We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Clean and comfortable B&B”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Seward
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Brass Lantern B & B
Ranked #15 of 44 Seward B&B and Inns
Ankeny, Iowa
Level Contributor
118 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Clean and comfortable B&B”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2012

We enjoyed the Brass Lantern very much. It was clean, comfortable, and nicely decorated. The beds were very comfortable. I was really surprised with the variety of breakfast foods provided in our kitchen. There were muffins, oatmeal, cereal, fresh fruits, yogurt, milk, orange juice, bagels, breads, and some freshly baked cookies. The location was convenient to most of the attractions too. Zero complaints here!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank IowaGirl-in-Germany
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

52 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    39
    10
    1
    1
    1
See reviews for
28
18
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Fairbanks, Alaska
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 13, 2012

Brass Lantern B&B is private, cozy, very clean, quiet, and spacious! Our host was welcoming and accommodating. The fresh fruit and breads basket was delicious and plentiful! I slept very well in the comfortable bed. The linens looked like new and smelled so fresh! Brass Lantern is conveniently located within walking distance of downtown Seward. I highly recommend this B&B!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SewardFan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Level Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 13, 2012

Brass Lantern B&B gets an A+ rating from our family. The B&B provides outstanding views of the soaring peaks across Resurection bay from Seward. The location is superb, located just a couple of blocks from the best part of downtown. We were in need of doing some laundry, and finding a Laundromat downtown (just 1 block away) was also very convenient. The B&B is set up as a completely separate set of rooms with its own entrance separate from the main house. The rooms are extremely comfortable and well appointed. The towels were plentiful and fluffy. There was plenty of room for the family to spread out comfortably. The kitchen is very well stocked for breakfast (which you have at your leisure and on your own as opposed to being hosted together with other guests, and we preferred this independent set up). All of the reading material and videos about Alaska were an added plus. Maureen is a very gracious host. She suggested that I purchase a $20 coupon book sold by the local teen/youth center to aid with their efforts. I admit I was somewhat reluctant, but Maureen matter-of-factly pointed out the benefits, including the observation that her own Brass Lantern B&B has a $10 coupon in the book and thus the coupon book would only cost me $10. So somewhat reluctantly, I went for it. This turned out to provide us with incredible savings over the next two days. Our already planned activities included the Sea Life Center, Christos Restaurant for local seafood, horseback riding, an all-day cruise to see the glaciers and wildlife, and parking for a day while we were out on the cruise --- through the coupon book our total savings for these two days of already planned activities came to about $175!

We ourselves rent out a second home for vacationers, and through this experience we have a good sense for a proprietor who runs a good shop and one who doesn’t. The Brass Lantern B&B is terrific. But more importantly, your trip to Seward will be enriched by a stay in this B&B.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KKT_MAG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pembroke Pines, Florida
Level Contributor
4 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2012

Good deal for the price. Nice view with a quaint little balcony. Clean kitchen, clean bathroom, clean everywhere. Enough towels. Just enough space. The upstairs tv room was very comfortable to be in, with the kitchen conveniently next to it. They even had a grill downstairs (outside), which we used and loved. We had told them we had a 1 1/2 year old and that we needed a playpen for her to sleep in. Not only did they supply a playpen, but they left out a few toys which she loved to play with. They even had some bigger toys upstairs in the tv room and dvd's that she could watch, as well as adult dvd's we could watch. This place was above and beyond accommodating. We were 101% pleased!!!!! Thank you Brass Lantern!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Elena T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 27, 2012

We have stayed at Brass Lantern several times and every time it is simply wonderful. We love the space, the amenities, the view and the comfort. Our family enjoy the two levels of this B&B, with the bedrooms located on the lower level and the living room/kitchen upstairs, it allows those who want to stay up later to have their own space while those who choose to go to bed earlier can do so. The private deck on the upper level is great! You can relax with a glass a wine in the evening or sip your morning coffee while enjoying the views of Resurrection Bay. Maueen the host is very friendly and accommodating, yet gives you your privacy for your stay. She has thought of everything that you need while staying here. It is always very clean and welcoming. It truely is a home-away from home. We recommend the Brass Lantern all the time to our friends, family and those traveling to Seward, it is a great B&B.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alaskalivin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 2, 2012

My wife and I were very disappointed the attitude of the owner. Not friendly or helpfull at all. She ruined our stay!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2011

This B&B is fantastic. Everything was there that we needed as promised. The views from the balcony were amazing overlooking the mountains. The owner left us a welcome basket - yum! It was extremely clean tidy and had everything we needed. Great place.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Suebron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Seward hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Seward
Hotel Seward
#4 of 14 in Seward
4.0 of 5 bubbles 527 reviews
0.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Edgewater Hotel
1.1 mi away
Harbor 360 Hotel
Harbor 360 Hotel
#1 of 14 in Seward
4.0 of 5 bubbles 892 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Sauerdough Lodging
Sauerdough Lodging
#6 of 14 in Seward
4.5 of 5 bubbles 81 reviews
0.1 mi away
Trailhead Lodging
Trailhead Lodging
#15 of 46 in Seward
4.5 of 5 bubbles 15 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Breeze Inn
The Breeze Inn
#5 of 14 in Seward
3.5 of 5 bubbles 369 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Brass Lantern B & B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Brass Lantern B & B

Property: Brass Lantern B & B
Address: 331 2nd Ave., Seward, AK 99664
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Alaska > Seward
Amenities:
Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 44 B&Bs / Inns in Seward
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A home away from home describes our cottage-style bed & breakfast. Featuring a private apartment with a patio entrance & deck. Two cozy bedrooms, kitchen, bath, comfortable sitting area. A hearty continental breakfast is served in-suite. This unit is not shared with others and has views of the Chugach Mountains & Resurrection Bay. Close to shopping, dining, fishing, hiking. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing