We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stayed in July 2011, Excellent!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Renfro's Lakeside Retreat
Ranked #1 of 45 Specialty Lodging in Seward
Certificate of Excellence
Powder Springs, Georgia
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Stayed in July 2011, Excellent!!!”
Reviewed November 5, 2011

We had a 20ft trailer that we rented. We wanted a place to stay for the last 4 days of our two week vacation to AK. My wife wrote the owners and asked some questions. They were very helpful. When we arrived we were greated by a nice gentleman that was managing the RV sites. Him and his wife were very helpful. The restroom and shower were always spotless. The location is excellent. Close to Seward and easy to get to about everything on the Kenai Penn. The lake was peaceful and beautiful. It was too windy when we were there to go out on the peddle boats, but we had a good time sitting next to the lake eating lunch a few days. Also, this location probably had the best wifi connection out of all the places we stayed at in Alaska. I really miss this place and will stay there for sure if I am ever lucky enough to visit again.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Matt N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gary G, Owner at Renfro's Lakeside Retreat, responded to this review, March 9, 2017
I purchased the business the end of July 2011 so you are the first reviewer I had since taking the business over. I feel grateful to those that take the time to share with others about their experiences whether that is good or bad. If it is good, I know we are doing something right and we can improve on it. If it is bad, we have some work to do as we did not meet the expectations of our guest. I find that face to face communication is the best form to accept feedback - both positive and negative! With that being said, thank you for taking the time to review the r.v. park! I am glad you enjoyed your visit! Hopefully you will make it back someday!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

253 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    220
    29
    3
    0
    1
See reviews for
112
88
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne Florida
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 19, 2011

I am hitting my head on my desk as I write this. I wish we had booked this for a week! We had wonderful cabin #2 on the lake. We only stayed 2 nights and did not even have time to enjoy this gem! We had fishing tours out of Seward keeping us busy all day and wish we would have had time to just sit on the porch and relax. My husband and I decided we would be returning in a few years, stay for the week and bring my parents. Our 2 teens loved this place as well. My son wished we had time to fish in the lake.

Laundry: Plan wisely because there was a line for the only washer and dryer. Desperate to get the fishing smell out of clothes immediately we did not get done until 2am. We finally did see some Alaskan darkness :)

Room Tip: Make sure you choose wisely which cabin you want if you have trouble going upstairs. Our queen was...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Becky F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Level 4 Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed July 1, 2011

We really enjoyed our stay in the cabins at Renfros. The lakeside cabins have the most amazing view of the lake. Cabin was well-stocked and cute. We loved the chairs on the front porch. The long days in the summer do fill the large cabin windows with a lot of light even at night. This property is outside of Seward and felt private. We had no trouble getting into town when needed. Sharon is a great host.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank shandrac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, CA
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed June 23, 2011

Wonderful place to stay with children. The lake was perfect for rock skipping and fort building. Incredible view from the dining table. The heater in the cabin was amazing, it warmed up the entire place in an instant. The cabin is well insulated and no heat was need in the chilly night. It's a great location, the price is super reasonable. Our evenings were about cooking dinner in the cabin and playing board games. It's like going to the grandparents cabin they have had for years. We loved out stay.

Room Tip: Get a lakeside cabin
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RST65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Carolina
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed July 21, 2010

Our family traveled to Alaksa and the Kenai Peninsula during late June and we had a wonderful experience with Renfro's Lakeside Retreat. We stayed here for the duration of our vacation and it was perfect. Staying here allowed us the peace and quiet we were looking for, sitting on the front porch early in the quiet of the morning was wonderful. We had activities planned all ove the Kenai Peninsula from Seward to Homer, and staying at Renfro's was the best way for us to enjoy all of our activites without having to move to different hotels, B&B's, etc. Sharon and Mike Renfro were extremely helpful and we truly appreciated their hospitatlity.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank NCfamilytravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed July 20, 2009

This place was the best! My wife says Renfro's was her favorite stay during our 2 weeks in Alaska. Kids had a blast playing in the lake. I would stay lake front only. Waking up with the lake outside your window is very nice. A total treat! And the Renfro's are some of the nicest people on the Kenai Peninsula. Will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank meesterx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Valley, NJ
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed September 18, 2006

This cabin was just what we needed after 2 weeks of driving around Alaska! We went into Seward for dinner and picked up some supplies for breakfast for the next morning. Having a home cooked breakfast was just what we needed! The lake was beautiful, and I wish we could have had more time there. All in all, a great place, at a great price, highly recommended. Even thou we were just a part of 2, we would say, this would be a great place for a family with the roominess of the cabins.

Stayed September 2006
Helpful?
3 Thank JessNJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Seward
17.8 mi away
Hotel Seward
Hotel Seward
#4 of 14 in Seward
558 reviews
16.6 mi away
Harbor 360 Hotel
Harbor 360 Hotel
#1 of 14 in Seward
1,035 reviews
17.9 mi away
Best Western Plus Edgewater Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.2 mi away
Trail Lake Lodge
Trail Lake Lodge
#1 of 1 in Moose Pass
91 reviews
14.2 mi away
Alaska Creekside Cabins
20.3 mi away
Summit Lake Lodge
Summit Lake Lodge
#1 of 2 in Moose Pass
362 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Renfro's Lakeside Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Renfro's Lakeside Retreat

Property: Renfro's Lakeside Retreat
Address: 27177 Seward Hwy, Seward, AK 99664
Location: United States > Alaska > Seward
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 45 Specialty Lodging in Seward
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Renfro's Lakeside Retreat 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the heart of the Kenai Mountains, Renfro's Lakeside Retreat is located on emerald green Kenai Lake. Renfro's offers 8 cabins, five of which are located on the lake and the other three are located within 100 yards of the lake in the spruce trees. In addition to the cabins, we offer 10 R.V. Sites with both full and partial hook-ups. Renfro's offers spectacular views of huge snow capped mountains and a 30-mile long lake. This pristine retreat has the feel of true wilderness and yet is located 20 miles from Seward. This means you are situated within driving distance of the things people want to see or experience while in Alaska. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz and Priceline so you can book your Renfro's Lakeside Retreat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing