed the quiet atmosphere the 10 site r.v. park has to offer. With less sites, you do not have the overwhelming crowds that others may offer. I would be glad to have you back either in the r.v. park or in a cabin! Thank you for the review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2013

We stayed at the Renfro's for 2 days during the 1st week of July. The location and the view from the cabins are absolutely breathtaking. 5 stars just for that! We stayed in cabin 3 and it faces the Kenai lake and is only 10-15 feet from it (like every other cabin). There is a queen bed in the loft upstairs and a bunk bed + a futon under it. It was plenty for us (2 + 1 infant). The cabins are well appointed with a fully set dining table, kitchen with gas stove, mini refrigerator etc. Bathroom was clean, had a good shower and a shampoo/soap dispenser. It was a little cooler than expected in July, but the heater works great and kept us warm. There are boats for the guests to use, couple of paddle boats and some rowboats. There is also a small children's play area outside with some slides/toys which my baby enjoyed (despite the mosquitoes). Gary is so helpful and always does everything with a smile!

Here is one suggestion for Gary - for families like us who are traveling with infants or smaller kids, the daylight in Alaska is a problem and my wife complained about not having blinds/shades on windows since my baby had a hard time sleeping. The daylight might not be a big deal for adults as we can just use an eye mask (or have a couple of drinks), but infants/toddlers won't use them. Please fix this one minor thing!

Nevertheless, it's a 5 star rating and we can recommend the cabins wholeheartedly to anyone looking for a stay in the Seward area.

The closest town is Moose Pass about 10 miles north (10-15 mins) and Seward is 20 miles south (about 25 min drive).

Among other things - there is no cell phone coverage in this area and no WiFi in the cabins. However, if you go up to the reception or the "lodge" which is a 10 min walk from the cabins, you get free WiFi and if you drive 5 miles either way you get cell phone coverage.

If you're booking a day cruise with Kenai Fjords tours, ask Gary and he will get you a 10% discount. We couldn't take advantage of this since the tour was sold out for the time-slot we wanted and went with Major Marine instead.

Room Tip: Any of the lakeside cabins.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank inwester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gary G, Owner at Renfro's Lakeside Retreat, responded to this review, July 10, 2013
Thank you for the endorsement! A five star rating is what we strive for. Your concern with the blinds has been noted and I am working on it. It will take some time, but I will have this concern resolved one cabin at a time. Thanks again for the feedback!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alpharetta, Georgia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2013

We looked for an RV site for one night and luckily Renfro's was a available. The location is great and had all the needed facilities. We were especially impressed with the bathroom - it was exceptionally clean and well-maintained!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ron E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gary G, Owner at Renfro's Lakeside Retreat, responded to this review, July 9, 2013
We do not get many reviews on the R.V. Park, but when we do they usually mention the clean bathrooms. We take pride in offering the cleanest laundry house you can find! Thanks you for the review! It is much appreciated!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 4, 2013

Small and cozy cabins. Has everything we need. They even has two boats you can use to enjoy the lake. Two concerns: 1) you need to be around the office to use wifi since there is no signal in the cabin area; 2) you need to be aware that you have to drive about 20 min to get to Seward.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stefaniezhu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gary G, Owner at Renfro's Lakeside Retreat, responded to this review, July 10, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to give us feedback. It sounds as if you thought the cabin had everything that you needed and was well stocked. I will continue to work on the WiFi and I have a site visit scheduled with the local provider to see what we can do. As you stated, we are not in the town of Seward, but 20 miles to the North. Being isolated and remote gives us challenges such as the WiFi. Thanks again for your feedback!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Seward
17.8 mi away
Hotel Seward
Hotel Seward
#4 of 14 in Seward
4.0 of 5 bubbles 527 reviews
16.6 mi away
Harbor 360 Hotel
Harbor 360 Hotel
#1 of 14 in Seward
4.0 of 5 bubbles 892 reviews
9.2 mi away
Trail Lake Lodge
Trail Lake Lodge
#1 of 1 in Moose Pass
3.5 of 5 bubbles 83 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.9 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Edgewater Hotel
14.2 mi away
Alaska Creekside Cabins
20.3 mi away
Summit Lake Lodge
Summit Lake Lodge
#1 of 2 in Moose Pass
4.5 of 5 bubbles 319 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Renfro's Lakeside Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Renfro's Lakeside Retreat

Property: Renfro's Lakeside Retreat
Address: 27177 Seward Hwy, Seward, AK 99664
Location: United States > Alaska > Seward
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 46 Specialty Lodging in Seward
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Renfro's Lakeside Retreat 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the heart of the Kenai Mountains, Renfro's Lakeside Retreat is located on emerald green Kenai Lake. Renfro's offers 8 cabins, five of which are located on the lake and the other three are located within 100 yards of the lake in the spruce trees. In addition to the cabins, we offer 10 R.V. Sites with both full and partial hook-ups. Renfro's offers spectacular views of huge snow capped mountains and a 30-mile long lake. This pristine retreat has the feel of true wilderness and yet is located 20 miles from Seward. This means you are situated within driving distance of the things people want to see or experience while in Alaska. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Renfro's Lakeside Retreat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing