We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great burritos!”
Review of Railway Cantina

Railway Cantina
Ranked #25 of 49 Restaurants in Seward
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner
Description: Welcome to the Railway Cantina in beautiful Seward, Alaska! A local favorite, we offer the best burritos, quesadillas, and tacos you'll have on the Kenai Penninsula. Our ingredients are fresh, and include housemade salsas, local halibut, reindeer, steak, chicken, shrimp, crab, salmon, falafel, and tofu. Along with your meal, enjoy a selection of Alaskan brewed beer or a glass of wine. We're located in the small boat harbor, across the street from the Seward Yatch Club. Looking forward to your visit!
Montreal
Level 5 Contributor
87 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Great burritos!”
Reviewed August 9, 2013

We ate there twice. For supper and for lunch the next day. We tried the roasted chicken, the blackend-halibutm and reindeer. All good! Great burritos! Fast service. Nice atmosphere... Good meal for the price.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Carole R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

192 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    73
    77
    32
    6
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Galesburg, Illinois
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Oh please, where else can you get homemade Root Beer and Reindeer Tacos”
Reviewed August 9, 2013

Kind of a hole in the wall but adequate seating. Order at the counter then they bring it. Make SURE you try the draft Root Beer. Tasty indeed. Good size helpings and a selection of Beers as well. You can sit outside and this is a great place for a quick bite. Enjoy

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jac088
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boone, North Carolina
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Tasty food for my budget!”
Reviewed August 7, 2013

I recently went on a vacation to Alaska. I traveled from Anchorage to Homer, Homer to Seward and Seward back to Alaska. It was incredible. I always try to find great local spots to try out when I travel. This was the perfect place. I wasn't in the mood to spend $25 + on a fancy dinner by the water, but I was hungry and wanted to try something good! :) This fit the bill. I ordered reindeer tacos and took them down to the docks to eat. They were tasty, filled me up and didn't break the bank. I would go back in a heartbeat (if NC wasn't so far away from Seward.. :) )

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kpickeral
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frederick, Maryland, USA
Level 6 Contributor
218 reviews
76 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 149 helpful votes
“Fantastic Burrito!”
Reviewed August 5, 2013

Try the blackened halibut burrito. It is expensive but so delicious. And the burritos are humongous! If you're terribly hungry, two could share one.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Flannery52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, Connecticut
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Awesome Mex”
Reviewed July 29, 2013

Went there three times to try different things. Everything I ate (Quesadilla, Steak Burrito and Steak Nachos) were tasty and refreshing in a place like Alaska. A tad over pricey but worth the good food. You order, they bring to the table, a nice place to sit and eat, just be aware the seating is quite crowded in such a small place

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank OwlWig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Railway Cantina also viewed

 

Been to Railway Cantina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing