We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Can confidently recommend this place” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Brass Lantern B & B

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Seward
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Brass Lantern B & B
Ranked #14 of 44 Seward B&B and Inns
Duluth, Minnesota
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Can confidently recommend this place”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2013

My wife and I stayed here in August of 2012. Of the 3 B&Bs we stayed at in Alaska we liked this one the best. Good breakfast selection, centrally located, plenty of room, privacy, facilities for preparing our own meals if we chose to and excellent advice from the owners about hiking and dinning options around Seward. A laundromat was right around the corner, and they let us use the garden hose for cleaning our muddy hiking boots. We'd stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mike S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

52 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    39
    10
    1
    1
    1
See reviews for
28
18
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Pingree Grove, Illinois
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 8, 2013

We arrived at this B&B and immediately felt very comfortable and at home. There were pastries, fruit, milk, etc... left for us (and the pastries were DELICIOUS). The entire unit was clean and quiet. We enjoyed all of the Alaskan magazines that were left for us and the ability to use the WIFI so we could communicate with loved ones back home. I'd definitely recommend Brass Lantern B&B for anyone visiting the Seward area. We only wished we could have stayed longer!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
32 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 30, 2013

Staying at the Brass Lantern was so much better than an over priced hotel. It was the perfect accomidation for our budget style of traveling through Alaska. I was traveling with my father and sister so the 2 single beds and queen were perfect for us. Maureen left fresh cookies on the kitchen table as well a fruit, muffins, yogurt, coffee and other breakfast goodies. The binder of local interest and returants was a great help. Fresh cookies awaited us in the kitchen as well yummy muffins. My father an avid coffee drinker was so thankful for a real coffee pot so he could fill his thermos each morning to take on our daily adventures. The best part for me was the great balcony. Each morning I would go out and just stare at the bay and mountains and sip my coffee and think it doesnt get much betther than this.

Room Tip: 2 bedrooms, one with twin beds and the other a full sized (or queen) i cant remember
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ecklcat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springfield, Missouri, United States
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2012

This private cottage was exactly what my 7 year old daughter and I needed while visiting Seward! I highly recommend this clean and comfortable B&B. Plenty of breakfast foods already in the kitchen along with fruits in the fridge and OJ in the freezer. We slept great in the comfortable beds and were close enough to downtown to walk for dinner. Also, it was a quick walk to the SeaLife Center, where we spent the majority of our time. Thank you so much, Brass Lantern Inn, for making our stay in Seward comfortable!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kim B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Rapids, Minnesota
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2012 via mobile

Clean. Comfortable. QUIET! Met our needs precisely. Reasonably priced. Nice to have wood floors throughout and no pets. Well stocked kitchen--coffee, tea, cereal, bread, bagels, muffins, fruit, yogurt. Lovely shower:)

This unit is separate from main house. It has its own entry, balcony facing Mt. Alice, grill was available with lawn chairs outside. Parking right in front of house. Upstairs space housed the living/kitchen/dining area. Downstairs housed the two bedrooms. (One bedroom has a double bed; one bedroom had twin beds)

We would definitely stay again. So much better than a hotel!

Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank mnjulierae
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ankeny, Iowa
Level Contributor
118 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2012

We enjoyed the Brass Lantern very much. It was clean, comfortable, and nicely decorated. The beds were very comfortable. I was really surprised with the variety of breakfast foods provided in our kitchen. There were muffins, oatmeal, cereal, fresh fruits, yogurt, milk, orange juice, bagels, breads, and some freshly baked cookies. The location was convenient to most of the attractions too. Zero complaints here!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank IowaGirl-in-Germany
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairbanks, Alaska
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 13, 2012

Brass Lantern B&B is private, cozy, very clean, quiet, and spacious! Our host was welcoming and accommodating. The fresh fruit and breads basket was delicious and plentiful! I slept very well in the comfortable bed. The linens looked like new and smelled so fresh! Brass Lantern is conveniently located within walking distance of downtown Seward. I highly recommend this B&B!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SewardFan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Seward hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Seward
Hotel Seward
#4 of 14 in Seward
4.0 of 5 bubbles 524 reviews
0.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Edgewater Hotel
1.1 mi away
Harbor 360 Hotel
Harbor 360 Hotel
#1 of 14 in Seward
4.0 of 5 bubbles 882 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Sauerdough Lodging
Sauerdough Lodging
#6 of 14 in Seward
4.5 of 5 bubbles 81 reviews
0.5 mi away
Harborview Inn
Harborview Inn
#7 of 14 in Seward
3.5 of 5 bubbles 147 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Breeze Inn
The Breeze Inn
#5 of 14 in Seward
3.5 of 5 bubbles 369 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Brass Lantern B & B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Brass Lantern B & B

Property: Brass Lantern B & B
Address: 331 2nd Ave., Seward, AK 99664
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Alaska > Seward
Amenities:
Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 44 B&Bs / Inns in Seward
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A home away from home describes our cottage-style bed & breakfast. Featuring a private apartment with a patio entrance & deck. Two cozy bedrooms, kitchen, bath, comfortable sitting area. A hearty continental breakfast is served in-suite. This unit is not shared with others and has views of the Chugach Mountains & Resurrection Bay. Close to shopping, dining, fishing, hiking. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing