We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Lunch”

Lighthouse Cafe and Bakery
Ranked #23 of 47 Restaurants in Seward
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast
Description: We are open for breakfast and lunch, takeout or sit down, we have pasteries and coffee, our cook Donnie Nelson is famous in Seward
Houston
Level Contributor
507 reviews
188 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 309 helpful votes
“Nice Lunch”
Reviewed August 21, 2012

Had lunch here while waiting for our Ressurcetion Bay tour. Most adequate and quick. Nice friendly servers

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank jtchapman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

280 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    106
    78
    61
    23
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rocklin, California
Level Contributor
124 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Popular for a reason”
Reviewed August 2, 2012

Two kids and three adults all enjoyed their soup and sandwich lunch here along with a great BIG cookie to satisfy our sweet tooth when we were done. VERY slow line, three people went to the bathroom while we waited to place an order and finally we placed our order. The food came out in good time and was heartily consumed! Very basic food stop, nothing fancy about it. The pies, breads and desserts all looked like great treats to 'take away.' It is Alaska and Seward, Alaska where everything is going to cost more than it should anywhere else. But, when your hungry go to the Bakery.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank Sourdoe2u
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Level Contributor
712 reviews
212 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 649 helpful votes
“Enough to satisfy most tastes....”
Reviewed August 2, 2012

If you are in Seward then its fishing, hiking, joining/finishing a cruise or taking a tour on the water to the Kenai Fjords by boat. Any one of these activities may get you through this bakery’s door early morning and perhaps for lunch. Or as we saw, many locals having a bite here, making the most of the limited seating so we had to head out for other seats near the water. This bakery has really short hours for a tourist town - 0500am-300pm. Nonetheless we came for the bakery items and everything appealed to the eye and the taste buds except for the prices.
Not unexpected given the location however some items seemed a little overpriced.

Breakfast items included Oatmeal, Burritos, Bagels, Hot Meats, Potatoes Sourdough Waffles, Toast, Muffins, Donuts and Cinnamon Rolls. It’s a wide choice and the price will reflect the item chosen. They will make up a box lunch you can take away which includes a Sandwich on your choice of bread (sourdough is popular) with several fillings to choose from, a piece of Fruit, a Cookie and Chips. - extra for a beverage.

Other items on the extensive blackboard - a selection of Soups, Burgers, Philly’s, Dogs’, Fish and Chips, a range of Cakes and Bread Pudding. We shared one full regular sandwich on sourdough with tuna and cheese, a carrot stick, pickle, a huge 4-inch round cookie and a latte each (enough change from a twenty-dollar bill for a small tip). The service was quick and friendly enough (no smiles) but we guess they see lots of visitors and it’s a business that had a huge patronage while we were there.

Enjoy your experience!

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Globebugs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rocklin, California
Level Contributor
98 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Quick bite to eat before cruise”
Reviewed August 1, 2012

We stopped in for a quick breakfast before our cruise left at 10am. They were very busy, but service was pretty fast. Had a bowl of clam chowder soup there the day before that was very good.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank Nancy K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, North Carolina
Level Contributor
87 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Good- ish”
Reviewed July 29, 2012

I guess we are not huge fans of sourdough bagels, but they were ok. This is A VERY popular bakery, be prepared to wait. Oh, and don't even think about a bagel after about 9:30am- they run out. That seemed very odd to us, because they are a bakery and they serve breakfast until 11am.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank kv52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lighthouse Cafe and Bakery also viewed

 

Been to Lighthouse Cafe and Bakery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing