We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfection”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Seward
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Havenwood Guest House
Ranked #21 of 46 Seward B&B and Inns
Reviewed June 30, 2012

We stayed 2 nights at this location and it was the perfect place to end a land trip in Alaska prior to boarding our ship for a cruise we had planned. The location is great, just outside downtown Seward and an easy drive into town. The guest house was not huge, but would easily hold a small family comfortably. There is a master bedroom downstairs and a small loft area upstairs with two beds one queen and one twin. There is a full kitchen with everything in it one would need. There is also a washer and dryer which was a big plus for us. This allowed us to cut our packing in half since we were in Alaska for two weeks. Karen (one of the owners) is super nice. She had fresh baked cookies waiting on the dining room table when we arrived and a nice little welcome note on the front door. They also had a small library of different books as well as DVD's so you would have entertainment for the night. The cost was cheaper than any hotel and the quiet and privacy was superior to any hotel as well. I would not hesitate to use them again.

Room Tip: There is only one guest house.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Scott W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (49)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

25 - 31 of 49 reviews

Reviewed June 12, 2012

What a wonderful place to stay! There were 4 of us and we all felt it was the perfect place. Not only was it cost effective, it was very clean, neat and had everything you could want in a place to stay in Alaska. (washer, dryer, full kitchen, etc.) We were pleased with the Alaska decor also and books depicting things to do in other areas of Alaska. Karen and Duane had the kitchen stocked with essetial food items and we used the grill several times. Not only that we had warm cookies or dessert when we arrived back to Havenwood after a full day of sightseeing and there is a lot to see in Seward! We only planned to stay 2 nights and we loved the area and Havenwood so much , we stayed a third night! Hated to leave the area and we stayed several places in Alaska after we left Havenwood and we never found anything else that compared. Wish we could have taken the place and Karen & Duane with us! Karen & Duane are very friendly but leave you alone unless you come to them for something and they do their best to fulfill your needs. We were going to the IditaRide sled dog Tours and Karen came up with a coupon for us to help make our experience a little more affordable. Again, you won't find a better place to stay in Alaska!

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nancy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 18, 2011

The other reviewers have said it - this is a great place! The Havenwood Guest House is well appointed, with everything you could want to have your own little place in the woods. I've stayed in other places / vacation rentals before in Seward and this is so far my favorite.

There isn't a detail that isn't missed, and everything is run so well! Even though Karen was not there when I arrived, everything was well organized and the place was perfectly set up for a guest arrival.

There are two beds, one bedroom (nicely appointed furniture), and a spacious loft area with nice memory foam mattresses. The view out of the main area is beautiful -- you could sit in the family room snuggled up with a good book or your loved one and enjoy this gem in the forest.

I was offered to use the hot tub, and, what a treat it was! After a long day of rain filled adventure in Seward, the hot tub was fantastic!

All in all, when I come back to Seward I am staying here, no doubt about it. Great price, great location (about 5 - 7 minutes to downtown Seward), and great accommodation. Thank you Karen!

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank voodoo-d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hikeamountaingal, Owner at Havenwood Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded November 19, 2011

Thank you for your kindness shown in this response! You made my day! We certainly look forward to having you stay with us in the future!

Our best regards!

The Proprieters

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2011

One of the best parts of our two week vacation was our stay at Havenwood, top notch in every aspect. It was like we had our very own house to ourselves. The guest house has everything you could want for a extended stay, laundry, kitchen, large bedrooms. We spent two nights here, while traveling into Seward for our day trips. Cookies were made for us daily, we were always asked if there was anything else that we might want. We spent the evenings snuggled up watching DVDs, after we finished our day in Seward. I only wish our vacation could have been longer as I would have enjoyed staying for another couple of nights, as we really enjoyed the peace and quiet of their home.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank electricglide91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2011

We were greeted with a pleasant surprise pulling into the drive way. The house is surrounded by beautiful woods, on a quiet street. Inside is even better, spacious, clean and very well equipped with everything a family needs to make a vacation home away from home. I can't say enough about this place and wish we had more time to stay longer. My daughter enjoyed the loft area very much. The kitchen is well stocked. We made good use of the laundry within the unit. We didn't have a chance to use the hot tub or the grill but wish we did.

The hosts, Karen and Duane, are wonderful. It's not B and B but we were given fresh cookies each day. The fridge hasa fresh milk jug, and the cupboard has several kind of cereals. The unit reflects meticulous care the owners have put in. We were so fortunate to stay here.

Kenai Fjords boat tour and Exit galcier are wonderful. Wish we had more time to spend in Seward.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bluebear_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2011

Great hospitality: a warm welcome greeting, freshly baked cookies on the table, milk in the fridge... The house is beautiful, impeccably clean and nicely decorated, the beds are comfy, the view of the mountains from the jaccuzi is peaceful. Totally secluded yet close to town and Exit glacier.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ccm0610
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2011

My adult son and I took a week-end trip to Alaska, and spent only one night at the Guest House. The accommodations were perfect for us, with a separate bedroom and large loft with another cozy bed, plus a living/dining room and kitchen. I loved the large windows, and the excellent condition. It looks just like the photos on-line.

The host greeted us upon our arrival, and brought us some delicious, homemade cookies. She provided excellent restaurant advice as well.

The Guest House was very close to town, but nestled in the trees, so very private and quiet with a roomy parking area.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank judyisreadytogo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Seward hotels
4.4 mi away
Harbor 360 Hotel
Harbor 360 Hotel
#1 of 13 in Seward
1,121 reviews
5.6 mi away
Hotel Seward
Hotel Seward
#4 of 13 in Seward
592 reviews
5.6 mi away
Best Western Plus Edgewater Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 mi away
The Breeze Inn
The Breeze Inn
#5 of 13 in Seward
408 reviews
2.1 mi away
Alaska Creekside Cabins
2 mi away
Box Canyon Cabins
Box Canyon Cabins
#17 of 46 in Seward
96 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Havenwood Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Havenwood Guest House

Address: 13670 Oakwood St., PO Box 667, Seward, AK 99664
Location: United States > Alaska > Seward
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 46 B&Bs / Inns in Seward
Number of rooms: 17

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing