We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“a wonderful experience” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Renfro's Lakeside Retreat

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Renfro's Lakeside Retreat
Ranked #1 of 46 Specialty Lodging in Seward
Certificate of Excellence
Channahon, Illinois, United States
1 review
“a wonderful experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 20, 2013

we had a wonderful time at the cabins, Gary was a great host and the cabins were nicely decorated and very clean .They had room in his freezer for my recently caught fish and was nice enough to let me keep it there till I was ready to leave. The place was very quiet and peaceful thank you for the friendly service.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Keith S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gary G, Owner at Renfro's Lakeside Retreat, responded to this review, June 21, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback. The freezer is just one of the perks that our guests get to enjoy while at the Retreat and in your case even after you left the facility. I am hopeful that others will find the Retreat a quiet, peaceful solitude as you did.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

225 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    194
    28
    2
    0
    1
See reviews for
98
77
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wasilla, Alaska, United States
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 19, 2013

Pleasantly surprised at how nice, neat, well kept the cabins were. Exceptional view of the lake, very comfortable cabin and beds. Nice touch to have the paddle boats available. Would certainly stay there again and/or recommend to a friend. Thanks for a lovely evening.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lee G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gary G, Owner at Renfro's Lakeside Retreat, responded to this review, June 21, 2013
We do our very best to please our guests whether that be with the cabins, the attention to detail or the amenities we have to offer such as the peddle boats. I am glad you enjoyed your stay and it sounds like you will return again! Your feedback is appreciated!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anchorage, Alaska, United States
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 17, 2013

My family and I went down to Renfro's cabins and stayed two nights. Our friends met us here the second day. We had so much fun being away from the hustle and bustle of work and text messages. It was so relaxing and fun. The paddle boats were a big hit with the kids and the camp fire was a big hit with the rest of us. We live in Alaska and this is one of the most relaxing and fun places we have stayed (and that is saying something)! Keep it up Renfro's, I would recommend your cabin get away to anybody. Book your get away today.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gee0264
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gary G, Owner at Renfro's Lakeside Retreat, responded to this review, June 25, 2013
It sounds like you and your family enjoyed yourselves and were able to unwind from the hustle and bustle of the modern world. I am glad we have the new title of "most relaxing place in Alaska"! I will take it. Thank your for the recommendations. We are always grateful!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pune, Maharashtra, India
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 17, 2013

The stay we had was comfortable.Being vegetarians , we wanted the use of a full kitchen which was quite nicely stocked with crockery and cutlery.But if there were a microwave , it would have been wonderful. The place was cozy and the location was fabulous. Being outside the city , it was also a quite place.
The linen and beds could do with a little improvement though
The wi-fi is only in the main office area which is a little bit of a put down

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jayaraman1953
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gary G, Owner at Renfro's Lakeside Retreat, responded to this review, June 19, 2013
I am glad you found the cabin to be a good value for the money. I do not have microwaves in the cabins due to the lack of counter space, but I do have them available if a guest were to ask for one. I will continue to research and plan for the best WiFi for the the Retreat as we are remote and when economically feasible have it added to the cabins. Until then, we have it as advertised in the common areas such as the lodge. I appreciate you taking the time to share your feedback! Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 16, 2013

The cabin itself was clean and simple (all we needed or expected in Alaska). The staff was friendly and accommodating. The view and setting were AMAZING. We passed by comparably priced places that I had previously researched when we were looking to book accommodations. I can say with confidence that there is no better value. When we daydream of vacation now, we daydream of Renfro's.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Andiandes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gary G, Owner at Renfro's Lakeside Retreat, responded to this review, June 21, 2013
I saw that you stayed in August of 2012 and are writing your review now. The Retreat must have made quite an impression for that daydream! I enjoy reading reviews such as yours as it captures what we are all about; a great view, perfect setting, simple, clean and a great value for your money. Thank you for your generous feedback!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lutz
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 14, 2013

We thoroughly enjoyed Renfro's Lakeside Retreat, and are only sorry we didn't plan an extra day to relax there. Our cabin on the lake was clean and well supplied. Our only wish was a small sofa to sit in front of the panorama window since it was a bit rainy while we were there. Otherwise, everything was fabulous! Do it!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jan D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gary G, Owner at Renfro's Lakeside Retreat, responded to this review, June 17, 2013
You are not our first guest to proclaim they should have spent more time at the Retreat just to relax. It is a fantastic place to unwind and take it all in. I will look into that small sofa idea. Thank you for the feedback!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
orléans
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 11, 2013

This is the perfect place to retreat from the world, and enjoy the silence. The lake view is terrific, I wish we had time to go pedal boating on the lake.
The cabin, number 7, is average though. No light blocking curtains, bedding quite average as well.

Room Tip: Be sure to choose one of the cabins on the lake shore.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank serysteph
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gary G, Owner at Renfro's Lakeside Retreat, responded to this review, June 12, 2013
I wish you would have had time to enjoy the peddle boats also, they are a great addition to the Retreat. We Alaskan's are use to the consistent daylight and I will look into providing shades and or eye masks for our guests that are sensitive to the daylight. I appreciate the feedback!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Seward
17.8 mi away
Hotel Seward
Hotel Seward
#4 of 14 in Seward
4.0 of 5 bubbles 524 reviews
16.6 mi away
Harbor 360 Hotel
Harbor 360 Hotel
#1 of 14 in Seward
4.0 of 5 bubbles 882 reviews
17.9 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Edgewater Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.2 mi away
Trail Lake Lodge
Trail Lake Lodge
#1 of 1 in Moose Pass
3.5 of 5 bubbles 83 reviews
14.2 mi away
Alaska Creekside Cabins
19.9 mi away
Angels Rest on Resurrection Bay, LLC
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Renfro's Lakeside Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Renfro's Lakeside Retreat

Property: Renfro's Lakeside Retreat
Address: 27177 Seward Hwy, Seward, AK 99664
Location: United States > Alaska > Seward
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 46 Specialty Lodging in Seward
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1 star — Renfro's Lakeside Retreat 1*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the heart of the Kenai Mountains, Renfro's Lakeside Retreat is located on emerald green Kenai Lake. Renfro's offers 8 cabins, five of which are located on the lake and the other three are located within 100 yards of the lake in the spruce trees. In addition to the cabins, we offer 10 r.V. Sites with both full and partial hook-ups. Renfro's offers spectacular views of huge snow capped mountains and a 30-mile long lake. This pristine retreat has the feel of true wilderness and yet is located 20 miles from Seward. This means you are situated within driving distance of the things people want to see or experience while in Alaska. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Renfro's Lakeside Retreat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing